How are they still getting away with this for so long in this day and age, its pure gambling. They must be making a fortune from this as its going nearly a year. Its putting me off the GoLoud stations with he constant plugging of it.
I remember a lad in Cork getting the amount wrong for 100k.You would be so gutted
no winner again today. Four frustrated people with missed calls this week
I thought the same. You wouldn’t be well if you lost out on such fine margins.
Radio stations often ring from private numbers so they possibly don’t know they missed the call. I’d rather not know to be honest.
Presumably having to answer the phone within 5 rings and know the exact figure is their get out of jail loophole around gambling laws so that they can say skill is required,
I can't believe this is still going, they must be making some money from it.
Its been going a while now - does anyone know of anyone who won it or had a missed call from them?
With the recent acquisition of the south-east youth station Beat 102 103 and its finalisation earlier this month, the GoLoud Cash Machine is now on: Today FM, Newstalk, 98FM, Spin1038, Spin SW, Red FM, iRadio and Beat 102 103. This means that all the commercial youth-specific stations (the last 5 above) are now under the Bauer Media umbrella. There are other stations of course that somewhat overlap with their audiences, such as FM104, but they do not have the same specific licenses. 98FM has indeed overlapping audiences, but it is a Bauer Media owned station with the Cash Machine! It is usually 98FM's Barry Dunne that makes the call. The two stations that stand out the most are Today FM and Newstalk, with considerably different target audiences, but even Today FM does overlap somewhat in terms of its daytime music based shows. Today FM is most at odds with the music-driven Bauer stations with its talk-based shows (especially The Last Word) and its nighttime music shows. The biggest outlier of all is Newstalk, which has a very different target audience from the rest of the stations, apart from some overlap with Today FM.
I'm not one to call for additional regulation but I would think we'd benefit from something around text in competitions like this. I think it would be a good idea to have it so that these can't be run in perpetuity. After 6 months or so they need a 3 month break or something
Bauer have been running this competition under slightly different names on all of their radio portfolios around Europe for years, over in the UK it's called the "Cash Register" and it's been running since 2016 for example.
What is it this week?
which must be won, like the one two weeks ago which wasnt….
Ya they'll keep ringing until someone answers. Why someone would enter and not make sure they're phone isnt on them at 3pm is beyond me.😂
I had a missed call around 3.30 back in september last year. It could be them or not, I only found out about that 2 months after when I was checking settings on a phone. I had automatic rejection of private and unknown calls because of some scam calls.
you can relax they ring about 3.10.
Back to 10 grand today so we will have a few missed calls soon no doubt
I would love to see the numbers for this, I would say only 50% is giving out in prize money.
Anyone enter the Newstalk Cash machine draw on the week beginning Monday 16th Sep 2024? I did after hearing the ammount on the Pat Kenny show.
the moent i heard on spin friday am that it wasnt a guaranteed winner i strongly suspected there would be a missed call and we'd be looking at 200k this week, and lo it has occoured. At least it is guaranteed this time….
I would imagine there’s always a strong chance of getting unanswered calls for a cash machine that lasts a week. So many people will forget they entered or if it’s a number they don’t recognise (I’d guess they use a private number so people aren’t ringing back) then they probably wouldn’t answer either if they didn’t remember it was the day of the draw
I know somebody who won it, yes. He won a serious amount of cash too earlier in the year; it was close to six figures.
I wonder after how many years of the cash machine would it take for everyone in Ireland to know a person who knows a person that has won?
If they had say 200 winners a year, that's 3000 over 15 years. If there was exactly five mil people in Ireland, that means one in every 1666 persons in Ireland would be a winner in the next fifteen years. The population of course won't be the same and people will be born, die, emigrate, etc. but that's still a fair chance of knowing someone won between 2024-2029, and then you can add in the few hundred who have won since it started too.
you have way too much time on your hands! 😀
Girl I used to work with won €150k a few weeks ago
Remember "Mooneys Money " on Derek Mooney's afternoon show back in the day ? Back around 2006, I had a spare payg Sim card that had 80€ free credit on it that came with a phone i had unlocked, anyway one day I entered Mooneys Money 80 times and was sure I'd win but I didn't so after that I never tried such a competition again.
indeed, Mooney's Money should be brought to Joe Duffy's attention when he starts having a go at the cash machine.
Must be some risk to revenue stream if they're meeting a Minister about it.
If it looks, smells and acts like a lottery/gambling method then it should be treated the same.
https://www.businesspost.ie/news/newstalk-owner-bauer-fears-gambling-bill-will-damage-its-cash-machine-competition-revenues/
And if RTÉ1 pauses the children's movie on Saturday evenings at 8pm to show the Lotto draw it should be seen as a great bit of craic 🤔
Easy amount to remember, €100k on the button.
https://www.instagram.com/reel/DA_XZZQhQ_V/?igsh=ZXA1MDE4OGUybXJr
"Bauer fears the loss of revenue from listener competitions would put pressure on broadcasters’ funding, which could lead to a loss of jobs for the sector." Mad concept, why don't Bauer go back to doing RADIO! Also, when under pressure roll out the 'loss of jobs' line.