Looks like he's been busy deleting old tweets.
Rhys McClenaghan they said on today's pod.
They had the hurler of the year, an ABs legend and the best gymnast in the history of the island on the live show and they led with fecking Shels, and it’s not even the one Shels person people want to hear.
Biggest Irish sports story of the year, didn't ye hear?
Just listened to it there. It's a brilliant story, not sure it matters what order the guests were in? They're all very good guests, sounds like it was a great show.
Be snarky all you like but it's a massive story and achievement for a club that came back from rock bottom league status wise and almost lost their ground. Chuck in one of the nation's best ever players at the helm and there's very little bigger in 2024.
League of Ireland fans are rightly accused of being snobs at times but Irish people are just as bad punching down on the domestic competition from their Premier League or Celtic high horses (and I support a Premier League team). More Shels content, more promotion of the league, more rattling the begrudgers. Please and thank you.
Hold up, you can't use the word domestic anymore 😜
if you scroll up, you'll see my other post on it. Tucker Tim was the one being snarky about it where he criticised Branno. I was responding to him on the topic at the live gig. It was a joke.
I think Duff should win RTE manager of the year and I think it probably is the biggest Irish sport story if you classify the Olympics as several different stories intertwined.
You should really read stuff before going off on one.
I don't really understand sports lovers who don't universally like sports. I don't follow GAA particularly, but a GAA pod isn't going to anger me, like some on here seem to get put out by Rugby or LOI, I just skip the pod sometimes..
Hey all,
Sorry to interrupt the ongoing chats, but this is wrecking my head. This song popped up on my spotify Discover Weekly, and I know it's been used in a sting by Second Captains, but for the lift of me I cannot remember which one, can anyone remind me?
I cheated by Googling, I wouldn't have got it myself
Thank you!
Reminscent sometimes of the "GAA men" of old, the very mention of the existence of "other" sports would send them off into a rage
Lots of very bitter comments from that lot in the run-up to Euro 88 and Italia 90. The nation collectively told them where to stick that attitude.
At least those old GAA bigots were watching a native game. The LOI or bust crowd follow a foreign sport but are snobbish towards people watching a superior version of the sport played elsewhere
As a relatively new convert to LOI (last 2 1/2 seasons) it frustrates me that the narrative seems to be one or another. I am a big Chelsea fan and watch lots of PL on TV but I also love going to Tolka Park with my son a few times a season.
They are completely different experiences I reckon.
https://podcasts.apple.com/ie/podcast/cover/id1527561201?i=1000676223119
This must be what Mark Horgan has been working on for the last forever.
SC really pushed Where is George Gibney so it will be interesting to see if they also promote this, or if MH is now more of a semi-divorced member of the team. Branno seems to be a fairly permanent replacement.
Thanks for the info. I'm interested to find out what the new series is about
Justin Marshall was very good. I normally skip the rugby in the normal podcast, but Justin Marshall is always interesting to listen to.
I listened in the car today and enjoyed it. But still think I made a good choice leaving at half time.
Marshall is well used to performing to an audience and I think you kinda need guests that know the Showbiz side of the game for live performances.
O'Donnell spoke for a few minutes on his thesis regarding microbes in the gut. My friend who doesn't know SC burst out laughing and asked me "wtf have you brought me to!?". I couldn't argue, we left. Went to a comedy club. Great night was had.
No regrets.
"native game" "foreign sport"
Talk about completely missing the point 🙄
Every sport is a "foreign sport" in every country except the one it was invented in, but it seems that only certain GAA heads can't get over that. A ridiculously small minded mentality.
Yeah that was the point I was making…don’t worry about it
They mention after the George Gibney section on their website that another BBC co-production is on the way (they get the timeline wrong, saying spring 2024, there must have been delays). I would be surprised if they don't promote this as well, it's part of their production company.
I think Branno is on more than Mark ever would have been, but maybe I'm misremembering.
Anyone remember the last time Mark presented?
Always enjoyed when Mark presented but it's years ago at this stage I'd say. Used to be very quick with the one liners if Ken or Murph were waffling
Just listened to last week's podcast where Simon was talking about the Ireland team to play New Zealand. Christ the nonsense spouted about the Irish rugby team is OTT.
Talking about "feeling" the quality of the Irish team and saying Andrew Porter is one of our greatest athletes, FFS.
They really do get a disproportionate amount of high praise for a series of teams who, based on generational talent, have really underachieved massively at the world cup.
Thank baby Jesus the LoI season is over.
It's not
Dion Fanning says that if Liverpool stop scoring that would be bad for them.
Searing analysis
Always thought he was an excellent presenter and was maybe a bit wasted as *just * a producer.
He must have felt the same!
Drogheda Vs Bray on Saturday on Virgin. Relegation promotion play off baby.
Make sure you tune in and support your league, or better yet buy a ticket and attend a match 😎
Ken’s monologue on the Amsterdam fan violence (because that’s what it was) is a thing of beauty.