Old thread seems to be permanently locked. It will be interesting if anything can come of this at last.
Threadbanned Posters:
No enough evidence in their opinion, not no evidence
I think you are missing the point here..?
There is no evidence to tie Bailey to the murder, absolutely none.
The DPP reached this conclusion, hence there was no trial in Ireland.
It really is that simple…
What hard evidence have you that I'm emotional
That's not what I meant, I previously read somewhere that the person who liased with the French at the time ended up being Garda Commisioner.
I responded. You appear to be getting quite emotional now so I'd rather not deal with someone in your state. I'll leave you here.
Still no hard evidence tying Bailey to the murder.
I answered you a few posts back, you must of missed it, I'll dig out the conviction from France and post it later.
If it's just my opinion, then prove me wrong. Provide the hard evidence.
Oh that's right you can't. Because it doesn't exist.
In your opinion
Still no evidence.
Because the french legal system is a farce, which is why you can have a trial with no defence over there.
Still no evidence tying Bailey to the murder.
Bailey chose not to defend himself, say no more.
The trial without a defence. Laughable.
You should actually read that DPP report since you care so much about this case. (Hint: there wasn't any evidence tying Bailey to the murder)
He was found guilty of murder in France. It should have gone to trial here but for a poor decision by the DPP at the time.
"But I won't prove he did it and you won't prove he didn't."
The burden of proof is on you. Innocent until proven guilty.
Got away with what? There is no evidence tying him to the murder. Tell ya what, you come back when you have something that meets the the basic standard of evidence. Not pseudoscience or pub talk.
Thanks.
Here we go again 🙄
That's why he got away with it, sometimes it's just not available, witness, CCTV, external scene in winter, but that doesn't mean that you can't look at circumstantial evidence like the suspect admitting to people he did it, poorly explained injuries, history of violence towards women, missing from the house at the time, lunatic type behaviour. It's staring us in the face. But I won't prove he did it and you won't prove he didn't. Maybe DNA will in time.
Show me the hard evidence.
At least they're looking at DNA. I'll be interested in seeing those results.
Maybe just join the dots
Its telling that those seeking to tie Bailey to the murder need to rely so heavily on pseudoscience and wild speculation.
Good research? An intrusive collection of rumours and half truths more like. And to what end? You`d have to wonder about the motives of some of these Reddit contributors.
I reckon Sophie fitted the sort of woman that Bailey felt was his type with her connections and status, he had illusions of grandeur and probably felt she should automatically feel the same towards him as this sophisticated writer living in this backwater. I reckon he went there in the night thinking she would be delighted to have him at her door. He didn't get the reception he wanted or the expected night of passion, his ego was bruised and the beast that we all know was in him came out and he murdered her violently as happens in crimes of passion and where people are rejected who can't cope with it. He was well capable of it.
https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/gardai-analyse-ian-bailey-podcast-and-dna-in-sophie-toscan-du-plantier-investigation/a119950679.html
Technology to look at body language to detect lies.
Mother a God;
"I also know that they are examining his podcast series, technologically. They absolutely can use technology to determine if there is a probability if someone is lying by both their words and tone. This analysis is happening.”
The only "local" that she patronised was the one where the owner spoke French. She'd have tea and a chat with him, on the very few occasions that she went there.
Not your Irish, chatty, social type at all. The local people seem to have known that the cottage was now owned by a Frenchwoman as a holiday home. Hardly anyone knew anything of her in person, except the housekeeper, housekeeper's family, the next door neighbours, and a couple of people who could speak French. This was all established by investigation early on, since many murder victims know their killer. But Ian Bailey really didn't know her at all - may have been introduced once, by the neighbour! The police tried STRENUOUSLY to show a connection - as you have proposed, above - but they failed completely; he just didn't know her.
There are a lot of holiday homes in West Cork, and many of them are owned by rich people from other places, and they lie empty much of the time. Such was the case here.
Have a read of this, a lot of good research gone into it.
As for ;
"she went to the local with friends."
Didn't happen.
'What do you do yourself' or 'where are you from' might come up if you're a stranger with an accent in a small town bar.
If you dont like what Im writing about thats fine. You can have your own opinion.
So she went by her maiden name but she just couldn't keep her lavish french life to herself. She told everyone down the local in Schull. Despite every report of her behaviour in Schull being about her keeping to herself.
I don't believe you are being genuine about anything you write here. It's very obvious that you're not.
word travels quickly in such small towns. she employed a local woman as housekeeper. she went to the local with friends.
anyone who kept their ear to the ground on local happenings would probably know she was of that social class.
like … a local reporter for example.
Ians job was professional noseyparker. Just sayin.
You're pretending to not understand our point, and it's obvious, but for everyone else's benefit the point is that no one in Schull would have been aware of this "Cannes scene" and that she was a part of it. In fact, it appears that few people knew anything about her in the area, since she kept such a low profile.
Just a french lady called Sophie Bouniol, if they even knew her name at all.