They just seemed a lot more fatigued at the end of normal time than cork, cork seemed to have the wind at their back and just couldn't push on imo
We gave Tony Kelly the freedom of Croke Park as well. Feck it the reff was bad but between that and those three goals, we were architects of our own downfall today.
You are absolutely delusional if you think a bias Limerick ref would favour Clare.
And Dalton got the medal he deserved
Boom. No. Those two decisions cost cork. Mcinerney should have seen the line and it would have been 14 v 15 for the last 10 mins plus 20 mins on extra time.
The decision not to give a free at the end of extra time will haunt murphy. Imagine croker in two weeks time for part two. Gaa officials wont be happy. A shocking poor peformance from Murphy.
Mistakes today which cost Cork . Horgan missing a free when they were 1-08 to 0-03 up. Mark Coleman hitting the ball to Tony Kelly for a sideline cut and he put it over the bar. Robbie O Flynn first miss when he came on. Jack O Connor horrible miss. Chop down on Fitzgibbon when he was running in on the Clare defence. Kingston deliberately pulled back and no penalty or black card given, Horgan not having the balls to go for a goal when he had that close free in. Robbie O Flynn going for goal when point would be very valuable in tight game. O Flynn jersey pulled at the last piece of play and the missed 65 which should have gone to Cork. That ref was a thundering disgrace and helped Clare win the All Ireland with some dodgy decisions. Clare were marginally better team I will admit but ref didn't help Cork at all. We won't get another decent chance of winning the All Ireland with Limerick Tipp and Kilkenny back next year. We could very well hit 35 years without an All Ireland.
Cork have made a star out of Tony Kelly. Kilkenny or Limerick wouldn't be as generous as that to him.
You are a very fair and balanced poster and while the ref made dodgy decisions... the goals ye conceded were a killer.. how can ye go from keeping LK goalless 2weeks ago to conceding 3 soft goals.. fecksake T Kelly flicking the ball over a lads head before scoring a goal... what was ciaran Joyce at with o'donnell for 1st clare goal...
I felt so desperately sorry for pat horgan after... and I would love to have given the camera man who continously had the camera focused on him a box...
I felt he was poor though, but there was faults with Cork as well.
Unfortunately you were right what a match he had unreal.
We lost three championship games this year. If it wasn't for Waterford drawing with a poor Tipp team, we wouldn't have even made it out of Munster.
The amount of breaking balls Clare won was crazy as well. We have a lot to improve on in regards to our defending. That and ball winning up front have been issues for years.
Munster will be a minefield yet again next year and Limerick will be gunning for revenge. Tipp will surely improve as well.
We did lose an all Ireland in 2003 and won the next two. This current Cork team is still a fair bit off the 2003-2006 one quality wise though.
The reff was an issue but i do think Clare were slightly the better team. Their forwards had the freedom of Croke Park to score those points at the end there that won them the game!
Kindly go away and troll some place else please. Thank god there's no five in a row for that thug Kyle Hayes.😉
Ah lads stop will ya. Better team won. This cork team were played off the park all day long.
There's always next year
Total and utter bullshit in fairness. Go back to the Clare thread.
Yeah and ye won by a point in extra time. Yeah played off the park alright. Only for a dodgy ref the result might have been different. Ye are lucky Limerick were out because ye wouldn't beat them fact.
Teams will target that Cork soft defence next year.
Cork GAA charging €4 for their homecoming is actually disgusting
It is an issue alright. It's kind of scary how reliant we still are on Hoggie and Harnedy up front as well. It's going to be time for a Cork version of that book Unlimited Heartbreak soon enough i think!😅
Ye bound to have a few lads coming up through the ranks
The Stade De Frank won't pay for itself!🤣
You are right about our backs. The Clare forwards had the freedom of Croke Park today. One team is able to defend and the other one wasn't. The team that was able to defend has won the all Ireland. Oh well all we can do is learn from it and go again.
We might not get there again for a very long time Im sorry to say. We probably won't get out of Munster next year now. We are now the fragile hurlers who can't get over the line. Clare have beaten us last 5 out of 6 times since 2019. They are a bogie team for us now and we can't beat them.
Hard luck today lads, could have gone either way and surprised at lads here calling their team bottlers or chokers… that Cork team certainly didn’t bottle anything and ye can be very proud of that performance today. I have no doubt Cork are back and won’t be long before they’re climbing the steps of the Hogan stand.
A tough afternoon for guys like Shane Barrett, Brian Hayes, Declan Dalton and Alan Connolly but all of those lads will be better for the experience. We need to work on our defensive structures next year, and we need to find some more ball winners up front as well. Although with regards to the backs, i thought the Downey brothers were immense for us in fairness.
I think Sean o Donaghue isn't good enough to play intercounty standard. They need to bring through alot of u20 winners going forward.
Hopefully we can make it out of Munster mate, and then we'll take it from there. We will win sweet eff all though until we improve in the defence. We made things so easy for the Clare forwards today.
I suppose the bottlers/chokers talk would be more for the fact Cork beat Limerick twice this year and it was there for the taking (and they were betting favs). Cork had ‘everything going for them’ I suppose, so it feels a big let down.
I understand that but no way you could accuse that Cork team of choking today.
Agreed