I think it will be FF/FG again with god knows who. Hopefully a left wing party
It will be November 15th
I don't think FF need to go to town on FG, I think MM is currently playing quite a smart game with all the "Well that's a matter for FG, but I can assure you he would not be an FF candidate" and "It's not my place comment on how Simon Harris interacts with voters, but I would have handled it differently" sort of chat.
I totally agree. Sarah McInerney should be the host imho - takes no crap.
I really like Neasa. If the Greens had more of her ilk and Grace O’Sullivan I’d happily give them a vote.
Darragh O’Brien would give an aspirin a headache
That's a farcical decision by RTE.
In international sporting events like football and rugby referees don't referee matches involving their own countries.
An important debate should not be moderated by someone with a sibling who is a sitting TD in one of those parties.
There is a link in this tweet to tonight's debate stream for those looking for it.
100%. Good Galway woman and doesn't favour FFG.
Agreed, ridiculous decision, but not a surprising one
edit: Apologies, I just saw a promotion for the 3 way leaders debate on Tuesday night - it seems O’Callaghan is only co-hosting along with Sarah McInerney.
That's a bit better but she really shouldn't be anywhere near it. I'm sure there is a lot of competition between them (and Clare Byrne) and O'Callaghan probably played some kind of seniority card to ensure she wasn't "pushed out" but at the end of the day blood is thicker than water.
Jim has all the questions written. FG will rue the loss of Strategic director Coveney but the bailout for incompetence and waste will help them too.
The ESRI report goes into detail about defining and categorising disability. The survey was based on mother’s responses which may not be an objective measure but it’s realistic for our purposes- would the Taoiseach or any other politician tell a mother she was wrong to say her child had a disability?
The IT says the increase in autism numbers is mainly due to wider definitions. But does that require an massive increase in SNAs?
Autism: Why are so many children being diagnosed these days?
https://www.irishtimes.com/health/your-family/2024/11/24/autism-why-are-so-many-children-being-diagnosed-these-days/
You are referring to TWIP? I fully concur with you on DOB, but I’d include PD in that too. I don’t know what’s going on but PD has really become painful lately to listen to. Also no love lost it seems between FF & FG v the greens.
Ye, DOB has the cheek to say to Eoin to not speak over him and then proceeds to speak over him at every given opportunity.
Very interesting thanks for posting. Will have a listen later on.
Looks like a good race for that 4th seat. Still think Donnelly will just about pinch it, but obviously Yates more qualified than I to comment!
Just starting to picture FF generally doing better than expected across the country. Suspect they’ll be strong beneficiaries of the multiple FG PR disasters.
He talked over him a number of times. Disgusting human. I thought Áine Lawlor did a good job but I’d have liked Her to push Harrigan more on the problems in Drogheda inhibiting the construction industry.
Who is running tonights debate ?
you know it’s going to be a bad election for FG when you even overhear people on public transport talking about the Harris video and FG being a shower of ****
It’s Aine who should be moderating that debate on Tuesday night, is respectful yet assertive, unlike them show ponies O Callaghan and McCullagh
Sky News/TodayFM
That’s a random combination
I saw Harris interviewed this morning on Trevor Philips show. He was interviewed by David Blevins. Are the 3 interviewed separately by DB?
TV3?
Or whatever they are called. Virgin Media folks.
Virgin are not holding a debate, sort of claiming poor mouth as the reason.
I think they just did an interview with the top 3 party leaders who could be Taoiseach
I think Aontu will do well in this GE
Of course we know it is FFG back in again in some form
SF really dropped the ball
I wouldn't bet on FFG just yet. I also think the next election may not come with the same FDI tax windfall as we have now so the next government will have its hands full. There are dark clouds forming and FFG haven't prepared us very well for economic growth or shocks (poor housing supply, poor healthcare, poor grid, traffic gridlock, poor public transport, poor construction industry and inflation etc).
SF were always gonna find it hard once the spotlight was on them. The "wave" was based on various disparate groups pinning all their hopes and dreams on them including a load of stuff Sinn Fein never stood for.
As soon as they were in a position where they were being pestered to get of fences SF were fuked.
I'd say having one of the strongest economies in the world for the past 2 decades, full employment, and some of the best career opportunities on earth, coupled with a 25 billion budget surplus is not bad preparation.
SF, on the other hand, intend to blow the surplus on building houses the banks probably wont lend on, whilst chasing out FDI from the country, despite relying on the very same FDI revenue to make SF's sums add up!
All at a time when the very real risk of Trump's reshoring of IP and Corporation Taxes could batter our economy for decades to come.
We need safe, experienced hands & FDI friendly politics from here on out.
FFG are the only choice, in reality.
Very true.
Especially the anti immigration crowd, who for some bizarre reason thought SF would be anti asylum seekers, despite them being a left wing socialist party..