What logic?
If Ballygunnar are so far ahead of Loughmore then surely Waterford should be hammering tipp every year in intercounty and contesting all-irelands going by your logic?
Fair play to you 👍🏻
Yes they did,my point still stands
Ballygunner are going for their fourth Munster title in a row. If the logic on here was applied on the Waterford forum they'd be suicidal as to why their county team is not winning every game.
Ballygunner have a massive pick, are obviously a superbly organized and run club. Loughmore are an exceptional club, but they're still a small country club with a tiny population to pick from.
Ballygunner looked so organized and sharp today, they were superb.
They just got absolutely hockeyed by Ballygunner - a non-runner
Agreed
If you are judging the strength of club hurling by comparing it to Ballygunner then you are using the wrong barometer.
Its not something I am overly concerned about to be honest. The link between club and county success isn't everything, but undoubtedly helps, particularly if it's not just one strong club as is the case in Waterford where ballygunner success has done nothing for the county team.
We have the county champions of the All Ireland finalists playing now (counting Sars) and I would fancy Loughmore against either of them.
Same could be said for killenny hurling championship so losing to westmeaths best. Ballygunner were after long layoff aginst doon in limerick. They are more then capable of beating most sides by 10points on their day.
Careful the above comments lads - I got fair stick for saying it as it is previously about the quality of Tipp club hurling 😳
Undoubtedly, the Tipperary club championship is both enjoyable and competitive but if Loughmore is the best senior team in the county then Tipp hurling is not in a good place. Big men with little skill, some just mullockers. Travelling to Fethard and Littleton in the last week to see the camogie club final, I saw fabulous gaa grounds all over the county. Tipperary have a great hurling tradition and a huge hurling population. Not questioning the fact that ye will eventually return to the top table, but the last few years at adult level in both county and club ye have been generally dire. Genuinely puzzled, at what's gone wrong with yere hurling. Bizarre.
We are getting a fairly stark reminder of where the quality of the Tipp championship is at here.
Loughmore are a good barometer as they "bring it" every day they go out. They have been destroyed here. 2nd half a non event
Yep.
The "problem" in Tipp club hurling is there is a big spread of inter county players among the clubs so no club has a sufficient concentration of inter county talent to be competitive at the top level of the club championship.
You might very well have no player from this years county final start for Tipp next year.
100% Waterford championship is a joke. Loughmore will give Ballygunner a good rattle. Very hard for them to compete, basically a rural club with 400 people who play both hurling and football against a club with the pick of the city with 60,000 people.
If it’s such high quality, why isn’t it translating to Intercounty? Not even coming close to translating to Intercounty..
It is one of the most competitive for sure and is a great watch and the quality is decent, but it is a level below the top clubs and generally it is very unlikely that the winner will progress much further.
So while we have no club anywhere near the level of the likes of Ballygunner, we have a far better championship than the Waterford one.
Ah here lads, Tipp club championship is one of the best in the country, people will literally find any excuse to be giving out. No wonder our support levels at intercounty are so poor.
Can't see how there can be strong match quality in one sided games. They demonstrate to me a big gulf in class but each to their own
Match quality can still be strong even if there’s lopsided results.
Unfortunately not enough weekends to expand the championship,IF Tipp were to get to an all-ireland(no worries at the moment),then the divisional championships would have to be played midweek to try accommodate them
I'd agree with that, loads of good games, very few lopsided games. Next step would be could they extend the round robin phase, four team groups are very small, three games and your year could be done.
Just using one competition as an example,the limerick senior club hurling championship. How can you say the quality of this competition is good when only 2,maybe 3 teams at a stretch can realistically win it?
From seeing footage for about 15 matches and seeing many in person, the eye-test says they weren't great.
'Every competition had its own story to tell' means nothing. Every county can they that about every Championship to be fair.
There was a great buzz around the club championship,the county board have finally got the grading right for clubs so every competition had its own story to tell. What makes you think the quality wasn't great?
The poster Evolving Tipperary seems to have gone awol, they seemed to instigate alot of chat.
Limerick thread is pretty dead since the semi final loss to cork too. Premierview site is busy as always.
I think it shows the interest in Tipperary Hurling is at an extreme low, moreso than Boards (although that's a contributor).
County Team a mess - No sight of a glimmer of hope (as much as people like to pretend it) bar the Minors. Quality of County Championship itself probably not amazing. Comparing to the buzz around Clare and Limerick Hurling at the moment for example, it's disappointing.
Premierview is very good site for all the latest. Most of the other counties don't have a resource like that hence why their boards threads may be busier.
Very very slow posting on here in a very busy club season. Have people lost the grá with using boards when it comes to GAA?
Anyway well done Aherlow on the win yesterday