Was at the game , loughmore were so mobile whereas Clonmel looked so slow
barrett was poor this year from an outsider looking in , i have heard forde is gone as well if true i wouldn't blame cahill either
bonner and mccormick had some terrible injuries , i watched a good few tipp games on clubber this year , bonner looked good for lorha anytime i saw him
some story of a club, i was watching the cork co final on tv today but had the clubber on the laptop, in the second half loughmore looked sharp and fit , lots of hard running lots of off the ball running , kept clonmel to 3 or 4 points in the second half against a storm it was impressive looking , it certainly didnt look like a team that had celebrated hard last week after a county final win like john mcgrath had promised , but i have no doubt they did
County treble, won the junior A football also
Loughmore do the county double again, what a club they are!
Surprised, but both have struggled for fitness in the last few years and I suppose Cahill needs to look to the future.
Thoughts on McCormack retiring and Barrett being left out of the squad? Both still 31 Surprised to see it if I am being honest
Best of wishes to Bonner Maher, who has announced his retirement from inter-county. A true warrior for Tipp. Never gave less than 100%, unlucky with injuries in his last few seasons.
Thanks for all the good times, Bonner.
There was underage football trials held last week that were so shambolic that parents I know said they wouldn't be attending any more . A shame asa very good number attended. They badly need to get the simple basics right get more adults from the clubs to assist
Fundraiser here for underage football development. 20 euro each for tickets.
https://www.friendsoftipperaryfootball.com/product/underage-football-development-fundraiser/
I would 100% disagree with that, he has been a great servant to Tipperary and managed to juggle working at a high level in Dublin with playing for a rural country really well, in my opinion. I think he was travelling etc for a good while, great template on how to do both.
Yeah, as good as he was he was always a bit wishy washy in terms of commitment, we could never rely on him.
Doubt he'd be too enticed to come up and down to Fethard from Dublin over the winter for Tipp Football. Club is handy because it's 80% weekend stuff.
A fundraiser for Tipperary GAA was launched yesterday. Win a house in Cashel, Tipperary. Tickets are priced at €100 each and the draw will take place on March 17th 2025. The prize is a house worth €350,000 or a cash alternative of €300,000.
Tickets are available to buy from the link below or from your GAA club. If a ticket is purchased from a club, the club keeps €30 of the ticket price.
https://www.winahouse.ie/
I see Michael Quinlivin is back playing with Clonmel after a short absence.
Has he still something to offer the country seniors?
Great game between Nenagh and Loughmore and with Holycross slipping up against Lorrah ,out go Holycross. Drom now out of excuses as they were first to exit the championship , their three neighbours who stuck to the football have all progressed to knockout stages. Good games ahead
Great game between Clonouty and Kiladangan - 7 points up in injury time… that will hurt.
Some exiting start to the county senior championships. Plenty of big scorelines around.
The Greatest Show on Earth begins this weekend. Get on it. Weekend passes at the end:https://embed.futureticketing.ie/c/tipperary-gaa/?ftredirect=1
I don't see how Waterford could be considered to be ahead of us?
With regards to the Minors I think it is very much under selling it to simply say it put a 'gloss' on the year, it was a huge win and the belief and mental toughness that those young lads got from that night will stand them and Tipp well in the future. Minor and U21 success is of course no guarantee of senior success but is a good barometer - Limerick and Cork current teams are good examples. Look at the last great Minor team that Tipp produced and the success they went on to have at senior - Brendan Maher, Paudie Maher, Mickey Cahill, Seamie Callinan, Bonner Maher, Noel McGrath and a number of others all came off that same minor team. Tipp have now won two minor AI's in three years with two completely new teams, that is a fantastic spring board.
I think Tipp will be back into the swing of things next year. Ye don't be down for too long even with transitions of players. Munster be hard to call next year. Cork have to play Limerick and Clare away so they will have a big task to get out of Munster I feel.
Everyone thought there would be no stopping Limerick this year so who knows. Granted we have work to do.
Looking at Clare and Cork yesterday, what have we to do in order to get back to that level again? This years' c/chip has been the most evenly contested in a long time. Galway and Tipperary will feel they are a long way off the pace however. Limerick, Waterford, Clare and Cork are all ahead of us going into 2025 and KK should see a lot of retirements so I have my doubts about them. Can anyone see us jumping the pecking order next year? The minor did put a gloss on the season but u17 is no indicator of future Senior inter-county hurlers and I have a feeling the hype that went with it could do a lot more harm than good in the long term.
….
https://x.com/SportTG4/status/1807842631960952936
If carlsberg did montages.
Great to see our supporters so vocal the other night, we don't always bring great crowds but we can be v noisy like wexford in 2019 our supporters were v vocal and it definitely helps the team. The minors were like men possessed and were feeding off the crowd energy. Makes up for the shite we had to listen to in 2013 from the home support. Woodlock even mentioned it in the post match interview.
Unbelievable win, wow this game will be talked about for a long time anywhere there is hurling…..Wow!!!!!
I think parents\management must have felt so many emotions especially in last few minutes of full time. Unreal!!!
On what was a very disappointing year for the seniors, the result last night was a great lift for the whole county. An All Ireland of any shape should be celebrated, but to do it in the circumstances was exceptional. Pure grit, graft, determination and never giving up - particularly impressive when the opposition on the night are renowned for those qualities.
Hard to talk about the game without addressing the red cards. 1st was exceptionally harsh, by letter of the law yes, but I think most would agree yellow. 2nd one I did think was warranted. Had the ref applied the rules as strictly in the 2nd half, you could argue 2 Kilkenny players could have seen red also. Went against us on the night, would wonder if a more experienced intercounty ref would have made the same decisions.
Ref should not be the main talking point, as the performance the 13 players on the pitch produced was phenomenal. You thought at the end of the 2nd half they would tire and Kilkenny would make a burst to win it, then the same in extra time but the fitness levels they showed was remarkable. The blocking, hooking, digging the ball out of rucks was spectacular. Towards the end Kilkenny really resorted to a lot of long range efforts - partly due to inexperience (understandable) but also I think because they had little joy against the Tipp defence. Strange thing to say in a game where we conceded 3 goals, but overall the defence was on top. Cathal O Reilly curbed Mullen's influence a lot, and David Ryan was hardy throughout. Loved seeing Euan Murray dropping back helping the defence too great outlet for working the ball up the field.
Forwards deserve immense credit. Half forward line ran themselves into the ground, Ryan, O'Brien were running all night. Full forward line had a tough job to get on the ball given Kk's spare men. One noticeable difference early on was the accuracy of our forwards compared to Kk's. They took their scores much easier. Murray in particular scored some spectacular points in the 2nd half. Billy O Brien's winner was made all the more amazing considering he had a shot come back off the inside of the post earlier in ET, but the composure to score later on was exceptional.
A special word for James Woodlock, while many criticize his actions on the sideline, given how 2 major decisions went against Tipp I think it is a bit more understandable - and lets be honest probably was there to help drive the players on. 2 All Irelands in 3 years is some achievement. Our Minor Finals are becoming known for drama!
Wins in Nowlan Park are rare for Tipp hurling, so this one should be cherished. That team has been excellent all year and thoroughly deserving Champions. Hard luck to Kk, I've no doubt they've been working hard all year too and this must be hard to take. No talk of who might make it to Senior off this team etc. Lets just celebrate the win. Hon Tipp!
So Tipp manage to beat Offaly with 14 men with a last gasp goal to win the minor final in Nowlan Park couple years ago and win with 13 men v Kilkenny in Nowlan Park last night. Both games showed great fighting and spirit in the face of adversity.
Tipp v Kilkenny is a great rivalry. Some fans on both sides take it a little too far with the 'hatred' but most see it for what it is.
Before last nights match i make it 6 wins apiece in minor finals with Kilkenny having win the last two and Tipp's last win all the way back in 1976.
So Tipp now leading that rivalry 7-6 in finals, lead the roll of honour on 22.
A pretty good ending to the year for Tipperary hurling after enduring a taxing few months earlier on.
TBH our record recently has been good against Kilkenny, bet them in league in nowlan last year, wins in 16 and 19 senior all Irelands.