EXPORT, AIRPORT AND MARITIME STOCK GUIDANCE FOR PRODUCERS AND WHOLESALERS / DISTRIBUTORS
4. Products Sold to In Port Non-Duty Free Customers
If the producer/wholesaler is producing/selling goods to non-duty free business customers in the airport/seaport (airside or landside) and these products can be consumed in the airport/seaport or brought on a plane/ship, a deposit must be charged as this is considered a standard domestic sale. These products must be registered with Re-turn and include a Re-turn logo and Re-turn barcode(ROI specific or international). To facilitate returns of these in-scope products and refunding of the deposit to consumers, WH Smith & Boots have agreed to operate manual return points in major Irish airports.
"WH Smith & Boots have agreed to operate manual return points in major Irish airports." Ok, let's put the word out here, has anyone on this thread completed or knows someone who has "completed a manual return"?
Furthermore, I have yet to see a WH Smith or Boots in the departure lounge in Shannon Airport which I used a few months ago
Airports are a CASH COW for ReTurn! Good for them (unredeemed) deposits and recyclable bottles and cans not recycled!
I have contributed to their bonuses which are likely made up of ‘non returns’. Bunch of cunce
Yes I know all of this. I’m saying it’s absolute bullshít
You’d still have to drink the thing before boarding and return it for €0.15 cash then. Waste of time
Lad fecked a glass O'Hara's bottle into the machine in Lidl earlier. It bounced back out and smashed all over the floor. He then picked up most of the broken glass, put it into the sink thingy they have for the dregs and wandered off 😂😂.
The Shannon Airport website says that there is a WH Smith there.
https://www.shannonairport.ie/airport-facilities/
Stupid boy.
RTE is a semi state body in receipt of state funding.
Re-turn is not.
No you do not have to drink before boarding. You cannot carry liquids through security, you can take an empty drinks container. Actually most airport have drinking fountains where you can refill an empty container.
That beastie mod is a prick ,he just bans people from talking the truth ,we'll **** you mods you ruined a good site ,free speech, me bollix .
Correct, but it is indirectly. If legislation did not exist for ReTurn to charge deposits it could not function economically. I would argue that is a form of state funding.
I stand corrected.
Talk abouc picking economic thinking out of your ar5e, you coukd say the sane about renewable energy suppliers, or anything else covered by regulations
Quick search of CEO remunerations and you have figures for SSE, Bord Gáis, and Electric Ireland.
A lit of wind farms are owned by provate entities.
Agreed, but they are not given a monopoly and I am not forced to buy electricity from them. If I want to get my deposit back I am forced to engage with ReTurn.
How about the NCT
A company cannot be "indirectly" semi state.
It either is or it isn't and Re-turn just isn't.
You can argue all day long but operating under specific legislation is not the same as being state funded.
It is not just operating under legislation, it has been created by specific legislation.
Exactly. A private company protected by bespoke legislation (once again not from the EU. Irish gombeens legislated for it).
Designed this way from the start. Stifle deposit redemption with a poor DRS and forcing people into shops to get their money back. Gather up 10s of millions of euro per year. Answerable to no-one. A great scheme for Re-Turn. A terrible scheme for customers and shop staff.
We call it a scam, a sham, badly implemented, not fully thought out. The truth is, it is highly organised and has been orchestrated expertly - for the benefit of the board.
In my opinion, not relevant. RSA awardedd the contract to Applus which is a pre-existing entity involved in vehicle testing worldwide. Ireland had no such testing regime in place prior to NCT. Our cans and bottles were being collected and recycled prior to DRS and Repak even flaunted on how many recycling targets were being exceeded!
Yes but it's still not state funded, not a semi state and not a quango.
Poland plans to start in 2025. Using the same Polluter Pays model we have in Ireland.
"Money, material & data flow: In accordance with the principle of extended producer responsibility, the producers of beverages in packaging covered by the deposit system will finance the system. The deposit collected by the retailers will be transferred to the representing entity, and all financial settlements will be made monthly. Producers, will bear the costs associated with, among other things, the collection and transportation of packaging and waste, and keeping records and accounting for deposits. The system will additionally be financed by an unreturned deposit and the sale of recycled materials."
"The system will additionally be financed by an unreturned deposit and the sale of recycled materials."
Just noting that.
All for 15 cent. You make it sound so **** stupid
Which is the same as here.
WWe Should all be minimising waste. It's not about saving 15c, actually having a reusable bottle saves multiple's of 15 cent.
The stupid fact is most people fail to understand that.
I've heard about a few people who've had the experience of the machine just going dead and not printing a voucher after they incerted a few bottles, I would totally support a customer going full on karen mode about that and calling the Gardai if the shop refused to pay them
I have a reuseable water bottle that goes everywhere with me. I still buy bottled water from time to time. Why? Because i dont trust the source of the water. On the train for example, the water might be good enough for washing your hands, but is it definitely drinking water quality? When was it last tested? Is it as clean as the rest of Heuston Station?