I think it will be FF/FG again with god knows who. Hopefully a left wing party
It will be November 15th
Fair point, although, it was a stupid position to put themelves in, in being that they knew if they brought that government down, it was most likely they who would get hammered for it
So because some people earning high incomes have the 'ability to pay high' property should be way more expensive than it is an hour and a half away in Belfast?
Except they havent failed...
Targets have been hit and we have record housing commencements this year, the pipeline is strong, but that doesnt suit your narrative.
I don't vote SF. But imagine the message you send to FFG if you vote them in again. We know you created and oversaw an absolutely unforgivable housing crisis, but we are giving you yet another chance to fix it after 16 years of making it worse. Imagine the message it sends to them. They'll do feck all the fix if for 4 years and then come out with a load of numbers to bamboozle you and you'll lap it up. At some point you have to say Stop.
Targets have been hit
4,000 homeless kids?
Is that a target.
Bullseye on that one 🎯
Basic economics.
Do you think prices in London should be the same as they are in Birmingham?
You believe their dedicated deportation plane nonsense? Blue sky dreams indeed 🙂
Owner-occupiers don't usually benefit from rising house prices.
If they sell, they have to buy somewhere else to live, and the cost of that will have risen too.
The equity in an owner-occupier's home can't really be released during their lifetime. Trading down options are few and far between.
You keep saying that with no proof. Remind me about the Affordable Housing targets for example. Thrill me with your metrics.
That's a matter for the Gardai, the DPP and the courts.
Do you really want to live in a country where politicians interfere in the justice system?
brand new estate in the part of donegal I live in. 1st phase bought by donegal coco, full of Ukrainian reg cars.
Belfast median salary is 43,053 euro, I can't find a consistent figure for Dublin but I'm guessing it's not massively more than that.
That’s the market for you
It’s the same dynamic that SF came up against in the last year by supporting IPAS and immigrants against the wishes of their core voters Demand for that policy in the core vote was a lot less than SF was supplying ergo didn’t SF shares go down
They’ve tweaked the messaging now of course in response (lol IpAS in affluent areas only),like they’ve pirouetted on a lot of their policies in recent years
Some call it populism
Every Taoiseach we have ever had has sat around the Cabinet table as some point before taking on the role as Taoiseach.
The first Taoiseach, W.T. Cosgrave, had held a Ministry under the First Dail. The second Taoiseach, Eamon De Valera, had led the First Dail. All other subsequent Taoisigh, including Enda Kenny, have sat around the Cabinet table before taking office. MLMD would be uniquely inexperienced if she became Taoiseach before having a Ministry. Those are the facts, whether you like it or not.
I am not looking for a pro US lackey, however, it is absolutely essential for the welfare of Irish citizens that whoever is in government has the capacity and capability to maintain excellent relationships with the US government. If you want to throw prosperity down the drain in return for supporting Hamas ( a vilely misogynistic group), Russia and Maduro, be explicit and tell the Irish people you want the jobs to go away for that.
One of the biggest irritants I have right now is the use of the term property ladder. As if people buy and sell houses all through their lives, so a high property value is important then.
But how many people actually buy and sell houses like that for personal use? I went through friends and family and the only people I can think of that have bought more than 1 house has been due to a relocation for work purposes or, in 1 case, because my cousin is loaded and himself and his husband wanted to do up a new place.
But by and large, people buy a house and then they live there until they die. So does the house value really matter then? Not really.
It's more that people in the 2010s and 2020s in particular had it hard to get houses, so now it needs to be at least as hard for everyone else.
Previous generations should be making it easier for the next generation coming along. But in Ireland right now it's the opposite. The new generations are suffering to ensure that the previous generations aren't as affected.
They are not part of the Affordable homes scheme.
To sum up your point:
The Power Swap should happen forever.
Yeah that's probably true, but some people just like the fact that their house is going up in price anyway.
I'm sure you remember all the tedious house price talk during the 'boom'.
"Yaw we bought for 300k and one sold for 400 last week, really yaw".
Who says they are? We have almost full employment, so that doesn't add up
Going on for 100,000 Ukrainians all had to be housed here the last 2 years,,where has that supply come from and who had it hurt?
In my opinion it’s a miracle the homeless Irish (or more accurately the temporarily housed) figures have only rose by 3 or 4000 in that period
What's the median salary amount you're using to compare?
Google is your friend here,it’s about 8 to 10 k euro less in NI than the RoI which is a lot when it comes to looking for a mortgage and ergo is reflected in house prices
Your last two paragraphs seem to contradict the rest. If you are living in your owner-occupied house until you die, whether its market value rises or falls makes no difference to you. What are the previous generations going to be affected by?
The prior generations who bought aren't making it harder for FTBs today. It's lack of supply that's making it harder for FTBs today. But it was never easy for FTBs.
FFG policy will not deliver more homes - already apartment builds have dropped in Dublin. So progress is beginning to reverse where it's needed most.
FFG intend to flood the market with more cash for buyers (HTB, FHS) instead of adding supply directly. They also are now dangerously committing to HTB for second hand market, which by definition cannot stimulate new supply.
So prices will go up and no new supply will enter 2nd hand market relative to before HTB was allowed in 2nd hand market. Great job, FFG
They’ve tweaked the messaging now of course in response (lol IpAS in affluent areas only),like they’ve pirouetted on a lot of their policies in recent years Some call it populism
Harris gets a pass when he 'tweaks' to the right and covers it by saying 'I have listened to the people' but MLMD can't do the same? BTW SF have not lost any of their core vote, they upped their vote in the LE's and Euros and look set to get close to their 2020 numbers in an actual GE
I'm not sure there's that much of a gap between Dublin & Belfast but it we take the 8k what should the difference in property be?
It's looks totally distorted to me, i.e. Dublin prices are off the scale no matter what way you look at it.
How much would that one I posted be in Dublin?
It's 10 min walk to the Europa, 15 min walk to Queens/Botanic Gardens.
Roughly equivalent to this? https://www.daft.ie/for-sale/apartment-apartment-99-forbes-quay-apartments-grand-canal-dock-dublin-2/5830278
That's 239k v 475k
The Planning bill, which is now approved, will speed up planning decisions and make it much more difficult for objectors to block new developments. This will speed up commencements, which are already at record levels in 2024.
There is also increases in resource for the planning board and a huge move from commercial to residential for the construction industry, meaning more builders on site for housing projects.
50k to 60k homes per year is doable under these conditions.
Of course she can but isn’t She and SF taking the absolute piss in terms of how many policy pirrouettes they’ve done in the past decade?
There’s consistency,there’s common sense responses and then there’s populism,the latter being pirouettes
I get that but why can't Martin say that when asked in the Dail by Holly Cairns about less than 1000 Affordable Homes being made available over the lifetime of the government. He point blank refused to acknowledge/answer the question. It was downright rude to be honest.
What's the problem getting 20+ storey apartment blocks built like they have in England? SF i'm nearly sure have opposed in DCC such requests (or correct me if i'm wrong)
Easy solution(you'd think), a lot of people have no problem living or owning an apartment