Clare GAA Discussion part 2
lad in 2013 all we heard was tradition was going to get us over the line , that time it was cork 30 clare 3 now its cork 30 clare 4 , no one gives one shite about corks tradition on here
Cork at 8/11 are the bookies favourites, but I think the gap between the two is wider. I think Clare would be still a level behind Limerick had they played them today, wheras Cork have drawn now at least level with Limerick in standard, and have probably marginally surpassed them, a gap which will start to widen.
So I think there's quite a big gulf there. This is a far better Cork side than when Clare last played them. Cork have gone up a few levels since then. I think it could be very one sided actually, a return to form to the one sided nature of the Cork/Clare rivalry in general!
Not so sure.
It's called banter.
Cork just passed them outβ¦
Everyone was saying Clare were the closest to them so that definitely must make ye favourites?
Tradition means Cork have won 30 All-Irelands, and Clare 4. Isn't that the point of the game, to win All-Irelands, by default creating tradition?
Good one.. Cork just beat the team that won 5 of the last six all-lrelands..
Would McCarthy hold his place for the freetaking? I think games can pass him by at times, I think Reidy is arguably your most underrated player and was a mistake to drop him for the Munster final, agree regards Malone.
i keep thinking to the lad i heard roar back in 2018 munster final . "up the rebels you cant bet tradition" once since then in championship we have lost to cork , tradition is about as important as the kilfenora or tulla bands are to the clare hurling team , it wont win you anything
There's talk of this cork team doing multiple all irelands over in the other thread! π The ink isn't even dry on the refs report for today's game! Don't know where cork supporters get the cockiness tag from! π
probably david reidy , kelly would move into a more forward position or else we would play with a 3 man midfield , you cant drop malone he is too important to winning dirty ball in rucks , he put in a serious shift yesterday and most of it is off camera when watching it on tv
And keep the score down to less than 40 point gap π
Lads if Taylor got back in for the final who is most likely to lose out?
Ah sure look aren't we just happy to be in an All Ireland Final, we're only the small fish! It'll be an honour to share the field with this mighty cork team. πππ
we were in section 306 in the cusack , we could see everything , and for whatever reason kelly put in nothing until the last 15 minutes , i have no idea why if it were tactical then lohan told him not to get involved in any rucks and keep paddy deegan (his marker) out of the way
talyor was a sensation when he came on and fitting he finished the game with the ball in his hand after doing his ACL this time last year against kilkenny and first game back
rodgers has to come too far out the field to win his own ball , but when shanagher is introduced he dose all that and rodgers feeds off him afterwards
we fell over the line ourselves yesterday , both counties have had too many disappointments at semi finals in the past 6 years , we would take a referee to blow the game up 2 minutes early yesterday to get over the line π
I wouldn' read too much into the end of the game today. It was a changing of the guard type of game. Limerick were always going to try and force it at the end, last kick of a dying horse sort of stuff. Now that Cork actually got over the line, they'll kick on further from that.
Clare are going to have huge problems dealing with this rejuvenated Cork team I think. Cork will be running at them from all angles, blitzing them. Corks interplay, pace, movement, now aligned with belief, is going to take some stopping. I think Cork could run away with this tbh
You will agree with me that Clare would take a fall over the line victory v Limerick. I think Cork should have won by more today. They last 10 mins including ET I wasn't happy with from Cork point of view
you are right they have improved but they were on there knees in the latter stages today , and fell over the line against dubliin , thats why i worry about us having a bad start because they usually start at 100 miles an hour
I really think Cork have stepped it up a gear or two since halfway through their championship group in Munster this year. A rejuvented team in belief, compared to what we seen in 22,23 and the first half of this year. I think it's a mistake believing the Cork that Clare beat then, will be the same one in the final. They're hitting their potential now. Different animal. And if that's the case, I'd be trying to figure out why Clare had previously struggled with Corks game, more so that any other county.
A big last 15 minutes from Kelly and Rodgers on the scoreboard. Massive impact from Taylor and Galvin off the bench.
our only championship defeat to cork since 2018 was in 2021 we have played every years since bar 2020
i wont be getting over excited that its cork in the final and not limerick , our win record is like 20% over the last five or six years against them , where's our championship record since 2018 against cork is like 80% with the only defeat being in 2021
but its totally different , if we make all them mistakes that we made yesterday and allow all them goal chances we will be seriously up against it by half time going on yesterday
i remember a cork man in the first game in 2013 turning around to me after the anthem and saying cork need to win today nearly 10 years is too long to go without an all ireland , i never taught i would see cork go another ten especially the likes of hoggie
Their hth head is something like 40-16 to Cork. I'd say generally Clare don't play well against Cork, bar the last few meetings granted. But I think Cork have raised their level since then
Your actually right. Didn't realise Clare won 4 of their 5 last meetings, which is their best ever run along with beating them 4 times in a row in the mid 90's. Other than that though, it's been bleak for Clare for much of hurlings history with Cork, well 2013 too.
Could you say Cork declined somewhat since 2021, but have picked it back up this year. Because if that's the case, normal service may resume. If I was involed in Clare hurling, I'd still be keen to work out the reason Clare have generally struggled to deal with something in Corks game for much of their history. Because I think this will be a different Cork to the one Clare beat a few times lately
and kerry years back too!!
Worked for Donegal in 1992. Hope ye can do it
Wait till you see who Cork beatβ¦
I am a firm believer that anything can happen on the day. Nobody including myself gave Cork a chance today but they showed up and got over the line just.
Clare always play well against Cork. It's a tough game to call.