Enjoy!!
Old thread here......
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2057962937/mayo-gaa-discussion-part-4#latest
Threadban list
Green Peter - Permanent
Man Vs ManUre until 9/05/23
Thats my point, similar to Cluxton in previous years his decision was made long ago, despite having the appearance of a media shy person he loves the speculation about himself. If he has made a decision why not just announce it?
I'm sure there would be folk not unlike yourself that would accuse him of seeking attention if he did make an announcement, so its a case with some of Damned if he does and Damned if he doesn't.
Whatever his decision is he doesn't owe anyone outside of the team any explanation.
Ha ha. What are you talking about. Cillian O'Connor is very rarely in the news. I don't recall reading anything controversial about him. This speculation about him finishing with Mayo is not coming from him. It's others speculating. You have no idea what decisions he has or has not made. You are saying he should announce whatever he has decided, but you know nothing about him. Hilarious.
Well Cillian is taking 2025 off.
The poor guy was really not been himself since that injury v Clare.
I don't think Mayo are a "win now or bust" type of team in 2025, so they are not loosing an essential cog.
Hopefully he comes back refreshed in 2026 and have a bit more spring to his step.
I know he's not young and has been around for a age but hopefully he can come back and add something.
The fact that Cillian is not "retiring" suggests that he has no no faith in McStay to deliver. If had any confidence whatsoever, then you can be sure that no matter what his issues are that he would have stayed on board just in case.
No question that he hasn't been the same player since his injury and I don't think you could start himself and AOS in the same FF line, but when he played this year he was MOTM in one game and our best forward in the other. He showed up the starters and that he still has something to offer. Even as just back up freetaker in case ROD ever got injured, he was definitely worth keeping in the squad.
However, I wish him well no matter what happens. He has been a fantastic servant to Mayo and owes the county nothing.
The nature of Cillian's opting out has already led to plenty of conspiracy theories. A great servant and performer but given his age and injury history one would think a retirement announcement would be the sensible route, just as his colleagues did at a similar age.
But it could just mean that he wants to give the body a rest and return next year if he feels up to it or maybe it's a form of retirement announcement that allows him to drift away without the media demands that usually comes with a final announcement.
It could also be due to work pressures or personal circumstances.
And it could also be due to a fallout but nothing of note has come out to suggest that so who knows.
All the best to him. One of the best forwards to play the game. His stats says everything you need to know about him, especially in semi finals and finals. That point in 2016 is one of my favourite memories in Croke Park.
O Hora is the next to step away according to Mayo GAA Banter.
Ya, but a bigger surprise will come!!
Who?
I am not going to say on here as it is not my place. It will come out in time. Mcstay will be forced now to find new guys and about time…. He has only himself to blame.
Confirmed by journalist Colm Keys tonight. Michael Plunkett, James Carr and 2nd choice goalkeeper Rory Byrne also opted off the panel. Aidan O'Shea expected to miss the opening league games against Galway and Dublin. Tommy Conroy is out injured until the late spring he says.
One thing that Cillian, plunkett and carr have in common is a series of debilitating injuries. Is it possible that mcstay just said to them..lads we can't have ye on the panel like this...get the injuries sorted and we can look at ye again? Even OHora has been limited with injuries the last 2 years
Byrne may have decided he had enough as reserve GK after years of loyal commitment.
So who's the bigger surprise? Carr?
No and none of the guys mentioned above in the last few message. It will be significant.
Is it not a bit silly to say you know what's coming but won't say it. A bit like 'I know a secret but I'm not telling'.
If it's Paddy Durcan there'll be riots in Castlebar
OMG - I am only saying this could not be the end. I don't know for sure on the addition player and if it is for definite, but the list above was floating around a few weeks back. I have no idea why it took so long for it to come out. McStay is like a mouse in all of this!! AOS said more on COC departure than McStay…
Why bother saying anything if you won't say who you heard? It's not going to bring the sky down if you turn out to be wrong on a boards thread. Teasing us with mention of a big name and not saying it is just schoolyard stuff.
I don't think Byrne making the squad by the Championship? I think Hennelly was on the bench for it
Big News Coming Soon... we've enough of those flutes in Mayo already.
Yes that's what I meant by reserve goalie..not even No 2 now but training with the team.
Feck sake
Wasn’t expecting Carr to go. We have gone from having a nice few options in full forward line to needing Aido to stay fit and play 70 minutes every game
Optimism is low. I may not book the hotel next January now :D
Ah sorry, ya that does make sense.
Anyway the big news is that Aido is taking a year off to prepare for a fight against Jake Paul.
Aidan said himself he is away travelling for the month of January. The significand's players I would say are could be ROD, Ruane, Flynn or Carney. I can't see it being one of them.
Looks like the injuries are not clearing up even in the off season. If he is still unavailable as he was for most of last year then it's better to replace him and give experience to someone else. Same with the others mentioned.
I wouldn't see Ruane as a loss at all. He didn't perform in the county semi final and hasn't performed since the semi final in 21.
Edit: Corrected to County Semi Final, not County Final
He would have been doing well to have performed in the county final! Semi final maybe? From a club perspective, he had a very good year imo.
He was poor from 21 final up to this year. He was one of better players this year, back to near his best I thought.
Any concrete word yet on 2025 NFL fixtures?