New thread for the League of Ireland.
Previous one is currently behind itself but may return another day. Old thread:
Mod edit: post removed and warning applied
Why not post match analysis of the red card?
Ran out of time. Already overran by 10 minutes I think. Was a definite gouge though
That was fun!!!
II didn't Notice the gouge initially, wanted to see it again.
tbh, as a rovers fan, worrying about being caught for europe by galway/sligo/pats is more on my mind than winning the title
Plus, do we really believe a loi linesman spotted an eye gouge? I doubt it.
I think he just seen hand to face.
Not a hope. Probably thought it was a slap
Scummy and incredibly dumb from Smith. That's at least a 3 match ban so he'll be missing most of the rest of Shels run-in.
Really need Derry to beat Bohs on Friday otherwise any chance of Europe depends on continuing our win streak.
He’ll get more than 3 for that
Indeed it was ! Thought we were comfortable at 2-0, and could have had a third. Mulraney desperately unlucky with the effort ff the post. Two fabulous finishes from Shels in fairness, and the we go and get a winner. Great stuff. Just on the free kick decision before the goal, it arguably was, though I thought Martin had a grip of Bolgers shirt first. But even allowing for that, it’s not like it was a fee on the edge of Shels box. We still had to go down the other end and score, a lot of play between one event and the other.
Is it slipping away from Shels ? Lose in Tallaght on Sunday and it really will be squeaky bum time (as some old Scots git used to say 😄
No idea how McGrath goes from making a howler to decide the big RTE televised title decider game, to getting the next one.
I think Barrett is suspended for Sunday, and Bone and Griffin possibly injured now, so with no fit CBs available, it may be time to acknowledge that it won’t be our year.
Pats look a serious side in fairness. Recruit wisely and they’ll win the league next year
We all want Derry to beat Bohs. Keeps Europe alive for the rest of us. Although we're obviously focusing on our title charge now after Agent Kazeems winner.
Pats vs Galway on the 18th a surprise title decider????
At 2-0, we looked cooked, should of been down by more, but to get back into it , have pats on the ropes and the ref completely kill that momentum was just a killer.
https://x.com/aaron__roe/status/1840851063538057371?s=46
Absolute dogsh*t call.
We were struggling as it was in the league, just couldn’t afford such a damaging decision like that. Felt it’s been slowly slipping away and as you say it’s kind of looking gone now.
Sick to lose in that way Damien McGrath screwed us at that crucial moment but our performance was inconsistent tonight conceding two dumb goals with a dumb sending off and for most of the game Pats outfought us
Likely injuries, suspensions is a spanner in the works we do not need after tonight, Duff has to commit now to a certain starting XI for the final 4 games too much rotation and not knowing his best team especially upfront is hurting us, Wood and Burt just cannot start another game this season
If we lose to Rovers on Sunday we'll probably won't recover from it so it's our last chance to realistically regain momentum with a win or minimum a draw, if we lose to Rovers it would then become a coin toss between Derry and Rovers, Galway (3 wins/1 draw) Pats/Sligo (4 wins) would be the results those teams would need in their final 4 games and hope multiple other results go their way which is a stretch but it's not impossible
Stranger things have happened. Our lads have the winning mentality from last season, they know how to get it done. The Pats game is the one I fear most for obvious reasons but if we got 3 wins in the others then a draw with ye might be ok. Who knows, it's all speculation. Maybe Shels will find form from nowhere and hang on. Maybe Derry will become constipated and stop sh1tting the bed. Great few weeks ahead no matter what.
Why was the away allocation reduced? At a time when the league is hopping it seems counter productive. The whole place was packed last night and looking at sections cordoned off is infuriating, especially when the original Pats allocation sold out in minutes. I was in the Richmond Road stand myself, I go to Tolka with a Shels mate rather than with the away crowd. Some game though and what a run from Pats, not lost a league game in 2 months now.
Resolved
Gardai/Fire brigade will only allow a maximum number in Tolka due to access issues I believe. Shels have repurposed some of the prior away allocation from the Ballybough end to add extra capacity to the Riverside I think.
The Riverside Stand was only packed in the covered seated area, while the new improved terracing on either side were mainly empty. Shels are attracting over 4,000+ on average including away fans. Most are wondering why they can't get their average over the 5,000 mark now?
With the added improvements to Tolka in regards to seating, terracing and other facilities, plus the team challenging for the league while it looks well on TV and has a great atmosphere.
Is the overall run-down aspect of the Tolka Park venue the main reason fans stay away from their games!
The capacity now is nearer 6,000. Maybe re-opening the Drumcondra stand again with seating could help!
Any Shels fans able to offer their views.
I’m sure the club will be looking to improve what we’re allowed have in and it’s hard to know if the guards will allow the full riverside be used, while also having that side of the Ballybough end being used.
The capacity is not 6k or anything like it.
The away allocation is 10% I think, which is standard across the league, Shels had it higher for a while because the home crowd wasn't there. It is now, so the allocation for away fans is now set at 10%
For those having a little knicker wetting about it, what sort of allocation of capacity does your club give to away fans? If it's not more than 10% then what are you complaining about?
I think it was more to do with empty parts of the stadium last night (or a stand that is closed)
The "new stand" is closed due to not meeting fire regs, the cost of remedies required are in excess of €1m .
htf did that get signed off??????????
The question is still a valid one, but just note that in spite of the name New Stand, that’ll have been 25 years ago.
🤣🤣 oh ffs, i have been in Tolka several times since that stand has been "opened"
I thought that "new stand" was a replacement to that old one.
Sweet Jesus