The pattern of fading out of games is going on 2 years, happened against Wexford and Galway in the Leinster championship also, having zero impact off the bench is a main reason for this. The 3 subs yesterday actually made Kilkenny worse, how could we bring on Conor Fogarty, the only chance we had at that stage was catching Clare on a break, Billy Ryan had the potential to do that. I would like to see Lyng stay because the truth be told is there anyone to replace him? He has a very average team to deal with, we did not beat anyone this year.
support at away games has been poor all year. Doubt even all the season ticket holders went to a lot of the games. The core support that go to most games is tiny. Maybe it’s all the years of winning, the interest doesn’t seem to be there now
Do lads think that the second half fade outs that we've seen this and last year against Clare and against Limerick are down to fitness or some other reason. I note that we played against the wind in the second half yesterday and against Limerick last year. Both games seemed to follow a pattern. We should have been much further ahead at half time in both games but for some poor finishing and some odd refereeing decisions. Then in the second half in both games the opposition pushed up on us and we seemed to start pucking the ball from deep which the opposition mopped up. We didn't get the ball to the scoring zone which reduced our ability to score points dramatically. Now granted Clare and Limerick were more energised in the second half and there were other factors at play like our poor bench but it seems that the main issue was us not being able to play the ball out to the right areas. Fatigue or tactics or a bit of both? I saw Murphy hollering at lads yesterday to come and show for the ball in the second half but than they all come back and there's no outlet further up the field. So I suppose to play against the wind you need runners or very smart positional play and fitness to carry it out. We need to use our bench earlier and maybe consider playing against the wind first half. But we definitely need to improve our puck out strategy against the wind when the opposition push up. Easier said than done I suppose. Anyway good luck to Clare in the final , they deserve to be there.
On the topic of support I can escape the wrath of Marooned as I was there yesterday. I did notice a lot of lads wearing these grey type Kilkenny jerseys. WTF is that all about? You need to wear the colours so that when those players look into the stands they see as much black and amber as possible. Black and amber may not be the most flattering but it's not an effing fashion shoot lads.
It’s a good question re why we’re not as passionate or as vocal when it comes to getting behind the team at games. Maybe if we had bigger crowds going you’d be more inclined to roar your team on, sometimes you feel a bit silly if you’re the only one doing it.
The only time Kilkenny fans stood up and roared yesterday was when we scored a goal. The Clare crowd went wild every time they scored a point and for every block or hook and rightly so.
It’s definitely a strange one.
I understand that and I wasn’t having a go at the OP or anything but I’m saying the reasons they do what they actually do makes no sense…. if you know what I mean.
there was people on already about lack of support. In my eyes the true supporters attend most games both club and intercounty, are a member of a club,and are a member of the Kilkenny supporters club . Anything less than that are fairly fickle supporters. I know the posters who are will reply and the posters that aren’t will be outraged, I also know people have circumstances which don’t allow attend for various reasons.someone said it to me onetime when we were begging for tickets outside Nowlan park that he was the best supporter of all time having attended all the all Irelands Kilkenny were in, no other matches just the All Irelands.they get offended here when I bring up the subject but the fact of the matter is they couldn’t be bothered.
After reflection of yesterday's game I think this present team may never see an All Ireland medal. If we played only our subs and extended panel they wouldn't even get out of leinster.The team doesn't have it and there's nothing coming after because of years of mismanagement of under age teams. I apologise if it causes offence but it's the grim reality.
TJ is still god trying to slight him at this stage is just wrong
Taking off Billy Ryan and bringing on Fogarty was the end.
Owen Wall should have been put in there midway through the second half.
Not enough being made of the wastefulness of TJ Reid’s long distance frees in the 2nd half. He should’ve copped it early to change things up with then. I’d say 4 or 5 were wasted when going for a score that wasn’t achievable.
I was confident before the match yesterday. I was confident at half time despite the misses and a few lads not clicking. My confidence dropped dramatically after about 2mins of the second half..mossy and cody both missed handy chances and I think clare got hope from that ..after that clare took over and we didn't hurl at all.. I can see how Lyng brought older heads on to steady the ship and its easy say now but he needed to be braver and give the likes of wall and Murphy a chance.
Are we ever going to learn that no matter how good or important to the team a player is, there is no point starting a lad who is not fit..
Play it on a Sunday and there's 10k more in it, first half atmosphere would imagine down to majority of fans being clare and they weren't at the races. Much livelier atmosphere when the tide was turning last 20 minutes. Re last point I'm absolutely gutted not to make the final, it's meant the world to the clare lads at the end, I don't think anyone goes to a final expecting to lose. Limerick will be beat some day, maybe today. There's always an ending and sometimes the fall comes fast.
Lyng has well earned the time to rebuild, things didn't work out yesterday but he has made good work on what's available and now is the time to try integrate some more of his u20 side and others.
Gets lost amidst defeat but what a save again from eoin murphy, privilege to see him over the years
To be fair he's not talking about what supporters should do he's talking about what they actually do. Although tbh people are talking about our bad support like it's a new thing. We were terrible supporters when we were winning all round us and back then the explanation was that we were taking it for granted (I remember in 07 and 08 finals, watching prob the greatest team of all time, and the difference between the polite applause that team got coming on the field compared to the deafening roar limerick and Waterford got, two teams not fit to lace their boots, it was a disgrace really). Now the explanation is that we don't have faith in the team winning. At some stage you have to admit we're just not that passionate a group of fans. Hurling is deeply embedded in the culture of the county, but that kind of passionate support isn't. I didn't know why and I don't know how to fix it, but it's reality.
That makes no sense. You go and support your team through thick and thin regardless of what you think the result might be.
I’ve heard people say stupid things like “why would you go when you know they’re going to get beaten “… fair weather supporters. That’s when your team needs you most .
Here is a genuine question. Does anyone feel that the crowd was so poor, and the atmosphere so relatively sterile, certainly in the first half, because it all feels a bit academic with Limerick, the most effective team to ever play the game inevitably going to win it out pulling up?
I think the format of the Club Championship is about the least of our worries
It’s so disappointing I can’t get my head around people not wanting to see players in the flesh the likes of Tj Reid j Donnelly a Mullen huw Lawlor c Kenny e Murphy etc
Are a sight to behold in full flow
David Blanchfields catch and score in the first half just class
Tj Reid broke the 700 point mark today just awesome stuff what an operator
how Shane Murphy was overlooked after the league campaign is beyond me.
We needed legs in the second half mossy was having a nightmare Cody was bottled up Mullen and Donnelly weren’t right Tj wasn’t going to run in behind
The game was crying out for an o wall or molloy or Shane murphy to ask different questions and stretch Clare
Wally and t Phelan just haven’t regained any form after there long injury layoffs
Superman if your out there, save us. Still no sign of Brookville, he would know what to do.
Lads, how long has your current club championship format been in place? Has it been a recent restructuring or around a while?
Just asking as we've copied it in Wexford this year for the first time, and I'm not convinced the lack of jeopardy in group games is good for the development of young lads.
you would be hoping this is the end of an era so a new one can begin. Really we will have to think long and hard about this. The county board is the common denominator in all this.. bad attitudes, won’t spend money they have a ball of money now and will **** this up by wasting it on sub standard facilities. Fail to prepare, prepare to fail. Just go down through all there failures this year alone we are all being very tolerant of them and we should be on to our clubs to make sweeping changes. As regards Derek he has had a dreadful week by anyone’s standards so I don’t think we should be criticising him now. I am so disappointed but mainly by the underage shambles.
I’ve probably missed 1 maybe 2 games Wally has played, not counting Walsh cup, didn’t see all those. Catching high ball was never his game, he was good at other things, definitely not that
The wind seemed to have more of an impact than you would have imagined. Should have been 10-12 ahead but missed goal chances and soft frees kept Clare in it. Ultimately, Adrian Mullen's injury and the fact that our subs are poor decided the match. Considering how poorly so many players performed and our poor tactics, it was staggering how close we got today
Pathetic comments if you're a kilkenny supporter. You probably weren't even in croker today. Walter has been one of our best fielders of the ball over the last 10-12 years. I counted 3 puckouts to Walter today when he was introduced.He didn't make an impact when introduced, we all know that but have some respect. There were many more areas of the field that didn't work and its something that needs addressing.
I haven't read every post here but today was sobering. Our forwards struggled and the backs were under pressure 2nd half. We looked the much better team 1st half but missed too many chances and our wasteful approach and the ref kept Clare in it. Some horrendous decisions.
My take aways are we need to leave the past behind us and concentrate on the future. I'm Conor Fogarty's biggest fan, what a warrior that man has been. He has a safe place in the KK hall of fame. Same with Wally, great servant, savagely dedicated and has had some huge moments in the black and amber.
But when we needed and impact today I don't believe they were the men to turn to. Who knows maybe Wall and Dunne might have flopped, but jaysus try it. Clare bench made a huge impact whereas we regressed.
A bad week for Kilkenny hurling.
I'd say you failed Basic English in junior cert 🙄
ah now, Wally couldn’t catch a cold, it was never his game. Murphy sending long ball down on top of him continuously was always a disaster
Disappointed we lost but grateful to the team and management for their huge effort and making a great game of it. Congrats to Clare and best of luck in the final. I and many Kk fans will be cheering you on. But Clare need to deliver 70+ mins at the 2nd half intensity to compete with Lk in an AI final.
Today
Today, the wind into Hill 16 was highly influential; balls held up into the Jones Rd end (helped backs) and flying forward into Hill 16 (helped corner fwds). Helped us looked great in the first half and Clare in the 2nd. Lack of a competitive Leinster final also a factor. We lost the game in the first half by not taking the goals and scoring more when we were well on top. The wind made our long ball style very ineffective in the 2nd half plus we hit a good few wides; again, the wind into the Jones Rd end imo. Also, Mullen was not himself; very sluggish, lower energy and slow compared to the Dublin game; didn’t see his usual tracking back and tackling. I assume he was unwell. Donnelly was our player of the year; played very well today even with the damaged thumb from the Wexford game. Fantastic goal from Cody; he will likely be our top forward but he needs pace and guile; outfoxed by Hogan. I was thrilled to see Mikey Carey blossom into a great player first against Wexford and again today; blistering pace; tenacious like Blanchfield; unlucky not to goal. The nucleus of a very good team (especially the backs) is there; need a CB. We just need to find a few more. I’m in favour of investing in club or regional S&C facilities, healthy nutrition (age 12 up), mental toughness in sports from age 14 (lots online and Fennelly knows a lot about it). These developments are good for all boys and girls to be competitive at whatever they do. Impressed by the club development of players like Tom Phelan, the OLG subs today, Bennetsbridge, Thomastown and Tullaroan lads to name a few. Dicksboro were close to the best club team last year; we need more representation from them.
I trust Lyng, Barry, Rice and Phelan with the development of the panel. They motivated the older players to stick around and show the new lads the s&c, effort and spirt needed to be competitive an But we need two rebuild. inter-county. I trust their judgment in patiently building the S&C of Kevin Blanchfield, McDonald (great MF in the league), Drennan, Shine, Heary, Clifford, Rowe etc. before thrusting them into the physicality of championship. But I think at least 6 of those or other young lads need to be on the 26 next year even if we fail to win Leinster.
don’t know how you make out I delighted to lose
Just because I called it 12 months ago
The sorry thing is how stupid the management of the team was. That’s a semie final and all Ireland minor lost because of poor management