It’s RTE dude, nobody corrects anything , you could have the traffic reports mispronouncing place names for weeks on end and nobody corrects them.
Moan eee vay are you listening, Fizzboro….are you listening…Nooze….are you listening.
It was a total cop out in real time. I'd reckon McGarry or the producers were gesturing at Ballsy and he just ceased. Yer man was glad to escape the studio I'd say. It was a disgrace coming from a journalist who claimed he'd been hugely critical in his career of the church and how it handled abusing priests. But he was happy to give Casey a sort of free pass. Ballsy had him by the short & curlies and then let him off.
I think it's a contractor thing - They're above direction, control, repercussions - The most a producer can do is guide them live on-air (via earpiece) to 'pull him up there on that' - 'put a disclaimer in now Brendan' etc
Think about D'Arcy and his button cockup's - An RTE employee would have to fill in reports on mistakes made, be reprimanded etc but Ray could fry a €70k desk and say 'Oops, didn't think that would happen, see tomorrow guys'
Or Joe Duffy - "A number of people have contacted us to talk about Rose Dugdale for 3 days" - followed by 3 days of boring sh!t that nobody is remotely interested in - No producer has the balls to say 'Hey Joe, nobody contacted us about Rose Dugdale, what are you talking about?, we're not doing that right'
It's always the Kelly crew - They've destroyed RTE
Are you implying that The Joe Duffy show, is not in fact a listener directed show. Big if true.
O'Connor reminded us all today how we ALL have commercial property investments in our pension funds.
Obviously the one third of people who don't have any pension at all aren't wanted as listeners.
The Civil Service and Unwaged who rely on the government to take in enough taxes to pay their pensions.
Bit of a leap there, Andrew.
Did he just forget that not everyone has a pension?
Nope, Civil Servants aren't included in the one-third with no pensions group.
Who are the "no pensions group" ?
Generally, the low paid workers - people Brendan assumes aren't listening to his show.
https://www.cso.ie/en/statistics/housingandhouseholds/pensioncoverage/
I see that those figures leave out people on the State Pension.
I know quite a few living living contentedly on the State Pension.
Some of them listen to the radio too.
They leave out people on the state pension because they're measuring people with occupational pensions.
You might want to remind Brendan so that not ALL of his listeners have commercial property in their pension portfolios.
But they still have pensions which in the case of the contributory pension they paid into.
I think you underestimate the intelligence of pensioners.
They know there are people better off than them. In fact no matter who you are there's always someone better off than you.
Ballsy would have a good rapport with the property lads, one might opine.
The contributory OAP is set at bare subsistence level, and assumes that people aren't paying out rent or lifetime mortgages. It's not going to provide any vaguely comfortable lifestyle.
But that's all a diversion anyway - my main point was about O'Connor's assumption that 'we all have commercial property in our pension portfolios. We don't.
Have you sent a formal complaint to RTE?
Given that complaints to RTE usually are ignored, I doubt if the lad did.
Not on this occasion, as it's a fairly pointless exercise, based on past experiences.
Heard a little bit of Brian D'Arcy on with BOC.
He said something about asking God for 62yrs for something, and after 62 yrs it never materialised. He said obviously god didn't want to make it happen, or words to that effect.
Did he never ask himself, "maybe God doesn't exist?".
Great anti-religious piece today.
Hearing about these orders and the evil they covered up, and then hear how they have no intention of paying up, would make you sick.
A quarter of those abused were in special needs school. Some sick and evil bastards around.
And just learned that some of these orders are getting hundreds of millions from the taxpayer, yet arent helping identify perpetrators. What a country.
Not being held to account because that is how the whole establishment operates. A hard listen.
This is some level of waffle.
He's talking a lot but not saying much.
There's something in what he's talking about, but it's so hidden within all the pretentious guff, that it's just painful to listen to…but hilarious. He's just got lost up his own arse.
He's always come across as pretentious, even in his pre-enlightened days. BOC loves it though.
It's a wonder Brendan didn't didn't warn people to cover their childrens ears before he said bollix and arsehole.
Lookit, Ballsy is part of an organisation which is famous for lack of information, as we all know.
You see , all this ‘calling for action’ is all bulldust , until some of these gimps are sent to the ‘big house’ nothing will change.
Everyone wants clarity and openness from organisations, but not their own.
That’s how it rolls bro….
I was surprised at Patsy McGary throwing doubt at the Casey accusers, BOC wasn't long about shutting that down & calling a halt to the interview
Deleted
Done
The Greens are dead.
Nice from Ballsy.