That is some going. I make it that you have somewhere around 45k profit a year. Very good. Its hard going tho.
I wouldn't be near that. But I'm a lot lower stocked than you.
Currently finish about 30 cattle a year. Hoping to get up towards 50 in next few years.
No not in that region from the farming side. However when I add in the farm house that was done up and rented it would be there or there abouts.
Ya was thinking they were Hex / AA. Not a hope of finishing Contenintal cattle even in summer into decent weights without the guts of 1/2 ton meal / head
I based my calculation as follows;
60 cattle at 1,000 gross profit is 60,000.
60 cattle at 450 of expenses is 27,000.
60,000 less 27,000 is 33,000. Add in the grants of 12,000 gives 45,000.
Am I missing something? Of course when it comes to the taxable profit, the likes of phone, light and heat, motor etc are included to keep tax down. But the actual farm related profit is 45,000 based non the figures you have given here?
I said the target was 1k not at it yet. But ya if I get to that even if the costs increased by 30-50 you would be near/ at them figures
Back to actual prices, any word on next week yet? Bullocks were 5.00 base this week apparently. I only got 4.90 2 weeks ago so good to see a rise this week.
Must have been a load... I got 4.95
500+20c for hereford heifers base on the grid this week
Any prices this week?
I'm getting 4.95 base for a few bullocks this Thursday. I got 4.90 for the last few I sent a few weeks back, so I'm happy with this.
I put up our mart sales dockets a few weeks ago, above is the sheet from 15/08/2024 for 15 number of the same batch of bullocks sent to the factory - 1st, 3rd & 6th were overage by a day or two
Nhg Just out of interest, why didn't you factory them all? Where did you get on better?
I weighted a nice bullock, LMx 670kg. Suckler. Nice and warm but he wasn’t fed and would take a lot of flesh if one wanted. 28 months.
I sold him 5 days later. Weighted 650 in mart. 1990. That above factory?
It would be better by 50-100 euro
The mart suits us better but restricted currently due to contiguous testing
was thinking that. Is that assuming he made an R grade which I think he would?
ya assuming he made an R grade. that is even hanging him at 55% of mart weight at a base of 4.95 and he is still 100 ahead
I have 4 bullocks booked into factory for Thursday. I weighted them last night. Weights were
HEX - 656 KG (Soon over 30 months)
SIX - 624 KG
LMX - 608 KG
AAX - 540 KG (Small but getting fat)
The 2 middle ones aren't fully ready but I always sent 4 together.
There is a new arrival coming into the family in the next couple of weeks so farming will take a back seat for a while, so that is another reason why the middle 2 are going to factory slightly under done.
I weighted all the cattle. I have 2 SIX's, 28 months, weighting 754 KG and 738 KG. 2 big lads, one of whom is very wild. I wont be weighting him again. They should hit 400 KG dead weight in 6 weeks time.
Fair play @KAMG great weights, you’re doing something right!
Are they all bucket reared? You start to get into money when you get to a 400kg carcass, you’ll be above €2k no matter what they grade, it’s a good turn if they’re bucket reared.
prices are up this week. Had an agent on the phone offering 5.10 for bullocks for killing this week.
U would love to tell the agents to **** of u never hear tell of them unless there stuck
I bought these SIX bullocks privately as 2 year olds back in April for €1,300. The 2 bigger ones were about 600 KG and the 2 smaller ones were 450 KG. They were bought by the previous owner as 4 month olds for about €450.
Thats what i call making money from cattle, short time span, less stock per acre and in your case no wintering/hardship. The thing is to be able to identify value.
heard of 5:50 flat for good continental bullocks any age and have to be heavy factories under serious pressure lovely to see
I was talking to my agent a few weeks ago and usually we would be discussing about the cattle price dropping as usual this time of the year but he said back then that he thought they would rise rather than drop.
Why are cattle so scarce is it that they are late finishing because of the late spring or are more people finishing them at 20 months?
There was poor growth this year too
Too many cattle grading poorly with low carcass weights
It's a combination of factor's like other lads have said the jex breeding really showing up now but I don't think cattle are as scarce as people talk about were still approx 31000 per week which is a good kill not much different to last summer per week lits the fact that their is very good demand and the avg carcase weight is low
This has a lot to do with it....look in the lairages....a lot of shite being killed...more meat on chickens
This is why the heavy bulls are still in demand.