It is currently closed and available for rent. It must have the highest attrition of tenants of any commercial premises in Killarney in the last 10-15 years.
Terrible location for a bar really, but agree re high attrition of tenants.
What's the story with the Innisfallen arcade? Walked through if for first time in years recently and it looks dreadful and abandoned. Derelict even. Are there plans for it? It seems to have gone the same way as the Tralee Shopping Centre arcade.
There were plans lodged for it to be redeveloped a few years back. Messy situation with Developer and Tenants at the time. It ended up in the courts. There are still a few (maybe 3) tenants in there.
Carnella's Burritos already shut down? Must've been open about six months or so
Never got the chance to try it, doesn't seem to have been marketed, aside from their Instagram account. Fair play to them for giving it a go.
Four of us went to Kitty O Se's this evening. Great service and very comfortable restaurant. €179 for 4 mains, 3 desserts and a bottle of wine, which I think represented good value. Portion sizes are just about perfect imo. Any more and I'd have been too full, any less and I'd have felt short changed. Great evening out. And we got to see the Kerry ladies team arrive into town too.
Does anyone know why all the large caravans are parked in Beech Rd. car park? I had difficulty getting a space there yesterday and noticed 8 or 10 taking more than one space, and they were still there when I went into town early this morning.
I thought there was an ordinance against camping in public areas.
I see on social media that there's another new bar, Marcy's, opening this week, or last. Anyone know where it is?
High Street, roughly opposite Penney's
Cheers. Is it gone in to the premises where Sullys bar was ? Was closed for a few years so good to see it open again if so
Same folks that have Teddy Connor's across the road will be involved here. Wonder will they incorporate the adjoining former Julie's Barber as part of the premises at a point too…
Yeah, that's the spot. And used to be The 98 before Sullys.
Hopefully they do well, always good to see new places open up.
Had been wondering what the story with McSorleys is. I heard tonight that apparently they're hosting asylum seekers, is this true?
Yep. They have been since the 1st Ukrainians arrived here.
Cheers, I remember being in Sullys a few times, wasn't a bad spot. If it's the same crowd running O'Connors, I'm sure they will do well.
As you say, great to see new places opening up, since Covid there's been O'Donoghues, Pigs Lane, The Dugout and now Marcys. Long may it continue.
New pedestrian crossings on Rock Road seem to slowing traffic, certainly at school times this morning. I know there were crossings before the summer roadworks but 2 new ones have been added and existing ones have been altered.
Roadworks on N22, Tralee- Killarney road between Lawlor’s Cross and Scart Cross, from Monday 9th September to Monday 23rd September between 9am and 5pm.
I'm meeting someone for lunch in Killarney next weeekend. The person is a seriously healthy eater. any
recommendations for a vegetarian or vegan option restaurants, or somewhere that does really great salads thank you
You're contradicting yourself calling them healthy and vegan in the same breath. A load of processed rubbish is all that is. Give them a bag of nuts and go for a walk I'd say.
i'm after a nice location for lunch, if you want to share your opinions on other peoples diet, Im not interested- but thanks anyway. i just want a reccomenadtion on a nice restaurant or cafe/ hotel to go for lunch.
Not a helpful comment. None of your business what diet they are on. If you don't have anywhere to recommend then don't bother replying! Mod
Well you are spoiled for choice in Killarney. I like the Plaza myself. It was you that started with the "dietary advice".
They were simply looking for a restaurant recommendation, to which you responded rudely. So it was you that started it.
Anyway to answer the question both The Porterhouse and Mizu have separate vegan menus.
they didn't ask for dietary advice, they asked for recommendations for somewhere to eat!
They offered dietary advice
No, they weren't offering any dietary advice, they asked where was good to eat that did vegan food etc…..that's not offering advice, that's asking for recommendations on where to eat!
Read it again but slowly this time 🤣🤣
They didn’t offer any advice. They provided context to their question which you have bizarrely taken an issue with.
A vegan/vegetarian diet is a very healthy diet. Sounds like dietary advice to me. But sure look maybe I'm the stupid person here. I'll leave ye at it. The only bizarre thing here is the fact that people can't seem to read English.