Take yizzer leave.
I still remember decades ago Dublin league match up in Omagh.
Before the Amhrán na bhFiann was played the fella on the Healy Park Stadium speaker made an announcement.
In slightly threatening tone he said "Here up in Tyrone GAA we respect the entirety of our National Anthem. Please do not cheer out until the entire anthem is finished, thank you"
My reaction was f**king hell you wouldn't hear that in Croke Park! But the gas thing is sure most of them don't even sing/know the words to Amhrán na bhFiann. The Irish language and Anthem is purely symbolic in NI in particular.
It is a sh!te tune let's be honest, at best in any ground they half mumble it. Compare that to how the Scots belt out "Flower of Scotland", the French belt out "La Marseillaise", and the English belt out "God Save the King".
The only time Amhrán na bhFiann was ever belted out was when Ireland played in England in Rugby in Croke Park for the first time. That was a rare exception.
It's in the GAA's own rules that players should stand to attention respectfully for the Anthem.
Interestingly a texter said GAA teams from NI make more of an effort to sing and respect it than in the 26 counties.
He's a FF/FG supporter whose father-in-law is former minister Dermot Ahern.
Everything from Coleman comes from FF/FG and he hates anyone who is not FF/FG.
A fantastic final yesterday that everyone was talking about and coleman on this morning whinging about the National Anthem and people not respecting it, players moving before it finished and crowd cheering during last line
FFS go away Coleman and get a grip, always something to whinge about,
Who is doing the Sunday show now?
Didnt he say a while back that he and a friend used to skive off during the day and got paid for the whole time he was on site? He said that about a month ago
probably got the Foreman’s toe up the hole!
I would imagine a relative in London got him some sort of summer job, where he lasted less than a week
Coleman is alright,a serious journalist and a political nerd.
The other half is getting more and more annoying in fairness.
he was probably the Nipper on the site making tea @& running for messages!
can't stand the pair of them, or their 'banter'
Coleman talked before about his time on the London building sites, and how his biggest regret was not calling out other lads for making sexist jokes or remarks. Not sure what is more laughable, him on a building site, or the reaction he would have got for 'calling out' other lads on the site.
The usual taking up opposite sides on a topic to generate responses.
Good cop bad cop on a whole new level this morning.
Ciara saying how bad the weather is this summer and Shane saying he didnt think it was too bad
What planet is he living on !
also shilling stuff from amazon, for a percentage of course !!
Is she the wan that's trying to monetise her (recently diagnosed) autism?
did she mention that she’s on the spectrum?
Her life is too hard to have a sense of humour. Gets an awful raw deal with everything does our Stefanie.
Agree with this….I normally like the TV on the Radio slot but jesus it was a hard listen yesterday. Very serious interrogation of a very light subject matter. Listened to about half and gave up.
He gets on his high horse when triggered but I do enjoy the wry sense of humour, Priesner doesn't appear to have a sense of humour installed.
He does have a high opinion of himself, but I find him fine most of the time. I lasted about 2 minutes of priesner before turning off. only person to have me turn off as fast is d'arcy
Moncrieff is insufferable. High time a new presenter was sought for that slot, the constant sniggering he goes on with grates on me something awful, like Beavis and Buttheads Galwegian cousin.
Think Sean will be off for a bit so we are stuck with Ms Whiny or Stand In on shuffle.
turned on Moncrieff to listen to the 'TV on the Radio', but to my horror stephenie preisner is on instead of him, talking about misogyny for a change ..
Again, the news bit there had something about celebrities and politicians going to India for a rich person's wedding.
What in the name of jesus is that in the news headlines for??
He's more alien to me than Dublin is in fairness. There's a narrative that Ireland is just Dublin and bog farmers with nothing in between.
They were talking about Guards in Dublin again today btw. Regardless of whether you think all things Dublin should be discussed, some topics are just boring and repetitive at this stage
I mean half the country lives in Dublin in fairness and most rural folk will at least visit at some stage.
The one and only spokesman for Rooorald Oirland is on Newstalk speedial, the bould Healy Rae is on nearly every second day.
If she got the face bitten off her it would serve her right.
Another Karen on Newstalk lunchtime extolling the virtues of the XL Bully. I don't know where they dig these people up from. Probably paid to stoke debate and outrage. There is no debate to be had here, these are not pets, they need to go end of story. The ability to be able to walk outside your door without fear of being attacked by one of these takes precedence over any ridiculous defense of responsible owners and their model bullies.
I swear to God, there was a bit about Steve Carell how great he thought Despicable Me 4 (3?) is in the actual news at 9pm this evening. I mean the f_cking on the hour news. Can anyone confirm I didn't imagine this?