I think it will be FF/FG again with god knows who. Hopefully a left wing party
It will be November 15th
Every Taoiseach we have ever had has sat around the Cabinet table as some point before taking on the role as Taoiseach.
The first Taoiseach, W.T. Cosgrave, had held a Ministry under the First Dail. The second Taoiseach, Eamon De Valera, had led the First Dail. All other subsequent Taoisigh, including Enda Kenny, have sat around the Cabinet table before taking office. MLMD would be uniquely inexperienced if she became Taoiseach before having a Ministry. Those are the facts, whether you like it or not.
I am not looking for a pro US lackey, however, it is absolutely essential for the welfare of Irish citizens that whoever is in government has the capacity and capability to maintain excellent relationships with the US government. If you want to throw prosperity down the drain in return for supporting Hamas ( a vilely misogynistic group), Russia and Maduro, be explicit and tell the Irish people you want the jobs to go away for that.
That’s the market for you
It’s the same dynamic that SF came up against in the last year by supporting IPAS and immigrants against the wishes of their core voters Demand for that policy in the core vote was a lot less than SF was supplying ergo didn’t SF shares go down
They’ve tweaked the messaging now of course in response (lol IpAS in affluent areas only),like they’ve pirouetted on a lot of their policies in recent years
Some call it populism
Belfast median salary is 43,053 euro, I can't find a consistent figure for Dublin but I'm guessing it's not massively more than that.
brand new estate in the part of donegal I live in. 1st phase bought by donegal coco, full of Ukrainian reg cars.
That's a matter for the Gardai, the DPP and the courts.
Do you really want to live in a country where politicians interfere in the justice system?
You keep saying that with no proof. Remind me about the Affordable Housing targets for example. Thrill me with your metrics.
Owner-occupiers don't usually benefit from rising house prices.
If they sell, they have to buy somewhere else to live, and the cost of that will have risen too.
The equity in an owner-occupier's home can't really be released during their lifetime. Trading down options are few and far between.
You believe their dedicated deportation plane nonsense? Blue sky dreams indeed 🙂
Basic economics.
Do you think prices in London should be the same as they are in Birmingham?
Targets have been hit
4,000 homeless kids?
Is that a target.
Bullseye on that one 🎯
I don't vote SF. But imagine the message you send to FFG if you vote them in again. We know you created and oversaw an absolutely unforgivable housing crisis, but we are giving you yet another chance to fix it after 16 years of making it worse. Imagine the message it sends to them. They'll do feck all the fix if for 4 years and then come out with a load of numbers to bamboozle you and you'll lap it up. At some point you have to say Stop.
Except they havent failed...
Targets have been hit and we have record housing commencements this year, the pipeline is strong, but that doesnt suit your narrative.
So because some people earning high incomes have the 'ability to pay high' property should be way more expensive than it is an hour and a half away in Belfast?
Fair point, although, it was a stupid position to put themelves in, in being that they knew if they brought that government down, it was most likely they who would get hammered for it
A young person, looking to develop a career and get on the property ladder would be much better off under FFG.
FFG have overseen one of the best job markets and employment opportunities on the planet for decades now, remarkable for a country the size of Ireland.
They will also help you with your deposit, when it comes to buying your first home, through the HTB scheme.
They will also deliver more housing stock to the market than SF will.
SF will reduce employment opportunities in Ireland by taxing job creators, build less houses and, oh, they will get rid of your deposit while they are at it; by removing the help to buy scheme.
Can the couple get a SF house instead then? Nope.
They both earn an average salary, so dont qualify for a SF home...
I am under 40 and I wouldnt be voting for SF, if i had aspirations to own a home or develop a career in this country.
Aye sure they've only been in power 70 of the last 90 years.
I'm sure they're full of fresh new ideas.
FF also had the confidence and supply agreement with FG before 2020
Northern Ireland has a much lower median income/salary than the Republic for a start so less ability to pay high for houses/apartments vs the Republic
I doubt anyone would want that in order to lower house prices south of the border
(Seoul median salary is about the same as RoI)
FF had influence and veto over the previous government; something they were very happy to remind people of when they used it in their favour but are now reticent to remind anyone of. That's eight and a half years.
I'd caveat that slightly, FF have only been "power sharing" the last few years, FG have been for the last 14 years or so. They have to go and spend some time on the sidelines imo
If you mean restricting asylum immigration, FG are offering the most restrictive policy, no?
You can believe in Unicorns if you want.
FFG have had all the time in the world to deliver solutions and they've failed.
That's the only fact.
It is feasible now, that's the relevant point.
If the question is, "who will deliver the most homes over the next term", my opinion is FFG will outperform a SF led govt, in terms of housing output.
I want to see more homes. I want to see more buyers. I want to see prices fall. The best way to do that is to deliver more homes; therefore I would favour FFG vs SF housing policy.
Wrong again.
I want more people to own houses. I want more first time buyers in the market. I want to see more home owners and if that brings down the value of my home, I am perfectly fine with that.
Where we differ is that I believe FFG will deliver more homes and greater access for young first time buyers, than any other potential governing party.
I don't want to derail the thread but why are you picking Seoul?
You'd have to wonder how you can get a lot better value up the road from Dublin in Belfast -
Immigration at unreasonable and unrealistic levels so no
I see you're still picking and choosing what you respond to. The key charge levelled at Kenny was his lack of experience yet he ascended to Taoiseach and managed, the other leaders I mentioned did similar so your argument lacks any credibility and is driven by political bias.
You are looking for a pro US lackey, it's written all over your posts, you are arguing that Ireland should ignore the wrongs perpetrated by the US and its allies even the 'evil' one's to ensure we get FDI. You're OK with mass slaughter of children in Gaza as long as a few US dollars stays in Ireland and you've the temerity to critique MLMD, laughable!
Considering the amount of construction workers with respiratory problems (frequently due to not using masks/respirators, either by choice or not provided/not required at points in the past) I'd expect quite a lot of that 20k were being told not to go back to work then on medical advice.
Also not all construction had re-started even by then.
Construction workers ‘unemployed’ is also perennially overstated due to the number happily working for cash.
Had work done ourselves this year and main contractor said it’s difficult to get lads to stop signing on. Plenty prefer to do a couple days per week cash in hand and retain benefits.
Might relate to a story in 2021 about 20,000 construction workers opting to stay on the pandemic payment.