Can someone help with advice please.
I feel like my partner of over 10 years is mentally torturing me. A couple of months ago I went out for a night with my friends while my partner was away on a lads weekend. This was well over 6 months ago but my partner all of a sudden has it in his head that I cheated on him on this particular night away. I done absolutely nothing wrong I wasn't even drinking and multiple people that were out with me can confirm this. In fact They have confirmed this because he has went to every single one of them individually to ask them if I have. ( something I have just recently found out about) he has took my phone on numerous occasions when I have been asleep and has went through it. In the last couple of weeks this has been a constant occurrence where he is fine for a while maybe a week or two and then out of no where he starts up an argument again, accusing me of doing something to him behind his back. He will sit in silence for hours without talking to me until I keep asking or questioning what his problem is then he starts the whole argument again. I have had to repeat to him numerous times that this is insane it makes no sense why he is acting like this and assure him I was never unfaithful. He tells me he's sorry and he will stop But he keeps doing it over and over again.
Lately i find he is doing things and saying things to wind me up, for instance when he starts an argument and I tell him to quit behaving like this he will start insulting me or keep calling me a liar, he knows I hate lies or people lying and other things he knows will trigger me and wind me up, he keeps doing it until I feel like I'm reaching breaking point.
I feel like breaking point came the other night when my friends contacted me to tell me that he was texting them off a different number pretending to be me and telling them do they think I should admit to him that I was unfaithful. My friends knew it was, I knew it was him even by the way the messages were wrote, everyone basically knew it was him but he point blankly denied doing it to them when they confronted him. He even said they should go to the guards to find out who did it. My friends informed me that he has been pestering one of their partners asking did he think I had cheated on him that night and my friends partner laughed at him saying I was the quietest person he knew. My friend told me that if he is doing this to them then he is clearly saying stuff like this about me to others and making me look like I'm some sort of cheater that he can't trust. I feel so embarrassed by what he has done. I can't believe he has went to this extreme I don't even know why this is happening, I was so mad with what he had done but he kept denying it was him and then started insulting me and saying nasty things when I told him to leave to the point where I ended up smashing a plate out of temper. I have never in my life done something like this, iv never had a temper before ever, when I did it he said look at what you've done your a psycho smashing a plate for no reason. I didn't mean to smash the plate I just couldn't take anymore of what he was saying to me.
I told him I was leaving instead with our son, and he said if I left he would do something to himself so that we would never see him again. He said I was a bully, that I was the one who started all this and now I was getting a temper when being confronted. I really don't know what to do, I'm trying to keep my son sheltered from all of this Insanity and I really don't know where all of this has come out of but I feel like I'm being mentally tortured for nothing, he never acted this bad before or started saying stuff to me like this and I don't want my son witnessing any of this. I know I should walk away but how do you walk away from someone who is threatening to harm themselves everytime.