I wonder how this will work out for him
Threadbanned Posters:
Hamsterchops
take everything
road_high
FixdePitchmark
gk5000
Who knows maybe Enoch will turn to ice on Monday and melt away and this stupid fiasco can all be over with. We can only hope.
There is no way that they meet the definitions of self employed while devilling. Doing directed and exclusive work for a single client is no longer considered self employed in any other form of employment situation.
But it'll never go to court as whoever did challenge it would never work again.
Revenue are who has ensured that other forms of bogus self employment have been busted; with no wages they won't be looking there.
They are not employees of their master
Only because the legal system has decided to pretend that they aren't.
They are under their direction, performing actual work (for which their master is charging people), and cannot work for someone else. This would cause Revenue to deem you an employee in every other such scenario.
But there's a legal fiction that they're self employed and that makes it all OK. And it'll never change.
Someone needs to nip down there sharpish and build an Enoch snowman before he gets there.
Just as a thought: if school is cancelled because of the snow, does he still have to show up?
You're wrong, the only fiction is in your own head.
Every member of the Bar is self employed, it's no different to a senior counsel directing a junior counsel in a case to research something or draft a pleading, they are not and cannot take on the role of employer yet they are directing work to colleagues.
Read the code of conduct for the Bar to understand and stop making a fool of yourself.
The "code of conduct of the bar" does not override actual law, despite what barristers may think, foolishly.
The devilling arrangement is not self employment. It does not meet any definition of self employment, and meets every definition of unpaid work that should get at least minimum wage. "It's self employment cause we say it is" doesn't make it so, code of conduct or not.
But it'll never be challenged by a devil, cause they'd never get work again
Shatters proposed reforms would have fixed this rotten, ridiculous old boys club and their delusions, alas.
Anyway, I'm done with this - its off-topic and its just going to be the same nonsense arguments rehashed again and again which can all be summed up as the legal profession protecting themselves from the law.
What "actual law" are you referring to support your false and silly argument.
What actual law states a trainee barrister is an employee of their training barrister and therefore should be paid minimum wage and all the other rights, entitlements and protections employees have?
I wonder will the Burkes entertain the protesters if and when they turn up at Wilson’s? They are so desperate to be heard but I also imagine them being a bit “snobby” for want of a better word.
I think they believe they don't need the support of anyone other than God and each other. They have not sought it or invited it, not that I've seen, anyway.
I've never once seen any of them encourage anyone to "come and support us".
Good question!
He’ll be one chilly fecker if he goes standing outside this week.
Not outside the school though.
In the unlikely event of Enoch not turning up at the school, would he be returned to prison anyway?
He was never jailed for turning up at the school. He was jailed for contempt of court by refusing to comply with a court order.
If he stays away from the school (i.e. complies with the court order) then he won't get sent back to prison.
So, by staying away he basically purges his contempt?
If he stays away he is not in contempt.
Remind me, what was the court order he refused to comply with?
have a look through the thread, its mentioned plenty of times
He might have a cold stand this week coming.
I always thought that Hell was a very hot place BUT a friend of mine always says that in Hell you wouldn't get near the fire with priests in the way.
could you stand on the other side of the road and throw snowballs at him?
That Might Be An Ecumenical Matter Ted
any word?
Snow and frost doesn’t stop people transitioning.
A snow(them/they)
RTE news : Enoch Burke returns outside Co Westmeath school
http://www.rte.ie/news/2025/0106/1489267-enoch-burke-returns-outside-co-westmeath-school/
Enoch has wasted no time. Although, it was inevitable he'd be there. It's a pity the school wasn't closed because of the weather - he could have stood outside a closed school and made even more of a clown of himself.
Two weeks with Mammy Burke and he is desperate to get back into Mountjoy.
Back to his cell for another year.
Ah here when is his dismissal appeal being heard - like what's the game here/what's taking so long with it. Burkes don't like someone on the panel is what I last heard. Tough stuff - get it done and it's trespass if he loses his appeal and continues to show up inside school boundary. He won't purge his contempt/he won't stop showing up at the gate. Like the guy has choices no more than the father - leave him with the choices he makes and inside Mountjoy if he won't purge his contempt and we move on. I pay enough taxes in this country which are faffed away to happily pay a few cents more to keep this lad in until he wants out. Need to start acting like a grown up country here at some stage. No more than the snowmungering.
was a bit taken back when I seen the photo of him in the car but without Sean at the wheel— had forgotten for a moment he is currently in prison himself.
I wonder at what point do the papers give up reporting on this story anyway? Like if you read almost any article anymore- it’s essentially a paragraph of “news” and then the rest is rehashing the whole thing in summary.
There’s just nothing really to talk about anymore. I think the moment it stops being put in the news is the same moment he will give up as it’s not getting attention.
Edit: I wonder if that’s the next step? A high court ruling that stops publication of his antics? Not sure it would be allowed though.