There’s also a dispute about why the station would go with this format. It makes sense for the shows to be pre-recorded. It probably takes them 20 minutes to record during the day instead of sitting around for two hours late at night.
It also makes sense that they might occasionally mention that if you like the music, there’s a stream on the app you’d enjoy. It doesn’t mean the whole show is an ad.
They’re trying something different. Good for them.
People here are so cynical wanting to see only the negatives in every change the station makes.
It's obvious that at least some of the shows will be voicetracked, as some of their presenters (e.g Ciara Revins) already have a full-time weekday job on other radio stations in the portfolio. I agr
What time is her show, on what station?
Deleted
Did it sound live, or recorded?
Red FM Lunchtime Monday to Friday
I would hope that people will listen in before deciding. I just thought it odd that a station whose owners say they are so cash starved that they can only survive through the good graces of the cash machine can hire in 14 extra hours of paid work for mostly established presenters, some of whom have weekday shows already like Barry Dunne. I guess we will know if there are shout outs/dedications etc. I hope this works btw it looks like a good idea, and if it can only work by VT well, fair enough.
Doubt that would interfere with doing a 2 hour night time show on a national station.
In fairness, I've no idea if Steve K pre records his Friday night 80s show. He very easily could be.
I'll continue listening to Friday night 80s, and will listen back to Claire Beck on Thursdays the next day, because 10pm to 12am is Tom Dunne on Newstalk Mon to Thu.
Did Bauer Media, the owners of Today FM, actually say that they are so cash starved that they can only survive through the Cash Machine? I am just curious because the Cash Machine is run across all the Bauer Media stations.
https://x.com/businessposthq/status/1847586088379924502
https://x.com/businessposthq/status/1842814549549805717
Shares took a 4% hit on the thoughts of the ball stopping the cash machine anyway
https://extra.ie/2024/10/17/news/irish-news/cash-machine-gambling-bill
"Bauer Media had lobbied the Government on the issue, warning such restrictions would place pressure on its funding model and imperil jobs in the sector"
(can I just say that it was easier to post/format/links and quotes 15 years ago here….)
I'm going to add a link to that post in the Go Loud Cash Machine thread.
Quilty is playing Mariah Carey and has launched Go Loud Xmas….
Switched it off once I heard Quilty. Is Foley on holidays?
Sick.
I had to turn it off, Mariah Carey tipped me over the edge.
Fairytale of New York was on earlier. 🫣
People giving out stink about Foley playing Christmas songs yesterday when it was Dara Quilty. Seen a few people being corrected on it and then they trot out the "this fella gets some holidays" line.
new jingles and liners
the news bulletins have a very terrible music bed too. there is no need for any music bed. it's not 1995.
coopers going to be Insufferable today isn’t he
Anytime I tune in Cooper is insufferable so won't be much of a change today
But it'll be funny to listen to.
He won't be able to contain himself.
I've no idea how Quilty is meant to get another show out of musicals after last night. He has a tiny pool to choose from and while it wasn't bad he is dramatically limited in what he can do. Unless his show will have a rotating theme?
Didn't hear it but the show is called TodayFM Soundtracks. Are they movie soundtracks or what?
That's Matt's content sorted for a few years.
An hour of every.single.show. kufuffing and pearl cluching about President Trumps gaff of the day.
JNLRs are out. Nothing on Today FM about them but I've culled the following from google. (And on the topic of JNLRs, why aren't the public allowed see them? What's so secret about me being able to see how, say, Tom Dunne compared to Ed Smith, or how the two lads on Nova in the morning compare to Ian Dempsey?)
Today FM‘s weekly reach of 973,000 is down from 988,000 last quarter, but represents a lift of 14,000 in the last year.
Ian Dempsey now commands the largest audience on Today FM with a listenership of 209,000. Meantime, Ray Foley wins the afternoons with an audience boost to 169,000, an increase of 14,000 since the last results. -
https://radiotoday.ie/2024/11/radio-industry-celebrates-latest-jnlr-listening-figures-for-q3-2024-with-3-4-million-listeners-tuning-in-daily/
Today FM
Listeners
Change
The Ian Dempsey Breakfast Show
−1,000
Dave Moore
−15,000
Louise Cantillon
−2,000
The Last Word
−4,000
https://www.independent.ie/entertainment/2fm-sheds-listeners-in-wake-of-line-up-overhaul-after-loss-of-key-presenters-latest-jnlr-figures-show/a434652744.html
Maybe Dave should start washing his legs?
And lastly, a fairly pointless station v station report from Coimisiun na Mean, who we actually pay taxpayers' money to for this sort of stuff:
11-057949-Feb '12 Press Release
Listening back to Claire Beck's first 90's show tonight. It's 100% recorded. So many beds from Steve K (who does the 80s show on Friday's). Some great tunes as you'd expect from Claire all the same.
Sounds like these new 10pm to 12pm shows are there to fill air (aka sell ads) and create recorded content for their online stations. A little bit depressing in a way.
I'm liking them so far with the caveat I've no idea how Quilty is meant to keep his show into a second week.
At least Ed used to (very) occasionally announce on 'Songs of Praise' that that particular one was pre-recorded. And the songs and links were so good, you didn't care.
But why would I choose to tune in to a pre-recorded radio show, with ads, when I have Spotify Premium? It even has a robo-DJ for occasional links! (Yeah, it's ****. But I have playlists.) Nah. Not for me.
what do you mean by this ?
I think they said there's not enough content/soundtracks to fill multiple shows.
I'd say Quilty will just do what Dec Pierce does. Gather a repository of 100 songs, play 50 of these each time