So the balls-up has started since last night which makes Fairview from clontarf to Edges corner a single lane with bollards down the centre.
This will be a permanent feature and works will take 21 months.
I'm not sure what DCC can do to stop it currently unless they put in physical barriers (which, on the whole, I would be against) - it really needs enforcement by AGS but this would be way down their list of priorities so they've no interest in policing footpath or cycle lane parking
Put it under the remit of Parking Enforcement?
We have the worst of both worlds at the moment, there is sufficient physical barrier to stop cyclists entering the roadway, but it is not enough to stop vehicles entering the cycleway.
Obviously massive enforcement is the only issue, but it is entirely a leadership issue why it is not done. It would be revenue positive to have Guards enforcing this **** for a few months, it is a deliberate choice to not do it.
Probably the best bet on this would be your local councillor, to be honest. Donna Cooney, the new deputy mayor would be all over this stuff like a shot, pretty sure that she uses it in the morning.
Do DCC still have traffic wardens and can they deal with a parking issue like this if it is reported to the council (i.e. before the driver moves away*). My understanding is that most parking enforcement relates to overstaying your ticket and is dealt with by Dublin Street Parking Services (DSPS) who presumably don't have a remit to tackle footpath or cycle lane issues?
* can they issue a ticket based on a photo received from the public?
You complain to the council and the council direct you the gardaí. The Gardaí then direct you back to the council.
The Irish state has built a, dare I say very impressive, Web of responsibility loops. Nobody is actually responsible for anything through a complex set of arrangements that pushes problems around until the complainant disappears.
If you are forceful enough you'll get the privilege of going to a garda station to give a statement which will be hand written on paper, signed by you, and then promptly discarded. I have found the garda with the pen is the 'final boss' of complaining about how horrific rule enforcement is. If you feel you weren't listened to you can contact the ombudsman but then they'll only send you back to loop 2.
I've raised issues with Donna before, and it's best to send her an email. Another two would be Naoise Ó Muirí and a newly elected young guy, Barry Heneghan. Barry seems to be pro cycling, and is from Clontarf.
Best of luck with that, that truck would be like a ship in the Panama Canal going down there. Plus, the garage usually has all the spots taken up.
I always laugh to myself when motorists complain about ugly traffic bollards and wands, and blame their existence on cyclists
No you ignorant tool, if you would stop driving/parking in cycle lanes, they wouldn't be required.
All that sitting behind a wheel going nowhere must seriously dim the brain.
They released the report, and it's as hilarious as I knew it was going to be.
Good break down of it here, where he points it that they based all their figures in a survey of people in Henry Street and Grafton Street, the two biggest shopping streets in the city, and used that to extrapolate their results. Apparently 55% of people going into the city are going to shop, FFS, such an elementary error that I knew they'd make.
Very good. How are businesses supposed to get deliveries done?
These bike lanes are just going to have constant blockages and will be partially removed eventually to accommodate business who's suppliers have no choice.
There is a bit of a reality check coming once the Greens are gone after the election I think.
Stop in the road. Or use one of the many, many loading bays and parking facilities that exist.
How about they just stop in the middle of the private car lane and unload there? Sure "they'll only be a second", and sure can't other cars can just wait politely for a clearance in the oncoming traffic to overtake.....
....it's amazing people don't see the arrogance and privilege, that they couldn't possibly imagine stopping in the car lane, but it's totally fine to impede cyclists and pedestrians.
You can go around them. It's not hard. Cyclists seem to think they have privileges they don't have. Start paying the same in cycle tax as motorists pay in motor tax then we'll chat.
Until then I'll play the world's smallest violin
Oh great!! You already own a tiny violin. Keep playing it there until the cycle lanes are all dug up. Any day now for sure 😅
Update on C2CC: (Clontarf to City Centre) Most of work will be finished in Sept. And traffic restrictions will end in Sept. Should see a lot of progress in next few weeks as they have night shifts from 12 to 4 most nights. But section along Marino Mart from junction at Joeys to Malahide Rd junction has thrown up problems with utilities underground. This section won’t be finished until October. 2 pedestrian crossings will be installed. One near Cadogan Rd & one at Marino Mart at driving school. Boulders in front of park near bus stop are temporary and will be replaced by railings.
Please outline your calculations for your proposed cycle tax. Will it be based on co2 emissions, the same as motor tax?
No invented taxes by the green ecomentalists. Soon we won't need to worry about socialism masquerading as the green rubbish.
Pay your share of road space and we'll talk.
In terms of tax I would say the easiest way is to put €7,000 on the purchase of any bike.
Please buy an electric car. Will discuss your proposals then.
Santa won't be happy carrying Eur7k bicycles around, his insurance premium will go through the roof.
Is this a comedy act?
Yes, a long running one. He’s like a genie in a lamp - any time anyone talks about roads or cycle lanes, Kermit here pops up to espouse the virtues of a ten lane motorway running through Parliament street. The addition of punitive taxes on cyclists is a new and exciting addition though.
seriously, block that account, it's not worth engaging with and it will enhance your enjoyment of Boards greatly. I only see their comments because people keep replying, and it's pointless.
Is the pedestrian bridge being removed? Or will there be the bridge and another crossing point 25 metres further on?
Blocked
No idea.
@spurious Afaik they originally planned to remove the pedestrian bridge, but rolled back on that. Not sure why, perhaps after pushback during consultation. So there will be both crossings.
Do not post in this thread again. Had enough of your trolling.
The pedestrian bridge will remain. It was overhauled a few years ago after massive pushback for it to be removed and replaced with a pedestrian crossing. Now the pedestrian crossing is going to be there anyway. No harm in it remaining there, I’m an impatient fecker, so I’ll still hop up over that than wait at lights.
I would imagine when it needs any further work, the bridge will be removed.
Couple of new businesses popping up in North Strand. Not perfect cycle lane by any means but I'd bet numbers using it will double so its a template for build it and they will come.
One problem is it ends abruptly at junction of Talbot Street and Amiens Street for now. Opportunity with Talbot St revamp to build two way cycle lane to connect to Marlborough St/ O'Connell St.