The two Johnnie's are to move to the iconic mid-morning Gerry Ryan slot and Jen Z goes to drive according to the red tops today https://www.rsvplive.ie/news/celebs/2fm-planning-major-shake-up-32825017
how come its always the Irish Sun that has these stories 🤔
It would seem The Sun have a agent or someone who is feedin these stories, plus they will print any old sh*te
There may well have been. However those that got the gig seemed to be well connected to the right people.
Beta Da Silva is taking over drivetime "for a while" - his words.
Will be interesting to see how this goes. I'm a big fan of him on his 7pm new music show, but that's very much a "that was, this is" affair, which he is good at, and sounds relaxed and like he's enjoying himself....hopefully he's allowed transfer this style to drivetime, and isn't forced to be "mad" or be a " giant messer".
I guess they’re to get the new line up working together. You’d have thought that was the 5 weeks of Ms Ryan was in for to do that. Your man has hosted shows by himself.
Even makes the statement of Lottie temporary role even worse. They can’t even lie good about it
Seems to be doing sound today anyways.
Very good interview about 2FM with John Clarke in today's Indo. "Personality driven station that plays a bit of music".
I never knew that having a shouty voice, laughing over nothing and thinking that everything is "so amazing" constituted a "personality' 😟
In my 30 odd years of memory, 2FM was never a place for voices of anger, protests or hate.
https://www.independent.ie/entertainment/radio/former-rte-2fm-boss-says-its-now-a-personality-driven-station-that-plays-a-bit-of-music/a967978080.html https://www.sundayworld.com/showbiz/celebrity/former-rte-2fm-boss-says-its-now-a-personality-driven-station-that-plays-a-bit-of-music/a563720900.html
I'm pretty sure John Clarke signed off from his radio show years ago with a little bit of a rant along the same lines as what he said here. I don't remember very much about it now but he mentioned hearing a presenter going on for ages about their oven.
What he said about the finances is interesting too and goes to show how badly it is being run now.
Looking at the financial state of 2FM, Clarke says their income has collapsed since his heyday there. “I think it’s sad that 2FM isn’t making money...When I was running the station for 10 years we were making so much money that we didn’t take any of the licence fee money."We went from €12 million when I took it over in 1999, to €20 million, which was on a par with Radio One. We were hugely successful financially and never went over the budget.
Looking at the financial state of 2FM, Clarke says their income has collapsed since his heyday there. “I think it’s sad that 2FM isn’t making money...When I was running the station for 10 years we were making so much money that we didn’t take any of the licence fee money.
"We went from €12 million when I took it over in 1999, to €20 million, which was on a par with Radio One. We were hugely successful financially and never went over the budget.
Also in the John Clarke article - Sunshine Radio has a bigger Dublin listenership than 2FM.
As has been previously said here there needs to be a deep questioning of how 2FM operates.
Yes and Sunshine has a grand total on air staff of 4. 2fm has passed that threshold by 9am.
I like john and his shows over the years, though to pull him up on presenters leaving 2FM at the same time, from what I remember big names Tony Fenton, Gareth O'Callaghan, Dusty Rhodes had each left 2FM in a short space of time under his reign.
I don't remember any particular fuss being made about these presenters leaving at the time. Even though they were well known, were any of them top-tier presenters? Tony Fenton is probably better remembered now for his later career on Today FM. Gareth O'Callaghan had probably reached his sell-by date and was Dusty Rhodes ever a big name?
2FM is so dependent on its big names now, any of them leaving is the equivalent of Ian Dempsey's departure or Gerry Ryan's death. In the old days, they'd simply do a bit of a reshuffle and the station would continue on as normal. I was a little surprised to see he would've given the 2 Johnnies the time off. I wonder what the thinking behind that is? That it's better to lose them for a couple of months than to lose them forever?
Ya, Tony Fenton's departure was the only one of those 3 departures that made the front pages of the newspapers and indeed he was the only one of them to get another equivalent "big gig" so to speak.
To put it in context at their time of leaving Tony was with 2FM for 18 years, Gareth for 16 years and Dusty for 9 years.
Sure, taking the whole summer off was the norm for Gerry Ryan when JC was head of 2fm
amazing how so many of the 2FM auld lads have a complete lack of empathy towards anyone still there. Old man yells at cloud vibes from several of them.
G Ryan took the summer off (around 6 weeks) from the early days of the morning talk show around early 1990s, not just under JC's reign.
Gay Byrne and others did too on Radio 1, no issue was made about it then, it was the norm - just like Glenroe off air for the summer on RTE TV.
These were totally different times and Ireland was a much laid back happier country to live in and be in the media in.
The €20million that 2FM was taking in during that peak period equates to €385k a week, those days are never ever ever coming back again, I don't know how they ever got to that.
It was a different market back then. Newstalk didn't go national until 2006/07 and there were no podcasts.
There was also no music streaming, no youtube to get music from, FM radios in every decent mobile phone, radios played in shops, on work sites and even some offices; and the economy was wildly overheating in a consumer consumption lead manner.
There is no point trying to compare the two eras. 2FM could clearly be run better, and cheaper, than it is now; but its not going to make 20m profit. And at the time, how genuine that profit was was often brought up - they didn't consider the cost of their RTE supplied news, for instance.
There does need to be a review of what is its public service remit; and whether some things should be there at all - but I doubt it'd be possible to make a profit on commercial income currently.
As a retired RTE producer put it to me. It used to be all about the show and it's audience, but over the years it became about how to promote the product, the product being the tallent.
Irish radio was awash with cash during the Peak Celtic tiger days, UTV/Wireless group paid 52 million euro just for FM104 in 2007. I reckon the entire wireless Irish portfolio of 6 stations wouldn't fetch that amount today.
A bang of Toy Show The Musical (Light), off this campaign, engaging in something you have zero remit for as part of your use of public money…
Tracy Clifford and Lottie Ryan have been made permanent staffers so they both have a job in RTE until they are 70. https://www.thesun.ie/tvandshowbiz/13464028/2fm-stars-rte-pay-row-tracy-clifford-lottie-ryan/
If you don’t like it ladies, you’re free to try your luck elsewhere.
tracy should have kept her mouth shut. Lottie must have thought it would go her way being Gerry daughetr
Who said anything about not liking them? There is an issue tho if RTE are going to be expected to make all 2fm hosts staffers going forward, first of all, RTE are meant to be shrinking their workforce by 400, having to find token jobs elsewhere in the organisation for everyone who gets "too old" for 2fm in the future is not sound financial planning
that Irish Sun article manages to insult just about everyone. Imagine being asked to take a pay cut moving from being a contractor to a paid up staff member with all the benefits that entails!
insulting to people on digital stations and researchers too
Take a look at this paragraph from the Citizen's Information website https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/employment/employment-rights-and-conditions/employment-rights-and-duties/employment-laws-in-ireland/#270e3f
The Protection of Employees (Fixed Term Work) Act 2003 protects fixed-term employees by ensuring they cannot be treated less favourably than comparable permanent workers, and that employers cannot continually renew fixed term contracts. Under the Act, employees can only work on one or more fixed term contracts for a continuous period of 4 years. After this, the employee is considered to have a contract of indefinite duration (e.g. a permanent contract).
Depending on how you interpret the status of the people RTE have been contracting for years, they might have to make a lot of people permanent.