The bias and consensus on this panel is hilarious, not a counter point offered all morning no matter what the topic.
From 10-11 yes. I enjoy the panel stuff on a Sunday…usually
A nutter of course, but unfortunately there is now millions of people like this who genuinely believe the crap they read.
Jesus, yer man on the voxpop that thinks the FBI were the ones who stormed the White House…
Anton Savage on Newstalk from 10-12 is a great alternative. Well worth a listen
Michigan with a “t” and Chicago with an “r”. The national broadcaster no less.
Don't forget Alison o Connor
Who is this young woman on the panel who said she lives at home to save for a mortgage?
I think this is often the case. I'm generally very cynical about the whole mental health guru shtick, but I think Bressie is one of the more genuine ones (I think he's doing a PhD in the general area).
Good call Payther, said like a veteran poster here, excellent take up if events .
Oh for the love of God, the political 'pardy' journalist is on again…me head is fecking wrecked
I honestly think Brenda Power and Michael Harding live in the rte buildings.
The answer to that would most definitely be “yes”.
What a shower, do they actually believe some of the nonsense they come out with
Brenda Power on the panel again today. She’s on this show almost as much as some hosts are on their own shows on RTÉ.
Spoke over Carol Vorderman a fair bit, alright. Thought, maybe, she might have just been excited.
Yes, and particularly if you listened to his stand-in today and said "stop f***ing interrupting your guest!!"
Actually you are right.
He seems to have drunk at the fountain of youth.
Looking very well for his age.
Young? He's middle aged.
I heard parts of it. He gets so much u warranted grief from lads online. The guy is someone who’s had, serious, struggles with mental health, he’s as far from a “grifter” as you can get.
Was going to say, I could listen to Harding talk for hours.
Would you stop Michael Harding is a national treasure.
No half hour listening to him is wasted.
Did anyone actually listen to young Breslin today ?
https://www.rte.ie/radio/radio1/clips/22449263/
I honestly think guys like Bressie, and yer man Harding, are kept as backup options when they can't find a guest to fill a slot on Irish radio.
"Jez, we haven't got anyone to fill the 1115 to 1140 slot......give Bressie a ring".
They know he'll never say no.
Or yer man Harding will waffle for half an hour about nothing.
Good decision Sandy…….
Brendan off again.
Bressie on again.
Radio off again.
Brendan off again (great job if you can get it).
Bressie on again (keeping himself relevant cos mental health and all).
I think he's very good sometimes at the one-to-one stuff but his own 'politics' and/or interests (e.g. the whole self-appointed mental health guru stuff) inform his approach too much at times. I always found Marian more subjective and had a healthy dose of cynicism. Can you imagine Marian having the actor Robert Sheehan on (twice!) and lapping up some of his guff so easily?
Agreed. The panel moderating is excruciating sometimes, even though I still tune in. "In your opinion"…"that's your opinion". Yes, Brendan…I think that's the whole point of having the panel guests on!
Actually I forgot about Pat and yes I agree he's good.
I assume you mean Aine Lawlor? No thanks. Rachel English ? Good Grief!
No I don't think everything in Ireland is ****, I just don't limit myself to domestic radio and therefore can have an informed opinion.
You might need to broaden your horizons and take off the green jersey every so often.
Your previous post said “exceptionally good”; now it’s dialed back to “good”. My term “excessive praise” was aimed at the former comment.
For the record, I also think he’s a good interviewer. He does seem quite genuine and sincere when doing these, not for example hurriedly and nervously rushing through a prepared set of questions on cue cards without listening to the interviewee’s answers. He is however an awful moderator, almost falling over himself to constantly remind us that “x isn’t here to defend themselves”* - had you listened for more than 1 minute to tonight’s Callan’s Kicks you’d have heard not one but two references to these types of comments in a sketch about the show. The make-up of his panels also leave a lot to be desired as it has become an echo chamber of the same type of panelist almost all the time. Some of the panelists are almost semi-permanent at this stage. The main problem with his eponymously titled show is interviews only make up a small part of the 4 hours he’s on air for at the weekends, and the overall output suffers when it’s brought down by over-cautiousness and an at times non-representative panel. Returning to his interview skills, he would perhaps be better suited to a dedicated interview show, a “Brendan O’Connor meets ________” type show, be it pre-recorded or live; rather than something that tries to combine 1:1 interviews, a paper review, occasional cookery segments, desert island discs, book reviews, or whatever else is thrown into the mix on any one day. He has a real strength in this area and it is being under-utilised on a this type of format.
* I am fully aware of the reasons behind this, but O’Connor isn’t the only person hosting a live radio show on RTÉ, other hosts seem far more adept at handling potentially libellous comments than him.
You have very low standards or you don't really know how good an interviewer can and should be.
You won't find one on Irish radio anymore.