Prendergast has such a small body of work that pretty much any judgements - good or bad - are being made on a sample size of 1 game which is never a great idea. All we can really say is that his performance didn't rule out further chances in green and I'd expect him to get those in the 6N.
Then don't reply.
Why do so many people on here not know how message boards work. Exercise some self control, buddy.
He walks on water allegedly.
"Exercise some self control, buddy" Great if you took your own advice
As I said the opinion is limited to yourself, posting the same thing multiple times when it is wrong doesn't suddenly make it right.
No he glides
Well, if its limited to myself after watching how he moves on tv, then i must be the only one looking at an emperor in the nip.
Waiting for someone to do an actual analysis of the match for each touch Sam and Jack had, and compare the "attention" the Australian defense gave them. Entire narratives being crafted out of thin air based on nothing
I think Sam was very good, probably exceeded my expectations. He is a wonderful passer, both with foot and hand. He can definitely run the shape of the attack we all love to see with multiple runners and loops. I have a concern that while this scheme looks great it is not breaking teams down the way it used to, especially against set defences. NZ are on record as saying we they were totally comfortable with our cookie-cutter attack in the World Cup 1/4 final, I think it was Hansen said it.
Sexton was a genuinely athletic player just legs went in the end, good enough to play center, Frawley and Crowley are the same. Sam will need to be an occasional running threat to keep defenses honest. His best moment against Australia was when we had the free kick from the scrum and Aussie defence wasn't set, we probably should have scored there,
no hes not the only one who has a similar opinion , but then again me and people who disagree with the echo are only re regs or here just for the craic of the troll
The view is prevalent enough and reasonable to a point. But suggesting he needs to work to get to a Ross Byrne level of athleticism is just completely wide of the mark. He is already more athletic and takes it to the line better than Ross Byrne does in his dreams.
But Ross Byrne is very, very bad at these things so it's not exactly a high bar.
as a poster said above, we need to see more of SP in leinster before 6N .
Will Leo oblige and start him in the CC games ?
SP will have a more comfortable experience to develop his gameplay in the CC, but he does need to show he can develop those attributes
I think Hansen was talking through his hoop when he said that. We'd marched down the field, inside their 22. We almost broke through their line a couple of times, from memory I think Ringrose was almost through clean.
I do think this autumn showed we were lacking the dominant carries we need to make our system work, and that we need some new strategies to counter teams flooding our outside passing lanes.
I have said before he needs to learn how to run, he runs in a very unattractive way. he looks slow and stiff.
Should he be wearing fishnets and heels?
'unattractive runner' is a new one for the bingo card!
??
Ross Byrne can play 12 better than Usain Bolt can. Does that make Byrne the better athlete?
👋😂
and he has (well at 13 not 12 from what i remember)
12s are typically more athletic than pure 10s.
Ross Byrne can play 12 about as much as Dave Wallace or Denis Leamy could. They won't die there, but they're absolutely useless at the position.
Ross Byrne is not more athletic than Sam Prendergast and I'd really suggest anyone who thinks he is to go back and look at Ross Byrne play. He, to his eternal credit, tries to bring it to the line more but he's simply incapable of doing it - never mind being a running threat himself.
Like this is reaching absurd hyperbolic levels of argument - Crowley is significantly more athletic than Prendergast at the moment and obviously a more dangerous running threat. That is a perfectly reasonable point to make. Sam Prendergast is less athletic than Ross bloody Byrne is not.
The constant cries from fans about starting young players etc. Just give them a chance
Young player gets a chance and then same fans find any thing which they deem to be a minor issue in their player and try to hammer them on it.
Then people wonder why coachs are cautious with pushing young players into the team. Ridiculous stuff.
I like some of what you say there.
Australia were playing with a sliding defense. It worked very well when Prendergast was on the field but when Crowley came on he went at the line which slowed the sliding and opened gaps.
Prendergast is a tall lad but he's very light. It's probably why he's unwilling to try and break the line. I think he needs to bulk up. I think that will help him everywhere.
There's no doubt there's talent in Prendergast but he has a bit of a way to go to fully realise it.
Prendergast is 91kg
As is Frawley
Crowley is 89kg
Hard to accept that Frawley and Prendergast are the same weight given that there only an inch between them. Doesn't pass the eye test.
Yep, true.
But then again, is the 'eye test' reliable ?.
'It's all in the eye of the beholder'
(Beholders being season ticket holders at various clubs).
Crowley is 6'1", Prendergast is 6'4".
And you can be a more powerful guy with less weight, everyone is different. Just look at the two of them and tell me which guy looks more powerful.
None of the stats on the websites are particularly reliable, but Prendergast has 5cm on Frawley apparently. That's a decent chunk.
Devin Toner always looked lanky and missing mass, but he was also 120kg so…
Frawleys 94
Regardless of any height / weight stats I think it’s fair to say Crowley plays significantly more aggressively in contact than Prendergast on both sides of the ball. On the eye test, it does look like Prendergast has some bulk to put on - and he’s plenty young to do so - and that might help with regards taking contact whether that be rubbing threat or defending.
'Prendergast is a tall lad but he's very light.'
What weight would you advise is best for him ?.
I’d suggest “more” for starters, no?