No no no James Bond there’s an awful lot wrong with KK GAA at the moment which will have to be rectified. The three management teams will have to be replaced, no doubt about it if you don’t think so tell me what there objectives were and did they reach there target so they have to go Henry for minor, Mark alyward for U20 and Tom Mullally for seniors.
I agree there's always a huge reaction but yesterday will hurt everyone involved for a while. We were so dominat in the 1st half how were we not 10 or 12 points up. Is it fitness that's causing us to go out of games so much? This has gone on a few years. Could we spend the money and get in bigger names in this department? I still think we are poorly coached and give some terrible ball into the forwards. What will haunt management over the winter is again they were afraid to use subs. Molloy,Wall or Shane Murphy would of made a better impact because they have legs.Push up deegan. He is at a crossroad now. He needs to forget Cody's team. There's positions that just have to be filled. Corner back,center back and a few forwards. We definitely arent a millions miles off but look at Cork now lads like Hayes and downey came thru the underage ranks. It's being a massive joke the way the u20 particularly was handled. Need to appoint the proper people to these teams.
Hayes would not have stopped seamus callaghan going for goal in 2011, no human would. It's harder to score from full back.
Also that kilkenny team added 4 more all irelands the far side of their 4 in a row.
I can't recall any player scoring a great great goal (I'm not criticising Cody) and that was his sum total over 75 mins.
Agreed👍
I think when kk lose everything is wrong from management the county board s and c to many older players on the panel the underage structure not enough support at games etc
When in reality there are issues that need to be tweaked and changed or improvements made in certain areas but for the most part we’re not in a bad position
It’s just a frustration that we could and should be doing better
I can’t recall a Kilkenny scoring two goals and not conceding any and losing. The breeze seemed to strengthen in the second half.
Fair points
As a Clareman, I think some posters on this site are exaggerating the negatives re this kilkenny team. Quite simply ye should have had yesterday's game wrapped up by half time. Well on top with loads of unconverted goal chances etc. At the start of the second half Kilkenny failed to convert a few further easy chances that would have given them a very comfortable lead. Inevitably Clare came back into the game but at the end the margin was so small. Kilkenny are THE great hurling county. Ye still have loads of talented hurlers and should be competitive well into the future. The main problem for Kilkenny that I see is the poor Leinster hurling championship. I'm not comparing the quality of the teams but rather the relatively low key atmosphere at the Leinster games. I attend all Clare games and as many limerick games as I can. Each of these games regardless of the quality of the hurling is a great occasion; well attended, keen rivalry, banter, pubs full and plenty of craic. Kilkenny would revel in that type of championship with their skill, commitment and never say die attitude. Rather they are playing lacklustre teams in the current Galway and Dublin teams neither of whom show much passion. Kilkenny needs the emergence of another Leinster quality team, like Offaly in thec90s etc, to bring the best out of them. Just a few unsolicited thoughts.
Hope the county board and management team watched closely to today’s game and can see what it takes to beat Limerick.
You have to out muscle them. Clare did it a few years ago when they beat them in the round robin. Cork’s physicality today was out standing and the managed to do it for 75 minutes not 35.
I was saying for a while that Limericks weakness,if they had one was their goal threat. They seem to win games by scoring incredible points. When they did score a goal they usually got it because of the opposition teams mistake rather than their own sheer brilliance. Cork kept a clean sheet today and that’s what won them the game in the end.
I believe that Kilkenny have a serious starting 15 team at the moment in terms of hurling abilities. But they aren’t on the same level of fitness as the other counties. This needs to be addressed asap if we are to compete next year.
Pretty sure there is a JJ highlights reel on YouTube. Worth watching for everyone to remember how good he actually was. JJ was a defender. Hayes is a forward playing wing back. Both play different games in different t generations. I would have Hayes making it alongside JJ and Tommy in a combined half back line
They battled the best Munster had to offer in 06-09 finals
Bet a Clare team on the way down in 02 or 03
But Hayes is bigger,stronger and faster. Scores more from play. Jj was my favourite player aswell but he's not better than Hayes who's probably the best wing back of all time already at 26
Hayes over JJ. Never in a million years. JJ is the greatest of all time and its not recognised because he wasn't a forward
IIt's the accumulative effect of playing the best teams. Look at this current Kilkenny team..still getting to All Ireland semis when in reality they probably wouldn't get out of the Munster round Robin. I loved that JJ Delaney team but as fantastic as he was ( one of the best ever)... Id take Kyle Hayes over him every time for his athleticism and size and power.
They didnt battle through Munster because they were in Leinster, who in Munster would have stopped them may be Tipp.
That great kilkenny team never had to battle their way through munster. Physically Limerick are better but hurling wise yeah maybe Kilkenny of that era . But Limericks 4 in a row is better than Kilkenny's. 2 great sides
bit of a difference between Leinster and Munster championships in fairness
Fair play newhouse, Tipp team of that era were some team too. Five is hard to do lads.
Yeah have to agee yere team was superior. Way more individual geniuses on that great ,kilkenny team and more off the cuff which is why they are so fondly remembered even in tipp. Played in much better fashion just quick direct hurling, great to watch.
Congrats to Cork. Great game by both teams. A great limerick team is gone but they were not near our great team. People forget they lost 3 times in the bid for five in a row. We reached the 5 in a row final unbeaten in 23 games (great kerry team went 22 unbeaten).
The standard of hurling in today's game was on a different level than yesterday's.
Limericks big men poor to day Hayes, Hannon, Hegarty few more.
Great game. Lk did very well to get within 2 and figure out the wind into the Jones Rd end. A repeat of yesterday's game for me; wind a huge factor. Losing team looked in control ar ht. In reality the winners managed the first half deficit and energy levels. Very easy scoring by winners from any field position into hill 16 in both games. Lots of wides even from frees into Jones rd end by both Kk and Lk.
What a game and what a win for Cork. They were outstanding all the way through and the intensity they brought was savage. I don't normally say this but you have to credit Cork. Limerick have been outstanding champions but from our point of view its great their 5 in a row ambitions are over. Surely the kilkenny lads will be looking at this saying we need to bring that type of game to championship hurling. It was an outstanding game to be fair.
Cork kept the tempo up for the whole game, some effort.
We are nowhere near that level of fitness and endurance
Can't agree with that, clare only got vocal when they got to 3pts behind after Billy's goal up to that they were quiet, also all this crapp that were better off being bet because of what limerick would do to us is also out the window.game is there to be won on the day and cork proved that.we had the game yesterday and through it away.were close and have to figure out how to get it over the line
While this limerick team are superb I don't think they are they level of that Kilkenny team for hurling or skill. Game has evolved so much and Limerick have created such a process driven game that they excel at
Depressing stuff. We used to play at the level of both of these teams
Christ we are miles behind the standard of todays match. Limerick are just unreal. I always thought our 4 in a row team were better but I'm seriously questioning it
I have to agree as I said earlier end of an era start of a new era
The only benefit of the end of the year is the more than likely retirements of Buckley, Wally and Fogarty which will force them to use the younger players on the bench and bleed more in early next year.