I think it will be FF/FG again with god knows who. Hopefully a left wing party
It will be November 15th
No, they are on track to deliver less this year than last. Developers and industry bodies have been warning that new projects are stopping and no longer viable due to a plethora of issues - all of which are under govt control
Just blatantly waffles his way out. Tge interviewer just lets him away with it so why not.
Where did you get the 40k figure because it's completely wrong. They will complete less this year.
I think he is doing a very bad interview.
Refusing to accept the data. Not uncommon with FFers tbh.
"In my view....nothing nothing nothing"
And they certainly will if you put SF in. They don't have the personnel to form a cabinet, very few able spokespersons. All loudmouths like their leader. We even had one of them on the radio yesterday telling us what 'great craic' Gerry Adams is. Not a description many victims from his past would use
Who won the debate? Really bleak for SH
I hate exit polls. They're like spoilers for the count.
Jesus, is that the best you can do? RTE living rent free in your head.
Honestly, you must be very tired @FrancieBrady but when the dust settles over the weekend, the post-mortum is going to begin on SF, as to how they lost this election, and lose it they did. They were the main opposition party and it looks like they will lose vote share. An extraordinary outcome…
You always see a conspiracy, dont you. Is this from the days of when Gerry and the lads from West Belfast were barred from appearing on RTE?
Sure, why not blame the mods of boards.ie while you are at it? You did it before. You are very very paranoid Francie. There are no spooks out there trying to get you, or control RTE at the behest of the government.
That debate on The Tonight show os gas craic.
Unlikely to affect any of the 3 parties votes in any way though.
The keystone of the plan was their public housing model, where homes were to be sold to people but the land will belong to the government. Its as clear as mud as to how this would work in the real world.
A real distinct possibility of SF getting more seats than FG looking at most recent polls. There is a strong likelihood that FF will be the largest party but still the makeup is not clear.
A lot of it depends on what FG want to do and would there be a push to get rid of Harris after the election if they perform worse than expected? There doesn't appear to be a natural successor if we assume that Pashcal has no interest in taking the role. Can't see anyone else who is a stand out in the party.
Two residential developments, two individuals, looking to deprive hundreds of people of a home... scum !
Turf them out of the houses they like bought for next to nothing or inherited etc...
"Carrickmines"
The nimbyism capital of Ireland
I wonder if people have forgotten how pro immigration Sinn Fein are and how demand or fake demand is not being addressed in tackling this housing crisis.
Sure SF got more seats in the last election as well, 37 for SF, 35 for FG so that isn't something new.
Personally I see another FF/FG mix and depending on numbers either Labour or SD but which one depending on who has the stronger seat count.
Up to only 2 weeks ago there was a possibility according to some polls that FG would have been streets ahead of SF, so potentially this could be a huge turn around, with FG and in particular Harris being responsible for the flip in polling numbers.
But, ye, the most likely scenario will be FF/FG, although it is very likely that MM will be the next Taoiseach
All 3 main parties are pro immigration unfortunately. There's no way to make a government without them.
It's already nailed on to be FFG coalition.
The election is a formality .
absolute disaster of a campaign for FG.
I think everyone was expecting SF to push on after the last election and the poll figures after. but if they lose seats it won't be a good day.
all big parties just seem to be trying to hold on there's no real vision there for the future.
If MM was smart and he isn't (and I think he might pay a price for it in his own party) he'd be playing SF off against FG. Basically, he has again handed the ball and initiative to FG as even if they finish 3rd they have him over a barrel. Harris can take the hump, say 'we are going into opposition' and FF will have to kneel before them.
Politically astute?…not by a million miles tbh
He knows there has been no revolt amongst his own party, or for that matter the voters for playing ball with FG for pretty much the last two terms. So he'll be happy once he is Taoiseach and FG playing any part to support him/them in the next coalition. That seems the most likely scenario.
If that does happen (and i think it will) i think ML really needs to assess where she is at, and SF need to assess where they want to go over the next term. Is it time for a change in SF if they aren't in power this time around? Well you'd like to think so. But who's the alternative? PD? Maybe, There are worse out there anyway
IImmigration isn't a huge national issue, Utterly over hyped in the Euros and locals by the media, the IT poll had it at 7% as an issue. It'll feature in some areas but won't be decisive overall and in general the racist right types will poll poorly, thankfully.
The shift in sentiment in the Irish Times issues tracker showed the exact % drop in those who thought immigration was the biggest issue as those who thought the bike shed (and the bike shed alone) was the biggest issue - so there's a reasonable % of reactionary idiots who'll consider whatever they were last angry about to be the biggest issue.
That currently isn't immigration.
He knows there has been no revolt amongst his own party,
You won't see it before an election. FF could command mid 40% pre the crash. If they have any hope of getting back near that the continued alliance with FG is not going to do it. If I know that, be sure there are those in FF who do too.
Francie, you know well how this will likely play out.
The key stakeholders here are going to be FG and what they want to do. If the polls are to prove accurate and let's say FF have a 10+ seat lead over them, will FG want to play second fiddle in government? I'm not so sure.
There is still a small chance of FF/SF, although unlikely, i'd have never have thought of a FF/FG alliance up to only 10 years ago
Ireland Thinks poll had it 3rd at 13%.
It could be a big silent vote. Hard to say.
Immigration is a way bigger issue than any polls will show you. Polls are mostly useless as has been show year in year out.
They tend to be set demographics and people who want to engage in such things.
And for those actually polled, immigration is taboo so there's plenty that won't speak the truth for fear of racism.
It's a big issue all over Europe. We are not special or different in any way.