"I like how this Kerry lad has transferred in and all of a sudden he's Kilkenny county standard because he's big and strong" …..
exactly ….. 😂 🙄
They're different sports and can't be compared. I don't know why people try.
I like how this Kerry lad has transferred in and all of a sudden he's Kilkenny county standard because he's big and strong. Disclaimer: never heard of him before a few weeks ago.
The biggest day of the year In football and the standard was awful with exception of a few Armagh points. Compare that to the unbelievable quality and standard last week on hurlings biggest day. Tony Kelly putting himself up there with the gods of all sports with his individual brilliance. Chalk and cheese between the 2
I liked the August All-Ireland finals myself. Seemed to be the ideal balance between the compressed championship we have currently and the overlong championship we used to have with the September finals.
Agree with you. Players are the ones that matter most and they overwhelmingly support the split season. Perhaps,they might put the All Irelands back a week or two, but clubs deserve at least 5 of the 12 months. The ones most adversely affected and upset by the split are the national Gaa media (Dalo etc) , but they need to up their game on club coverage.
Jaysus box to box there’s some reading in that. But I agree entirely with you except for the county board head hunting anybody that’s just not going to happen, that would be progress and the county board doesn’t do progress.
I know the players were all in favour of it at the start, it’s like brexit. I certainly can tell you no one I know is in favour of that rule or the changing of ages.i think they don’t address what they should address and change things for the sake of change. Look at one of the local matches next Saturday 12 noon. Who the **** thought of that on?
Huw Lawlor would be a massive loss to Kilkenny if he goes travelling after the club championship is over.
Scruff be a loss too but no harm to try out a new goalie from 2025 onwards.
Retirements from the older crew need to happen or management let them go.
Mackassey from OLG will be in with Kilkenny next year, he has the hurling, height, S&C and fitness to play at that level. Has played well v Tipperary, Cork & Limerick in Munster league matches for Kerry before.
Lyng needs to go with youth next year sprinkled with experienced guys. The lack of pace in the team was very evident in the last 15mins v Clare.
A few weeks ago there was talk of lyng stepping down but things have gone quite since. Theres also talk of scruff finishing and huw lawlor going travelling. Buckley,fogarty and wally are certain to go so there will be a shake up next year.If derek is going to go it will be over the next few weeks.He will get another year if he wants it but my opinion is s&c will have to be changed along with freshness to the backroom team. They're together for a few years u20 aswell. Tactically its an area we need to improve even if this means going outside the county or getting ideas from a different sport. I did hear mick fennelly had a lad from basketball who he had in offally in with the development squads but was told by our county board to stop bringing him wasting money.We were all disappointed with the semi final defeat. They will be forced to try lads next year with the retirements,something the management have failed to do over the last two years. He tried to get one more squeeze out of codys team last year but going with the very same team this year was never going to work.Yes the players have to take responsibility for the missed chances and not scoring for the last 17 minutes but the management didnt do much to improve it on the day but we knew after last year's all ireland he simply had to try find a few players.We could all see that retreating and hitting the ball to 2v1 wasn't working it's disappointing we reverted again to this when the pressure came on. . People will debate are the players there but Wall and Murphy were discarded after a poor outing in parnell Park. Molloy was unlucky with the injury but definitely should of being brought on to give us a bit of legs.. I'm not saying we would of bet clare if these came on but we would of being better getting these lads exposed to bigger days. We seem slow to bring younger players through for whatever reason but the trust isnt there. We don't seem to be learning from our mistakes either and the team has regressed and unless Derek is going to be brave we will regress even further. We need to inject a bit of pace into the team but we arent getting enough from the forward but this isn't helped with some of the ball sent in. The forwards coaching department needs to be looked at. The defence coach should know the better quality of ball delivered will give the forward a better chance but alot of the time its a 50/50 ball. We have little movements for puckouts. It would be depressing to see no change to the senior set up but it wouldn't be suprising. S&C and Coach is priority but he has to get a shake upWill the county board be ruthless and accept things have to change?that the trend is going down. Have they went after s&c and selectors/coaches/goalkeeper coach that can improve the team before other counties start to prepare for next year.Have the county board approached someone like Brian dowling for the u20 Job or will they wait till October until people have committed to something else.This job has to be available so now is the time to be putting a team together even if they don't announce it for a few months.I know this years team was unlucky but this excuse has being used a long time now. I do think theres some good players on the u20 team like jeff neary and marty murphy who both should see action in a senior jersey next year.Was Tom or Paddy mullally asked before they go back with carlow? Eddie brennan would be a good lad to have around a team at some level or Tommy shefflin. David herity was doing goalkeeping coach recently. I know things didn't work out for Henry but it will be interesting to see will he get involved with a underage team .Another good weekend for the devolopment squads but this has be maintained and improved.I know there's good work going on from volunteers but its going on in all these top counties. We have to keep the standard high.It's the gap from 17-20 that our teams aren't kicking on like they should and are much slower to break into the senior team. This is also reflected in the small numbers playing 3rd level. This needs to be investigated. You would be hoping a very good u20 management crew is put together to try help this. I know it was a step below u20 but gortha and Chesney had the u19 playing nice hurling and there was some nice hurlers on it. Talking to a chap involved they really enjoyed it. Maybe they should stay at this level if the suitable candidates are got for the u20. Looking forward to the club starting up. I know alot of teams affected by immigration. Intermediate is very open. Danesfort,tullogher,lisdowney along with others will fancy their chances. I heard Colin fennelly done his cruciate I'm not sure If he was finished anyway.i like Daragh corcoran at 3 and if huw does go he will have to be tried there. Darren Mullen is still travelling. Clara could be under pressure alot of their stalwarts have huge milage. All eyes will be on loughlins new recruit fionn macekssey and if he went well could he represent kk next year.alot of their players got county experience. David fogarty would make a good attacking corner back for kk .Thomastown are a exciting team and should hold their own at this level.. Boro missing a few but have the talent. I think they will learn alot from last year and the run o loughlins went on will give them belief.Glenmore will hope to improve from last year. Ian byrne and alan murphy are two good fowards.kk need timmy clifford,podge moylan,niall rowe,denis walsh,stephen donnelly,david fogarty,billy drennan,jeff neary,marty murphy,paul cody,ian byrne to really stand up and force their way into consideration and lyng to really trust these lads in a kk jersey.
Personally absolutely no issue with July All Ireland's, most importantly of all players are overwhelmingly in favour of it.
Inter county football has been destroyed by over coaching , Inter county hurling is saved by the fact that it's just such a fast game it can't be over coached ,much as Davy Fitz and Derek Mcgrath and people like that would like it to be.
Jarlath burns gave an absolutely iconic speech today, if we could only get him to retract all the stupid rules brought in recently changes of all Irelands from September to July and the change of ages at minor level etc.
The RTE 9 o clock news just called this afternoons football final "pulsating",my God I fell asleep twice looking at ,Galway are incredibly boring to watch.Give me hurling any day of the week.
Very good weekend underage results the two U14 teams are through to the Tony forristal.
I see that hurling journalist Kevin Cashman has died. A Cork man who clearly loved the game and all things Cork just as much as he hated Kilkenny. He had a great turn of phrase and brought games and players to life in his articles like no one else could. His pieces in the Sunday Tribune back when inter county summers were longer and slower were worth the purchase price on their own. I used to particularly get a kick out of reading what he had to say on the Sunday after a Kilkenny win. They don`t make them like him any more. May he rest in peace.
I presume you’re talking about my views on minor management, I’m afraid I’ll have to stick with those views as I couldn’t see any other alternative.
some people in management need to be pushed they don’t know when to give up. Look at Joe Biden.
maybe you should start questioning that seems to have us in the bind that we are in.
I don't doubt you do. I represent a view different to you. I don't question the courage or integrity of any Kilkenny man or woman that puts themselves forward for management/ coaching of any of our county teams, do you have a problem with that? Criticism of how he/she does the job is part and parcel of the job and it should not extend beyond that.
Didn't see any "poison" just an opinion. I'd give lyng another year but he's not by any means above criticism.
What about wording like ' A definite striking motion preceded by a definite backward motion of the hand'
KK 1-22 WAT 0-16 U15
Arrabawn quarterfinal?
I thought he was correct too. Im not for Lyng out but this season has being more cold than hot TBH.
I thought he was spot on.who are you representing?
Took a lot of COURAGE 🫣to write that piece of poison …in EXILE!!!
KK U16B 3-17, DUB U16A 3-09. Played in paulstown was not out there in a few years,they have setup out there well done.
It hasn’t been tried properly though…. the referees would need everyone’s support on it… this is where it all falls down in my opinion. The likes of Donal Og hammering refs for it on tv makes it very difficult. If the current rule was implemented properly it would soon cut out the throw ball because it would be so costly to your team.
I'm exiled in the West of Ireland ... But wondering if there is any murmurings at home about Lyng's future?
This was a very poor year. The Leinster title papers over the cracks. Pretty much all went downhill since beating Limerick in the league semi final.
Bringing Fogarty and Walter on to change the game against Clare showed he has no courage or ambition. Or indeed ideas.
However, the Killian Doyle debacle in Carlow takes the biscuit. Should never have started and appears to be obvious nepotism.
To be honest, I think it's time for a change of direction. Build a new team with a new leader.
We’ve tried that though, it lasts about two rounds of the league and then we return to the “throw all you like” situation because we have lads, usually on the Sunday Game, saying the ref is ruining the flow of the game, ignoring that it’s the players making the fouls.
And if the rule came in, there’s every chance players could get bottled up more. But there’s also every chance they’d have to avoid taking it in to contact and they’d play it quicker.
There’s no point in arguing what could happen, because we don’t know what will happen. We gone only go on what we know, and what we know is that the throw, an illegal act of cheating, has effectively replaced the handpass and has become central to the sport.
There’s far too much cheating and fouling going on in hurling, be it throw, steps, barging/charging, pulling/dragging, tactical fouling, or whatever.
A ref these days if he was to blow for everything in a county match could easily blow for 100+ frees a game. That would be a disaster for the sport, but doesn’t it say a lot about the state of the sport that of the sport that a ref has to turn a blind eye to that much fouling/cheating in the first place?
Hell, if the rules were to be applied rigidly, we couldn’t even play a match because no-one uses regulation sized hurls.
Something has to give. The throw in my view has ramped things up massively, the abuses of steps as part of the run and throw game, the barging/charging knowing you can throw it you’re bottled up, the pulling/dragging required because you know if a players gets the ball in hand he can just throw it to another player.
I think changing the handpass rule won’t solve all ills, but I reckon it’d clean up more than just the handpass as well.
I would agree with that to a certain extent whereas Danesfort ,Threecastles, Ballycallan,Bennetsbridge,Tullaroan etc would benefit,but O’loughlins would lose a lot of ground from Henneberry’s cross to Johnswell.But the idea is worth exploring.