A quick search shows that in the past 30 days, they've played:
Mr Blue Sky = 12 times
Handbags and Gladrags = 14 times
Teenage Dirtbag = 15 times
Under The Bridge = 13 times
Little Lion Man = 15 times
The Great Defector = 16 times
Search any of their "regulars" and you find they've been played an average of 12-15 times in a month - it all adds up to monotonous, even if the songs themselves are grand. They have the whole back catalogue of generations of popular music to choose from to ensure widespread appeal, but in the last couple of years, they have increasingly chosen this playlist nonsense. It's tiresome and disappointing.
There is a fundamental misunderstanding here of commercial radio in a small city, combined with a huge amount of ego-stroking by lads who are, for some reason, desperate for their anonymous username to be seen as cool by other anonymous usernames.
Nova is successful because they don't play obscure tracks from semi-obscure bands. That isn't what a mass market station is about.
Always amuses me when people moan that they play the same music all day every day, and in the same breath claim never to listen. One half of that must be an outright lie, I just can't for the life of me understand why you would bother.
I saw Alice in Chains with Metallica when I was about 15. They were brilliant.
Job Has nova on past year or so,while nirvana are on, just the one song.. never heard stp or alice in chains, plush and interstate love song are radio friendly tracks
I misinterpreted your statement about the permanent license, as in they no longer have a permanent license. Sorry about that. Given the experience of Phantom/TXFM and the ways that 8Radio's potential audience listen to music these days, I would say the chance of it even looking at the possibility of a permanent license are sadly close to non-existent at this stage. Simon Maher's setup seems to be working okay as it stands with its music related sponsorships. 8Radio.com does look for voluntary donations which hopefully is helping too.
Radio Nova is by no means perfect, particularly with the predictable and somewhat repetitive nature of its daytime playlist, but it certainly beats the chart-oriented music on most music stations (certainly in or around Dublin) during the day. There is definitely room for a bit more imagination in the music selection - for example: expanding the selection of songs played by certain artistes.
I reckon moving PJ and Jim to Nova a few years ago was a big winner for the station. Seems to have worked a treat.
A 6 sided dice has more diversity than Nova. At least 6 times more.
It has ads claiming to play alternative 90s rock like Nirvana and Alanis Morissette but actually plays the same 60s/70s prog ad nauseum.
The problem the 104's and 98fm's have is that there's nothing to differentiate them from each other, particularly with their playlists but also the tone of their presenters. Any time I end up having to listen to those stations I can't help feeling that they're chasing a demographic that isn't as likely to be listening to the radio to begin with.
Nova plays something different that most people at an age where they're stuck in cars on their commutes or school runs would have an interest in listening to.
Nova need to cut out the imagine dragons and George ezra stuff, nobody listening to Nova is thinking "oh great! There's the music I'm trying to avoid here, I'll turn it up now". Know your audience don't alienate them.
You've corrected me on a point I didn't make. I never stated they ever had a permanent licence.
8Radio.com never had a permanent licence. It is an online station which runs on temporary licenses most years. I suspect that you are mixing it up with Phantom FM/TXFM which did not renew its permanent license when it was due up in 2016.
Their music programming is more diverse.
right. I mean, it’s not really a music station though, is it?
i did get a laugh from one of their ads for themselves a year or so back, one of the the vox pop 'oh this is why i love nova' ones - and one of the genuine people/actors said 'i love nova because every song they play, i already know'.
fair play to them, lean into it.
I often complain about the repetitive nature of the Nova playlist, but it is still better than the alternatives. I just do not understand the need for, nor the reasoning behind, frequently repeating tracks when you aren't constrained by current charts?! I would definitely listen more if they improved that. Right now I need to fill the hole created by the Joe Duffy/Ray D'Arcy slots on Radio 1. Nova is the only viable option, but I just switch off altogether once certain oft-repeated tracks appear. I dislike some of the Nova choices (Coldplay), but I can live with that among otherwise interesting choices - but not the repetitiveness.
I prefer Near FM.
Argh!!! I'd just managed to get that song out of my head!!
If I'm a snob for not wanting to hear the same songs day after day on the radio (e.g. 'human touch' by Bruce, for probably the third time in as many days, just now) then yeah, I'm a snob.
And that's based on no more than about half an hour per day of listening. I'm curious as to how many times it's been played today alone.
That's the problem. When the competition is so poor, you barely have to try.
A pity 8radio still doesn't have a permanent FM licence.
Credible to who? Music snobs?
It is absolutely the best radio station for music in Dublin, by a considerable distance.
Like, you can't complain about the repetitive playlist on Nova when the competitors are 98FM and FM104.
Well, it's working if the measure of success is listenership, obviously. But as a credible music station, it's not.
It's great if you like 'mister blue sky' anyway.
Local JNLRs showing Nova is now the number one music station in Dublin?
People here might not like the play list but it's obviously working?
Looks like a lid of some sort closing but its not made it any easier imo.
Well lads and lassies, what did you think of "the big clue" ?
Vikki Martin?
what has happened the friday night rock show with tony ainscough ?
tonight there was a young female on playing regular radio nova playlist songs, but still named friday night rock show
Where's Courtney last few weeks, on holidays?
Well, it will be a "clue", like they're hardly going to put up a video which clearly shows what the noise is.
No just the Facebook group, horrible companies.