………..
The day after the bank holiday at the return machines is absolutely brutal. Not to be repeated if possible.
No mention of percentages or number of deposit items sold.
I've been in Dublin the last couple of days - lots of people going through litter bins to find the returns, particularly in the touristy areas - most were not making a mess that I saw, but in some of the more out of the way places it's clear that less care was taken.
Well if we go off the numbers that were stated originally on this thread wasn't it about 5 million or so cans and bottles being sold daily?
That would mean that from the DRS alone it's at around 60-65% mark at the moment.
I'm actually surprised that it's that high, despite the many issues it seems that people are taking to it.
If the numbers above are correct there won't be much of a jump beyond 3.2 million per day any time soon, we've had the 'big uptake' and if people aren't doing it regularly 6 months into scheme they're unlikely to start now imho. It's going to be a slow grind to get the numbers to a point where we can show a high % return rate via DRS.
Even if the 60%-65% return rate via DRS is correct how can we say with any certainty that the number is a lot higher via other means without being able to confirm those return numbers? I can see this going one way and that is an increase in the deposit to beat people into using the DRS to get the numbers higher.
Also, instead of headline figures I'd love to see a breakdown.
Environmentally speaking they're as important as the figures posted.
We have a leak under our kitchen tiles from the mains. Plumber coming back later this week to take a pipe down from the attic to resolve. We had to disconnect our RO filter until we have the under sink supply back. The mains water is absolutely disgusting. Stinks of chemicals. As another poster said we can call it "safe" all we like but it would be interesting to see some stats on what illnesses are caused from humans filtering such muck over a lifetime.
So I dont blame anyone for buying bottled water and not trusting public supplies for a refill when out and about. All I'd say is get yourself a proper RO filter at home and fill up before you leave to go anywhere to avoid getting scalped on Re-Turn deposits. Im currently filling a 5 litre bottle from my parents filter daily.
The figures for 1: have been available, somewhere, before as I noticed there was a figure for a tiny amount of steel drinks cans returned
Steel cans are used in a few countries around the world - actually used to be used here, last saw them in the 90s - and can be registered as returnable.
May have been a once-off presentation rather than a running figure, and now I can't find it.
If Re-Turn have this up-to-date number
3.2 million containers a day in July
Then the machines also log what is being inserted, so the the plastic vs aluminum number should be easily available.
Took my one bottle ( not bought by me) had to queue to get to machines surrounded by wasps and pools of beers and drinks at the bottom. What an unpleasant experience
https://www.irishexaminer.com/business/companies/arid-41451802.html
Wonder have their NIRL sales figures risen over the same time.
You should complain to the shop.
In their Q1 report the top man was not worried about the trend. It will only be a temporary blip in their upward trajectory.
https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/YTLKL8I2QQTR/sunday-times-001-jpg.jpg
Coca-Cola in public: "Look! Look! We're losing sales to bring in this DRS!"
Coca-Cola in private: "These gombeen fools let us away with changing feck all! Now Irish customers are paying higher prices and deposits! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 lol"
Any chance they'd explain why the 24 is now 18 and costs twice as much as the 24 used to 4 years ago? Or why the same amount in the UK costs less than half? Great to see companies coming out against it, but won't change anything. As much as I love my diet coke, coca-cola are just as big a bunch of scamming pricks out there.
Got an email from City Bin with this info.
In Ireland, the recycling rate for plastics is currently at 32.7%, which, while above the EU target of 22.5%, still indicates a need for better separation practices to improve overall recycling efficiency.
Why is the EU target so low?
Is it because plastic can only be recycled so many times?
And not all plastic can be recycled.
CEO Ciaran Foley on Newstalk at the moment, giving facts and figures about DRS
Tesco has invested over €15 million in the installation of RVMs, for each of its 170 stores
that's average ~€89,000 per store
Guess who ends up paying for these RVMs?
The people who are too stupid to return there bottle's and cans and reclaim there deposits I would say
We all end up paying with higher prices in the supermarkets and in kerbside waste collection.
Let's do the maths. €89,000 per store and a handling fee of €0.022 per item.
Each machine will have to process over 4 million cans to pay for itself.
Already had our first price increase form our waste collection provider. Their notification leaves no doubt the blame lays on the the door of this hairbrained scheme.
From rumblings I'm hearing we will see some stonkers of price increases before the year is out.
The machines in our local supermarket are a disaster zone and genuinely a public health concern. To the point where I see staff attending them almost everytime I'm there either apologising for them being out of order or doing their their best to clean up the mess. From speaking to the staff they detest the things.
Exactly. As if Tesco and every other retailer are going to wait for 2.2c per container and the rebates from Re-Turn to recoup their losses. They're getting the upfront cost of this scheme back from us. Shambolic.
Just listened back to this. 6 minutes of basic questions around how the scheme works. The big plans for the future of the scheme? Bin surrounds. No questions about unclaimed deposits. Jaysus. Foley must be having some laugh to himself after these sweetheart interviews.