Here we go again. Hopefully we'll see some great matches over the next fortnight.
steady on Annabel.
I don't think a male commentator could call a female player ''' hot ''
Ya, whoever did that, should have been drop kicked out of there. I don't know if security would have quietly removed them, or if it was possible to pinpoint them though.
Annabel Croft could not be more graceful and professional under pressure after her own minor gaffe - I love her!
🙄🙄🙄
Stars and sports need rivals though. He has none and not looking like he will either. Sinner might be, outside that there's like hope of anyone else making the level.
didn’t see Novaks knee affecting him. If it did then he might continue for a bit but if I didn’t then I really don’t see him hanging around for much longer, no point if he can’t win a slam anymore.
No gaffe, she just wanted to call him hot .🔥
I hardly think it was scripted, and she dealt brilliantly with it.
Sinner is a rival it’s 4-5 in H2H and sinner has won a grand slam as well- beating Djokovic on the way. If you were to say 3 years ago then I’d have agreed, but I think men’s tennis is very solid. Might not have the same casual fan appeal as it did but that was more down to Federer and Nadal than anything else.
She said he was on fire and Novak said he was hot…no?
She said it first, clearly hadn't meant to and was laughing as soon as it was out, and then corrected herself by saying he was on fire.
He forgot about the ball didn't he, the football it is.
Ah yes I just watched it back there…missed the "hot, talented opponent…"
not a massive tennis fan but always thought Djokovic was an ok type of bloke but since the ‘no-vax’ thing and Australian antics and then last weeks booing episode he has to be up there as one of the biggest bankers ever in tennis……worse than even McEnroe in his hay day……he should walk away now and leave it to the young ‘lads’.
Wasn't Federer 21. Not sure but I thought I heard he was
If he can make a final he can win a slam
Anything can happen an opponent or Alcaraz in final or before
this run was the easiest he’s ever had. But yeah I do think he’s probably about 4 slam attempts left in him. Sinner beat him at his favourite slam without facing a single break point. I feel like the torch has probably finally been passed tbh.
Says more about the standard really. He already has more slams than Murray for example, but it's hard to know is he actually better, or will he ever be despite how many he wins?
Murray unfortunate with the era he was in, you do need a certain context when looking at slams. Nadal too generally always had to face Federer, Djokovic and Murray, wheres Federer and Djokovic have had a couple of years either side of Nadal without much competition
yeah course context is needed. He has beaten an old Djokovic in 2 slams now. He is already a better tennis player than Murray was. Hits the ball harder and has better feel and is a better mover. I’d still put murray in a top 15 of all time. Possibly 10.
Carlos is a great champion. Delighted he won.
Is Alcaraz that good, really? Honestly, an in form Nadal and Fed and Nole hammer him I think. Yes, he is only 21, but how much better will he get? Today he played well, but Nole was very poor I thought. Nole from a few years ago he definitely was not!!! Looks an old man
Literally on what basis do they hammer him? Be intrigued to hear your analysis on his game that the other would completely pick apart? Is it his speed? His 108mph forehand’s? Or perhaps his awful drop shots lol.
Sinner needs to start stepping up to the plate at the Slams for it to be a proper rivalry.
and I’m sure he will. He’s world number one and knows how to beat Alcaraz. They are both very young. Sinner beat the best returner of all time in Australia without facing a break point.
The big three on form all too strong. Everywhere!!
haha casual fan , fair enough.
6 years of age fan by sounds of it, you!!
I thought that was a great match!
Some of the shots Alcaraz was achieving were just brilliant.
Some of the shots Djokovic missed especially at the net!
I don't think Djokovic brought his A game, whether that was from not getting a proper competitive match before the final, the leg operation, just getting old or a combination of all 3.
However can't fault alcarez game, a strong win from the start. Once he doesn't injure himself he has a great career ahead of him.
Djocks name seemed to be on this years version given his easy draw and free Q/F but he was beaten out the gate today.I doubt he will ever have such an easy run to a final again.I think Sinner and Alcaraz now have his measure and on a good day Zverez and Medvedez will stop him from now on.