Strange then that you say the DRS is simple.
Why are people insisting on calling it a tax when you can get 100% back?
It is a deposit, that you get refunded on presentation of the item.
I was completely against it, I now have a few big boxes of cans and bottles to return, it is a pain in a way, but I will return them when I am passing, I'd prefer having the option of 'credit' going on to a card / online account rather than a paper voucher, but a few months in I would have said it was going pretty well.
what?
I've been on this thread and the others before it for months discussing the problems.
Lots of problems. Problems that Re-Turn have completely failed to address. Problems that make it variably difficult to recoup your deposit. Problems that should have been ironed out prior to full scale rollout. Problems that will lead to missed targets and moveable goalposts.
But yes, the concept is simple. Pay a deposit. Get your deposit back on return of the item. Lots of concepts are simple though, it's the implementation that's important.
As I said, nothing simple about the DRS in practice.
Was at CP yesterday went to the toilet. Was washing my hands lad next to me finished washing his hands pulled out 3-4 pieces of paper toweling ( really only need 2 at the most normally try to only take only one) after he dried his hands he just threw them into the sink.
No taught or consideration for the next person using the sink. There was a paper waste bin at each entrance/exit.
The concept is simple.
Yes there have been problems in practice.
How do we reach EU targets? Put a tax of two euro say on each and every item currently under the DRS. The producers wouldn't be long finding solutions once their sales collapsed.....
There's nothing simple about the DRS in practice.
I think my position is clear enough taking into account # 2 to 5 also.
We'll see how it pans out
The problem today is you have people who are so wrapped up in themselves that the thought of the affect of their action (or inaction) doesn’t even enter their tiny little brains. Raise the deposit to €1+. Eventually they might start thinking of others.
^ Just dropped where they finished it. 🤯
Some cannot understand economics.
The number of households in Ireland is 1.8 million according to the EPA 65%have kerbside rubbish collections. Now I am not sure is that the number that pay bin companies as many people combine there collection with other but even if all were pay bin companies the maths works like this if the bin companies estimate is 15 million loss due to DRS.
At 65% it's 1.17 million customers so the 15 million translates to 12.8/ customer in lost revenue. Is the average household charge 200-250/ house.
At 225/ house it's a loss in revenue of 5.7% if these companies are operating at a 20% profit margin it's a 28% reduction in profitability no company will accept that.
I'd disagree with #1
If I had a company, and I had a business model based on x amount of recyclables able to be collected and profitably resold; and the government then changed the rules as to reduce significantly the amount that was able to collected, then from a business perspective I'd need to increase my customer prices.
The market is competitive, so presumably another supplier would undercut me if this assumption wasn't a reasonable one…
Ireland the home of nothing else. Some countries have industry, some have big IT sectors. Ireland🤨
If they get 'em, they get 'em.
Sure, when they finally turn up 4 hours after the crime was committed.
You dont get your money back.
You get a portion of your money back, if you return the product to a DRS machine. But even then, you dont get all your money back because the cost of the product has increased by the value of the deposit.
Not in all places. Plenty of charges arent listed at the shelf.
Maybe thats the retailer not complying with the rules, but it still happens.
No its not a stealth tax. It's a very overt tax.
"But you get your money back!
Unless it is not feasible for you to go get your deposit back, then it's just a tax to fund a brand new quango that no-one wanted in the first place.
I'm against the DRS but it's NOT a stealth charge that hits you at the till. The price of the deposit is written in front of you on the shelf. Most of the supermarkets even say on their radio ads that it's extra.
Of course his salary comes out of the companies income.
The directors are already receiving salaries from the companies they work for.
Do you think they are getting inflated fees or expenses from Re-turn ?
The board have already made decisions which impact on their businesses but some of the suggested improvements like bulk machines are slow coming.
Maybe a few civil servants or consumer reps would make a difference.
Well we don't know how hefty but yes they get paid.
Presumably they have bills, mortgages etc. to pay like everyone else.
And it's not a quango.
I am so f##king sick of this "It a not for profit".
As you say, the CEO is not doing it out of the goodness of his heart. When they hit the targets that they came up with themselves, the CEO will still get his bonus. He can sell his car, because the not for proft will give him a company car.
When not researching more efficient recycling methods, ReScam employees can enjoy yoga sessions in the office, paid for by my unclaimed 15 cent. But it's ok, because its not for profit.
RTE is a not for profit too, which is why an uneducated gombeen like Joe Duffy earns 400k a year. And before anyone says "Oh but he brings in advertising revenue for RTE", yeah, but RTE still have to go to the government every year for a topup because they squander that revenue on flipflops.
Who is paying the CEO's salary? Is he doing the job not for profit? Who is paying those who sit on the board of directors?
Are they doing it not for profit?
What are their salaries? Oops, ReTurn will not even give the Minister those figures!
The board of directors, made of whom? Retailers and manufacturers who are not going to make decisions that will impact on their own businesses.
Yet plenty of lads can and do draw hefty sallaries. Useless quango but that is no surprise. It seems to be our way to reward chosen few.
Yeah true. The advent of paying by phone means I now never bring my wallet out with me anymore when there was a time I’d never pass the front door without it. Lesson learned today, I’ll bring it with me next time I’m going to machine…or at the very least a something with zipped pockets 😂
🤣 Danny Ocean would be proud.
Someone has taken all the labels off 2l own brand dunnes sparkling water in my local... gonna slip them onto ineligible bottles no doubt.
So why didnt the govt build the cost of the DRS into the price of the product, instead of adding it as an extra cost, does anyone know?
There would be a lot less complaining and people being hit by stealth charges at the till, if the deposit charge was an actual deposit, rather than an additional charge.
Guards generally arrest offenders pretty swiftly. Its the judicial system that lets serial offenders walk free.