Conor McGregor Megathread *Mod Warning in OP Updated 20th April*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,161 ✭✭✭✭walshb

the poster is making a separate point, that unfortunately, folks seem to always lump in as victim-blaming. The poster is NOT victim-blaming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,093 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Call for a retail and consumer boycott of McGregor’s Stout business and the whiskey he sold but still promotes .

Thankfully I’ve never tasted either and don’t intend to- I imagine the people who have drank these are hard McGregor fans - whilst it probably won’t put them off drinking the stuff likely the main supermarkets may well discontinue selling it leaving them harder to source - I assume considering the vast amount he sold his whiskey business for, that it’s more an American market than Irish one anyway so likely sales overall won’t be impacted much?

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/call-to-boycott-conor-mcgregor-alcohol-brands-after-civil-case-defeat/a550438822.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,167 ✭✭✭✭blade1

kabib tweet in 2019

FB_IMG_1732460042031.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,412 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I can't fancy anyone as much as conors fans seem to fancy him online

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Woodcutting

It’s a wonder someone not organizing a boycott McGregor march.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,678 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

The cases are linked because Connor McGreagor guaranteed the legal costs of James Lawrence. If he had not would JL have withdrawan from.the case as he would have no way of funding the legal fees. Would he have got a competent legal team to represent him on a no foal no fee basis. Connor McGreagor guaranteeing his legal costs gave him a get out of gaol free card.

It was a question the judge failed to get the jury to answer. Whether he bring them back and put that question to them or makes up his own mind in the matter and gives an opinion on it. There can be a legal argument made for both scenarios. In the one where Lawerence lied about having protected sex with her he could be open to a perjury charge if he follows through with the appeal this could raise its head. As well his legal team getting paid by CG but JL must make the decision after the outcome of the case

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,126 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

I'm open to correction on this, but I don't think McGregor guaranteeing Lawrences legal fees has any basis on whether Lawrence could withdraw, or not. The case was taken against him as a separate entity and if McGregor wasn't paying the fees for Lawrence, then Lawrence would still have to find a way to have legal representation. From a tactical viewpoint, I think having Lawrence properly represented was only a good thing for McGregor, so it made sense for McGregor to guarantee the fees.

Lawrence has nothing to appeal, does he? Only Hand could seek to appeal the decision made by the Jury on Lawrence. It would be madness to appeal against something she maintained didn't actually happen. Likewise, only McGregor can appeal the decision which didn't go his way. So we have the potential for appeals in both directions, the former being almost a zero chance to happen.

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭anndub

This is gas. He's not victim blaming, he's just pointing out the victim surely knew McGregor had form and she chose to put herself at risk so she has a part to play. Have I got it right this time?

I think that's probably my cue to exit the conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,037 ✭✭✭✭kippy

No idea about the mechanics of awarding costs but I would hope the judge hits the two lads(McGregor) for all costs associated with the case after both of their actions on social media in the past 48 hours and the lack of any attempt at an apology towards:

A. The victim and her family.

B. Their own families.

No matter what you think of the verdict the behaviour of McGregor in general is abhorrent.

Incorrect. The onus is on men not to rape women. The vast majority of people no longer live by "boys will be boys" although it looks like the people who do like to hang out on boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,412 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

It's absolutely not a red herring. It was a key piece of evidence because no woman would ever consent to having sex while wearing a tampon. Ergo she is highly unlikely to have consented to intercourse. Jesus, do you have any idea about female anatomy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,306 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

I've never touched the stuff or his other products he endorses like Tidal etc. Remember that August McGregor clothing line he had? Haven't heard from that in years.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Yep, the McGregor products are targeting a very specific demographic so I'm not sure sure if they're the kind that engage with boycotts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 704 ✭✭✭DaithiMa

Tommy Conlon summed the cowardly rapist up perfectly in his piece in the Indo. Some of the best lines:

"it was obvious to anyone who wasn’t buying the hype that he was a glorified pub fighter, a chip shop brawler after closing time, a useless amateur boxer "

"McGregor fell headlong into his own narcissism, strutting around like he was king of the world when he was basically the pied piper of the Walkinstown roundabout."

"Now he knows what the word ‘notorious’ really means. Once upon a time he thought it made him sound like an outlaw, a maverick, a rebel.

What it means now is that he is famous for being an abuser and a liar."

Bravo Tommy Conlon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,649 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

"it was obvious to anyone who wasn’t buying the hype that he was a glorified pub fighter, a chip shop brawler after closing time, a useless amateur boxer "

We'll just write off his whole mma career so...?

• Site Banned Posts: 7,421 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Ah here. No need to give the walkistown roundabout a bad name!

Also go to the halfway house if you'd like a nice pub around there.

you clearly didnt read what I said. Under normal circumstances you’re correct. Ms. Hand said she was quite drunk. When people are drunk, they are not thinking and acting the same. So it’s absolutely not silly to believe that a woman could have sex with a tampon in due to her being drunk.

To add: I believe her claim that she did not consent

• Site Banned Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭briany

A chip shop brawler is definitely what he turned into. He had at one time been a top MMA fighter and that's absolutely no mean feat, but he's given into all of the temptations that his fame and wealth have afforded him and become a philandering coke addict trading on former glory.

If you isolate the story of his rise from unemployed plumber-by-trade to someone who competed at the top of MMA, that's still a story to be inspired by, but the rest of his personal life absolutely is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,181 ✭✭✭✭threeball

Well done for completely ignoring the content of my post to suit your agenda.

I’m not disputing that. I’m saying if drunk, very drunk, a woman might not even think about it, and it could happen. Anyway, irrelevant to my belief that Ms Hand did not consent, and he proceeded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,306 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

If you can get the shops to boycott then job done. But yes looking at MMA twitter his fans are in full defence of him. This won't make any difference to his following across the water.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Site Banned Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

I could get into some really down and dirty details as to why a woman would never forget her period/tampon when she is about to get down to business, but like I said, it's just clear you're not a woman!

Exactly, another glorified pub fighter, was never any good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

are you saying that what constitutes RD is a sliding scale, depending on the alleged crime and potential sentence which is determined by the judge?

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.