Breaking story, NY Times
**Threadbans**
briany
Susan678
Plenty of damage can be done in 4 years. You can say life moves on but examples include him handing over large proportion of Ukraine, resulting in larger scale genocide in those territories. That equally impacts global stability. Even domestically, you and others seem to forget that his previous presidency was endless scandals including an extortion attempt for dirt against his opponent and an insurrection. Assuming it'll be pretty normal is a big leap.
And he has established 'Trumpism', that the MAGA Republicans are fine to go along with stealing an election based on lies. Pence stopped him last time. He won't make that mistake again, putting in a boot licker as VP this time.
With Trump as President, what's to stop Trump \ Vance from refusing to certify a legitimate Democratic victory, based on the same set of discredited lies they tried in 2020?
Trump handed over large proportion of Ukraine?
Im sure there is a couple of threads around here for the Trump hater brigade. This is about the assassination attempt on Trump.
Back on subject I see the FBI finally broke into the phone and found nothing
I'm saying that's what will happen if he ends up president.
I'm not really following this at all. Trump shouldn't be called out for his dangerous and inflammatory rhetoric because to criticise him is dangerous and inflammatory?
Out of curiosity, can one of the Trump fans give an example of what a valid critique of Trump looks like, say for example when he says that immigrants are poisoning the blood of the country? What should the criticism look like in that instance?
I agree Trump is a dangerous lunatic
I wouldn't see any major comparison to Hitler
Honestly, the Hitler comparisons are a bit much. Hitler was an idealogue, he believed his vile rhetoric.
Trump has more in common with Boss Tweed, he's a showman and a grifter who's sole interests are enriching himself, enjoying a luxurious lifestyle where no-one will question his bad behaviour and stalling the legal cases against him for another couple of decades so he can live the rest of his life in this manner to which he has become accustomed.
Obligatory Big Lebowski meme on the topic:
The first time, he focused on re-election and getting back in legitimately and threw a hissy fit when he didn't.
If he were to get in again, knowing he couldn't legally be elected a third time and now with a degree of immunity for official business, he has nothing to lose.
The classified documents case was kicked back and the SC diluted presidential legal responsibility. The seeds he planted the first time around are now beginning to flower.
Tell that to a child who has been raped and is now barred from seeking health care.
The biggest danger with Trump is there's a lunatic at the helm in the US
Border control and a mexican wall isn't going to start ww3
The current administration are supplying the bombs that are killing innocents in gaza
as did the previous administration
It's not as simple as that. Trump directly impacted the lives of millions of American, tens upon tens of thousands who died with his handling of the Covid Pandemic.
He massively influenced political discourse and the advancement of styles of discourse and political ideology in many countries. His push back on proven science, in terms of both healthcare and the environment has, and will impact many more people for many years.
The growth of anti-vac narratives, which has led to the emergence of diseases that were viewed as being contained is partly because of how Trump demeaned the medical science community.
Look at the UK, the standard of living has dropped massively in the last 15 years or so, a situation that happened both because of uber conservative mindsets and the poison narrative that Brexit would solve all problems. Trump isn't responsible for the UK, but its a ridiculous statement to suggest that political figures do not have massive impact on peoples lives. Either short term or long term.
Oh wow! You said full stop! It's all over people, everyone can go home now.
The thing about Trump is that nobody gives enough thought to the political environment and society that opened the door for him. I first saw Trump in 1990 on the news and I was 15 at the time. I thought he was a rich amoral whoremonger and I believe I had home pegged accurately. What I didn't understand was how much widespread adulation he received particularly in America but even the ITN news report had it as a subtext. Why was he worthy of it? It's simple, despite all of the bleating, he is a reflection of America itself. Not JFK,not MLK, not Lincoln or Washington but….Trump! His cameo appearances on children's movies, being feted by tinseltown, shock jocks, rappers and politicians is a reflection of a debased society where money and boosterism matters over character. The only real crime he committed was beating Hilary in 2016. Around 2006 I heard a GOP strategist on Matt Cooper or George Hook say "Thank God for Hillary" because of the poor prospects of the Republicans after Bush, and the odds that Hillary Clinton who was almost universally off putting being the Dems candidate would ultimately save the GOP. Which it ultimately did…but Trumpism was the consequence.
https://www.thejournal.ie/biden-bullseye-mistake-6437693-Jul2024/
https://www.theguardian.com/australia-news/article/2024/jul/16/tenacious-d-newcastle-show-postponed-donald-trump-shooting-assassination-comments-ntwnfb
Cancel culture alive and well in the land of OZ
Not to the same extent
I can't even say that I am the least bit surprised.
now if you don't take that seriously you need to have a good long hard look at yourself. he is a vile piece of shite.
Yes but why is Biden reaching out ?
It's all politics
Typical deranged MAGA Republican comment about the shooting.
Of course, those oh so concerned about the Democratic messaging towards Trump will have no comment to make on such inflammatory language and conspiracy theory whistling blaming the Democrats.
Marjorie Taylor Greene is facing calls to resign on social media after she quickly blamed Democrats for the attempted assassination of former President Donald Trump, saying Republicans are in a “battle” against the “party of pedophiles.”
The Georgia Republican congresswoman baselessly alleged there’s a conspiracy afoot, insisting “Democrats wanted this to happen” and have “wanted Trump gone for years and they’re prepared to do anything to make that happen.”
https://www.msn.com/en-ie/news/world/mtg-faces-calls-to-resign-after-wild-statement-on-trump-shooting-democrats-are-the-party-of-pedophiles/ar-BB1q1jOH?ocid=msedgdhp&pc=U531&cvid=565e49b1d9e74d039aa5bfa72fe8e710&ei=51
Ah, The Grand Old Party.
Because it is the decent and proper thing for an American President to do.
Biden would forget who he is even talking to once he has been handed the phone. Might even think he is talking to Putin😂
He's reaching out because it's proper and decent?
Yet says nothing about the 500lb bombs
Would it not be proper and decent to speak out about that or is it all politics
It's always the right wing that complain about cancel culture, who are the ones that officially cancel more.
True, it’s a farcical dynamic.
There seems to be a severe mental block with some of the simpler minds that prevents them from even having a basic understanding about the point about the similarities between the political journeys of both men. Some people hear "Hitler" and are completely ignorant of the man's history pre WWII. But there's numerous overlaps between Donald Trump's political path and Adolf Hitler's, whether any of it was intended or not, and it's undeniable if one knows their history.
Does that mean that Trump is Hitler? No. Does it mean that that both men's political lives, outlooks and desires are the exact same? No. But that's not what is being said here. Are there similarities and parallels with the trajectory of both men however? Yes, and they are very clear, if one knows of them.
Even some of the external conditions that gave rise to Hitler can be compared with the conditions that have seen Trump's political star ascend. Both men are seen by their extremist followers as messianic who's a cure for all of their ills. Both men promise the sun, moon and stars to these followers and will engage in all manner of extremist lies to massage that base's wants and beliefs…a base that's become completely disillusioned with the body politic of their country. Such conditions existed in Germany a century ago, as they do in portions of America today where, rightly or wrongly, people feel utterly disenfranchised with the political stalemate that they believe they see as stagnating their nation. This has allowed populists like both Hitler and Trump to occupy the political space that such a disillusionment creates.
While there are numerous differences between both men and their political lives, there are also numerous resemblances too. You just have to be aware of them.
Yes exactly!
No arguments, it is what it is.
As you say Trump is a reflection of vast swathes of US citizens.
I recollect reading some time back that TV programs in the US were aimed at a mental ability of a twelve year old viewer.
I have seen a few of the MAGA followers interviewed, they cannot be told nor educated, they work on fear and hate.
Trump serves them well.
Of course behind it all is cash and those that make a fortune out of the lunacy, a bit like the ERG in the Tory party.
And to add to the above, the US National Debt increased by 7 trillion under his watch. And we think corruption is bad in Putin's Russia (which it is BTW!)