One more sleep till tickets go on sale.
Le Boom are indeed the Special Guest, as someone suggested earlier.
I dunno, it's got a housey vibe at times to me. Not necessarily the pace and kick drum but the stuff going on around it. Didn't grab me until the 25 minute mark. I would definitely prefer Dylan Fogarty, although he was disappointing at EP in the RITW last year or the year before. Very boring set that time.
is there anything at all to be said for a small tributes band stage? I've never been into tributes but in the last 12 months I saw a Nirvana, Radiohead and Joy Division tribute band and they were all awesome! I'd dig a bit of that of a Sunday afternoon/night.
Defo add something to a festival, whatever the begrudgers say. Loads of brilliant tribute acts in Ireland now that would welcome support slots to back up what's on offer from the likes of Forest Fest and EP. Can't beat a singalong with like minded souls when the flesh or the spirit have started to flag a bit.
One of my group is 20 but the rest of us are over 21, do you think we should worry about her getting in?
No, never seen anyone asked for ID
Planning to get a lift down with mates on the Thursday. They have general camping tickets and I’ve a boutique ticket. Anyone know if there’s a dropoff point for the boutique camping or am I in for an evening of lugging my gear across the grounds? Anyone know the craic
@Pudsy33 What day/stage is she on?
2330 on Saturday at ELG, according to the app
Forever Young last year had tribute bands in between the main stage acts and they were really good. There was Depeche Mode, Queen, George Michael, Abba - all superb quality. So yes please.
Thought that was a stage at ATN for a minute 🤣
It's an interesting idea alright. There's some unbelieve tribute acts in the World. Australian Pink Floyd probably my favourite (dare I say too big for ATN?).
Sing along social etc is sufficient for cover bands nonsense
It's funny how sing along social - who one of their main calling card songs is "Unwritten" from the Hills are directly followed by the actual singer Natasha Bedingfield who will likely close with that. Can't imagine that has happened for them with a big song lol.
My Forest Fest review, enjoy.
I tried to get dropped off for boutique before my mate went to the campervan entrance last year, and the stewards sent us all over the place, didn't know what was going on. Had to lug through the festival site I'm afraid, and it wasn't straighforward, bit of it were closed off. You/we might get lucky this year, but don't be surprised if that's the scenario again.
There never has been a boutique drop off before but I chanced asking ATN again this year, still no! Same for the bus eireann buses, only drop off is to general.
Nope.
Singalong Social is two wans karaoke-ing over songs. Mostly nostalgia cheesey pop shite like Celine Dion.
Completely different to dedicated covers/tribute bands.
Ironically Natasha beddingfields set list will be packed with cover songs as well
Indeed. I remember thinking I know like 3 of her songs, and looked up recent set lists.
She's even whoring out her brother's song.. shameless! 😄
everyone will be only there for "Unwritten" - with a few remembering "These words". May as well do a few other tunes people know for a festival.
First time attender this year & really looking forward to it. I'm defecting from EP!
When can we expect a map to go up? I've no idea of the layout of the site, just what I can glean from previous years maps.
Any ideas on how long it's likely to take driving from Dublin on the Thursday night? I'm driving a campervan from Donegal & just want to make sure I'm leaving enough time to get in before the 10pm lock!
I drove by car from Donegal last year (outside Buncrana) - came down surprisingly quickly. Left really early on Friday a.m., to get in early. Seem to remember the whole journey took about 5-ish hours.
Last years map and this year's planning application map are basically what this year's is going to be.
Lest you forget..
Ah fair play, we travel from Antrim and it takes about 4.5 hours. Worst part is trying to get around Belfast on the West Link ffs. We'll probably leave around 10.30am to be there for gates opening on Thursday.
Thanks, that's promising! It's always a slow enough journey in the campervan but I'm going to try to get on the road as early as possible Thursday. I'm dreading the journey home already though!
lads dressing up/cosplaying as Kurt cobain/Liam Gallagher or Morrisey singing nostalgia pop like is same nonsense as sing along. Probably even worse with the whole dressing up/copying the mannerisms as the lead singers. Personally find cover bands at proper music festivals a complete waste. More suitable festivals like forest festival or those 80’s nostalgia festivals. The likes of spring break etc are fine for people’s weddings.
It depends on the band/artist being covered. If there's no chance of actually seeing the band play these days, I'm all for it (e.g. TCM/Harvest/The Complete Stone Roses). Have no interest in seeing a tribute act for someone that actually plays here every fart's end.
I "think" the site map is usually released a week before so at some point today/tommorow probably, after that it's traffic plans early next week, **** getting real, bring it on…