Feels like the right time to start a new thread for next year's gigs.
John Mayer playing the 3Arena on 29 March 2024.
Lovely Mucker. Will be more packed for James, not quite sold out tonight so perfect, no real queues for anything, up the front no bother but a lovely space, stage and sound fantastic. Rye River on alcohol duty. I was on the IPA which was grand. 3 yoyo deposit on your plastic glass first pint, you get that back at the end if your tge type of chap who wants to hang around for 45 minutes at the end of the gig to collect a 3 euro deposit. Sneaky feckers.
Would have gone if about. Bonnie Prince Billy my treat in Galway - superb.
Nice, sounds like a good set up. I'm going tomorrow for, well, Sprints 😋
Get yourself up the front for that, EN. Enjoy.
Bonnie Prince Billy was excellent last night. The sound mix was one of the best I've heard at Roisin's.
Looking forward to seeing him in Whelans tomorrow.
Soda Blonde for Vicar Street
Indeed. And it's not often that a miniature dog 5000km away is the star of the show.😉
This is the support band who also play with him for 2/3 of his set. Their album released on Friday. Worth going in early. They’ve also got Sam Amidon with them, American musician who’s recorded with Tune-Yards, Bon Iver, The National and others and who is also Mr. Beth Orton. The five musicians on stage with BPB for most of the show were excellent.
Having just had a quick look at the Fugees gig in just over a month in the 3Arena, it looks woefully undersold and a bit of a disaster (which might be unsurprising given how unreliable Lauryn Hill is).
At the very best, the back section will be taped off. At worst it might be cancelled (for a multitude of reasons from bad ticket sales to general cancellation a lá the US leg).
Yea I can see the tour be axed like the US tour
that and the pogues 3 arena shows likely to be cancelled I say
Pogues gig still a good 3.5 months away. Still time to shift more tickets. Was only announced a few weeks ago
A pity re the Pogues (Red Roses For Me tribute) but over-ambitious given the venue in London was Hackney Empire is 1,250. Do you know if it'll be switched to a couple of nights at Vicar St or somesuch?
Doesn't help that it's Xmas when most dates are already booked up. The 3Arena gig would have been class because they'd have had the odd member from the Fontaines, Lankum, Bad Seeds and others. Hope it happens somewhere.
if a medium to big show doesn’t sell 30-40% of tickets by lunch time of general sale day it’s D.O.A. Little to no chance of getting it anywhere near breakeven even with a 3 month timeline. If the interest and eagerness of people isn’t there in first week it’s not going to magically appear after.
A certain Christmas song will get the hype up
Maybe they'll do some ballax for the Late Late Toy Show etc
In this instance word of mouth and advertising may have helped, getting people aware of who was involved. What you say makes complete sense though, and they've clearly over-reached. Try it first in a smaller venue then do a bigger show later if the demand is there. But again, as you said, it's probably DOA.
Why hasn't it been cancelled already so?
Saw "A Lazarus Soul" in Coughlan's Friday night. Tiny venue and we all nearly passed out with the heat, but everyone into it, and a great night's entertainment. Menopausal women shouting from the back and everything :) Joe Chester can play!
Yeah, I'd say they're cut out for the small venues, plenty of craic about them. The only time I'd seen them before was in the big tent at ATN, must try to catch them in a smaller room. I see they were in Cleere's in Kilkenny. That sort of spot would be lovely.
For anyone in or near Galway there are half-price resale tickets on Ticketmaster for the Pixies tomorrow night (€30 plus €7 fees as opposed to the full-whack of €67). I already have the full ticket but it's the way to go for larger gigs I reckon if you're willing to take a chance. I saved myself €25 by getting a late Waterboys ticket for the airport last week.
Nas at the Olympia in November at €96 minimum is prohibitive but I'll be checking online in the days beforehand. I'm not the only one here who's doing this for gigs going by recent posts and it'll not stop the price-gouging, but it should mean we get affordable tickets for some events.
OASIS.....that is all
Look on the bright side, at least the parking people didn't add booking, admin and carpark restoration fees on top of the £12
Yes the boys are back, I actually thought there would be a lot more 'noise' in here this morning over this, but surprisingly nothing. Delighted to see it finally happening, and I will be doing my best to get my hands on those elusive tickets on Saturday morning. However I wonder what the chances are of them adding more gigs, as I can imagine that both dates in Croker will sell out straight away.
There's an entire thread on it.
It's being discussed in both the Oasis thread and the 2025 gigs thread since it is an Oasis gig in 2025.......
We might need this, so leaving it here
Saw Interpol are playing 3 arena on 10 November, think.its a newly announced gig. Either very brave or completely dumb to announce today, if that was the case
Has been announced for a few months
Must have been.support announcement so