It looks very bland and echoey, definitely school vibes inside too.
I know. That tiny kennel made me sad.
You're right it does look like a school from the outside!
The house wouldnt be for me - abit too modern for my taste. I could see this house working well though for a disabled person - wide open areas would make it easy to get around in a wheelchair.
I think it's a nice house, but I'd agree it's too big for your average family. You'd need staff just to keep it clean. The dog got a poor deal alright.
A weird one - the gate lodge of Kilkea Castle. All traffic in and out of the castle going past it and the golf course out the back. No mention of title, does anyone know if it could be freehold?
I've seen/worked on plenty of these. The most common factors I've encountered is that the designs have been done by the owner and/or engineer only. No architect involved that would have an insight on things like proportions & flow of a house. It's incredibly evident when I get the plans more often than not - make it bigger is the name of the game.
I'm pretty sure this was for sale a while ago as well. House prices in that area are nuts and there are some lovely houses around there but there's nothing other than a national school for miles - no shops or pubs - you are halfway between Castledermot and Athy.
Pic 2 - the guy would not be much use in a game of hide and seek.
https://www.daft.ie/for-sale/apartment-51-thornfield-square-clondalkin-dublin-22/5543482
jaysus, they have the christmas tree up early.
Its a depressing cluttered mess , how are young people meant to get on the property lad and when they try to save this is thge extent that some will be able to afford ( if they're lucky)
The apartment is fine, as these things go - but I agree it's cluttered. All that should disappear with the current resident though.
That apartment in Clondalkin has no toilet seat. How they take a dump is beyond me.
edit: In both toilets too.
Not at all what I was expecting based on the exterior - I like it!
Pity about the traffic though, that would most likely be a dealbreaker.
That is no way to present a property for sale.
And a loo with no toilet seat?!?
Rent is 1850.00 per month thru HAP
Yeah…the current resident is not going to be disappearing (unless you count whatever that is they're trying to do in picture 2… 😆). I do like how the estate agent "forgot" to mention the whole tenant-in-situ thing outright, though.
That motorway house was in lovely nick in 2009. Sad to see the state of it now and practically unsellable, given its location.
Just saw an ad on E4 for "Grand Designs - 25 years Anniversary" next wednesday at 9pm.
Worth a watch.
https://www.malverngazette.co.uk/news/24560200.grand-designs-returns---new-series-anniversary-special/
‘you are halfway between Castledermot and Athy.’ Now that is a grim sentence…
Looks like a hotel on the outside. Some gaff!
https://www.propertypal.com/clocgarran-hall-43-killowen-old-road-rostrevor-newry/962891/photo-48
Here it is, as it was in 2009. Looks like it was just a little country lane back then…
> GO NORTH
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.
Where are the sockets for the lamps? 😂
It is a lovely house though. Could do with a few pops of colour.
Love the master bathroom.
happened a lad i know - got what he thought was a good design for a house and approached a few builders to get quotes etc.
lots of 'would you not make it bigger?' - a 'you can go 50% larger for 20% more cost now, do it now while it's cheap'; from family too, as well as the builders.
https://www.rightmove.co.uk/properties/152043767#/media?channel=RES_BUY&id=media2&ref=photoCollage
Any Disney fans here?
Good lord!!!!
I would not want to live in a Disney inspired house, but if that's what they like then go for it. Its great to see someone having the confidence to do what they want rather than being worried about what is 'in'. And there is nothing that can't be remedied by the person leaving with all their stuff, and a coat of paint throughout.
I'm not a Disney fan but the photos of that house made me smile. Fair play, when they did it, they didn't hold back. 😁 Nothing that couldn't be remedied, I think.
A great find for the purpose of the thread!
I could never live in a house like that. But at the same time I'd feel bad about painting over it. So much effort went into it.
Might have looked good on a drawing but I can't warm to the design. ( Never mind the price! )
All those big house around the country are very common. New money types, flaunting it, so vulgar.