Basically they wanted to go and play senior hurling with Clonea. Waterford County Board wouldn't allow it on the back of a new club after being set up in their area for hurling that takes in the catchment of their 2 clubs and County said they have to join there. Probably only a junior club.
They obviously then had a few contacts or someone approached them from Glenmore and a few properties were found and Croke Park signed off on the inter County transfer.
I can appreciate the players position in wanting to play at the highest level to their ability and also the county boards side of it in trying to promote and support and new local club in a football dominated area
That's kind of my point, no?
you would want blood hounds to find them chaps in Glenmore.
well it wasn’t initially inter county until they were refused by Waterford County board.
Waterford seems to be a bit of a free for all to be honest with a lot of freedom for players to move around to bigger and stronger clubs at will. From my understanding (if I'm wrong someone might correct me) a fair share of the current Ballygunner team are not strictly from the parish and come from a neighbouring parish called Gaulteer, a mainly footballing club who contribute hurlers to Ballygunner and Passage and from what I know some of these players would be inter county level. Gaulteer would seem to have enough hurlers to field a decent senior hurling team in Waterford but……………..
Not sure why these 2 lads were stopped hurling in Waterford but it seems a poor structure regarding transfers between clubs and could definitekly do with a parish rule but it would need to apply to everyone and I don't think the bigger clubs would allow it to go through
You do. But it's the ease with which this can be "arranged" is the problem with a lot of these transfers.
I believe they were very fortunate to get an apartment over or at a local public house.
Dont know any of the circumstances or clubs or people involved in that transfer but do you not need to have address in Glenmore in order to play with them?
Would this not have been a Croke Park transfer seeing as it was inter county. Don't think the county board would have had any say in it.
Ah sorry
Anyway what about the two Waterford guys, yet another county board messed up. I assumed on Sunday that the chap of the Kirwans was big Franks other son, he scored a nice point and if the two of them get to gel with the rest of the Glenmore team they will be a serious addition.
jaysus calm down, your only waiting for someone to make a mistake. I just took the man at his word about the 14 out of 15. You must have **** all to do, all you had to say was sorry I think you got it wrong there buddy. It must be a big high stable to keep that horse of yours in?
Good God.
Please read what he claimed and what I replied to.
Finals involving Kilkenny. We havent lost 14 of the last 15 finals we have played in even if one chooses to lump in Leagues, Clubs, School or even Rounders. I'm out.
I think the point was one of the last three played in, not one of the last three overall
thank god that’s over, I think I got away with that one.
Just for clarity last 3 league winners are Waterford, Limerick and Clare. Your last outright league win was 2018.
Now that I have your attention!
Touchy …. 🤷♂️
If you post something like that, and it appears to be incorrect , posters are obviously going to question it !!
But you accepted it blindly and repeated it here.
Jesus Christ is this a **** inquisition or what? I was just told that.
We've won 3/5 last senior club finals, 6/7 Intermediate amd 6/7 Junior.
And have won 1 of last 3 National League finals and another split with Galway.
club, league’s
Maybe their including national league finals?
4 seniors, 4 minors and a loss in U21, with one win in U20.
How do you get 14 final losses?
Giving out about it on boards.ie multiple times every day does absolutely nothing that’s for sure.
A revolution is needed. Who will we put in command?
Yes…. Very busy….
Well, Someone mentioned county board members that are 'untouchable' and/or un movable …… Limping along is dead right …..
We have a very busy children's officer 🙄
Update.
Some senior clubs used veo/cameras to record games over last weekend.
It appears that the paragraph below the 'National Childrens Officer' was added by the County Childrens Officer ..
Who takes precedence ?
Croke Parks guidelines, or a County board members opinion ?
ad infinitum ……. 🤷♂️