Yeah, as good as he was he was always a bit wishy washy in terms of commitment, we could never rely on him.
I would 100% disagree with that, he has been a great servant to Tipperary and managed to juggle working at a high level in Dublin with playing for a rural country really well, in my opinion. I think he was travelling etc for a good while, great template on how to do both.
Fundraiser here for underage football development. 20 euro each for tickets.
https://www.friendsoftipperaryfootball.com/product/underage-football-development-fundraiser/
There was underage football trials held last week that were so shambolic that parents I know said they wouldn't be attending any more . A shame asa very good number attended. They badly need to get the simple basics right get more adults from the clubs to assist
Best of wishes to Bonner Maher, who has announced his retirement from inter-county. A true warrior for Tipp. Never gave less than 100%, unlucky with injuries in his last few seasons.
Thanks for all the good times, Bonner.
Thoughts on McCormack retiring and Barrett being left out of the squad? Both still 31 Surprised to see it if I am being honest
Surprised, but both have struggled for fitness in the last few years and I suppose Cahill needs to look to the future.
Loughmore do the county double again, what a club they are!
County treble, won the junior A football also
some story of a club, i was watching the cork co final on tv today but had the clubber on the laptop, in the second half loughmore looked sharp and fit , lots of hard running lots of off the ball running , kept clonmel to 3 or 4 points in the second half against a storm it was impressive looking , it certainly didnt look like a team that had celebrated hard last week after a county final win like john mcgrath had promised , but i have no doubt they did
barrett was poor this year from an outsider looking in , i have heard forde is gone as well if true i wouldn't blame cahill either
bonner and mccormick had some terrible injuries , i watched a good few tipp games on clubber this year , bonner looked good for lorha anytime i saw him
Was at the game , loughmore were so mobile whereas Clonmel looked so slow
Very very slow posting on here in a very busy club season. Have people lost the grá with using boards when it comes to GAA?
Anyway well done Aherlow on the win yesterday
Premierview is very good site for all the latest. Most of the other counties don't have a resource like that hence why their boards threads may be busier.
I think it shows the interest in Tipperary Hurling is at an extreme low, moreso than Boards (although that's a contributor).
County Team a mess - No sight of a glimmer of hope (as much as people like to pretend it) bar the Minors. Quality of County Championship itself probably not amazing. Comparing to the buzz around Clare and Limerick Hurling at the moment for example, it's disappointing.
Limerick thread is pretty dead since the semi final loss to cork too. Premierview site is busy as always.
The poster Evolving Tipperary seems to have gone awol, they seemed to instigate alot of chat.
There was a great buzz around the club championship,the county board have finally got the grading right for clubs so every competition had its own story to tell. What makes you think the quality wasn't great?
From seeing footage for about 15 matches and seeing many in person, the eye-test says they weren't great.
'Every competition had its own story to tell' means nothing. Every county can they that about every Championship to be fair.
Just using one competition as an example,the limerick senior club hurling championship. How can you say the quality of this competition is good when only 2,maybe 3 teams at a stretch can realistically win it?
I'd agree with that, loads of good games, very few lopsided games. Next step would be could they extend the round robin phase, four team groups are very small, three games and your year could be done.
Unfortunately not enough weekends to expand the championship,IF Tipp were to get to an all-ireland(no worries at the moment),then the divisional championships would have to be played midweek to try accommodate them
Match quality can still be strong even if there’s lopsided results.
Can't see how there can be strong match quality in one sided games. They demonstrate to me a big gulf in class but each to their own
Ah here lads, Tipp club championship is one of the best in the country, people will literally find any excuse to be giving out. No wonder our support levels at intercounty are so poor.
It is one of the most competitive for sure and is a great watch and the quality is decent, but it is a level below the top clubs and generally it is very unlikely that the winner will progress much further.
So while we have no club anywhere near the level of the likes of Ballygunner, we have a far better championship than the Waterford one.
If it’s such high quality, why isn’t it translating to Intercounty? Not even coming close to translating to Intercounty..
100% Waterford championship is a joke. Loughmore will give Ballygunner a good rattle. Very hard for them to compete, basically a rural club with 400 people who play both hurling and football against a club with the pick of the city with 60,000 people.
Yep.
The "problem" in Tipp club hurling is there is a big spread of inter county players among the clubs so no club has a sufficient concentration of inter county talent to be competitive at the top level of the club championship.
You might very well have no player from this years county final start for Tipp next year.
We are getting a fairly stark reminder of where the quality of the Tipp championship is at here.
Loughmore are a good barometer as they "bring it" every day they go out. They have been destroyed here. 2nd half a non event