Will this be "Independence Day" from the Tories?
That only works on people stupid enough to believe the Tories attempts to play themselves down.
This without question was an absolute bating.
more shifting back to the centre rather than going left, maybe?
Correct. When either Labour shift too far left it alliws the Conservative's to rule unimpeded. If either part occupy tge center while tge other drifts to an extreme then that party prospers
Do the parties not do tallies like we do in Ireland? Surely with FPTP tallies in many constituencies would be early and pretty accurate.
Generally not, no. I'd say never, cause I've never seen one; but there is likely to be some, somewhere, to prove me wrong.
No point in Sally's in FPTP as there is no subquence counts. The result will be as fast as the tally.
Tallying is done at the stage of verifying the votes in the boxes match what went in to them in the polling station - so before counting - so it should still be faster; and there are campaign reasons to know which boxes your vote came from also.
However, when simple seats are counted within 90mins there isn't much point. And while they probably would say they don't, counters absolutely slow down to help tallyers.
RTE doing better coverage of this election than of our own. I love an election, I'm not complaining, but they need to up their game for our own elections.
You can't do the same on our elections because you don't get results in one night.
Not really RTE's fault. If this was one of our own elections, the counters would be in bed by now and boxes wouldn't be opened until 9(ish) tomorrow morning.
Interested to read that Keir Starmer will be 62 in a few weeks. I thought he was about 10 years younger than that tbh.
Keeps himself well.
Of course I understand our results are slower to come in. But even then RTE has been very poor for the recent elections. Nowhere near enough coverage.
So after one hour you are saying they have done more coverage than our own elections ?
Bollix.
A few big differences first you are only looking for a single mark on the paper beside one name. In a transferable paper you have a larger ballot which techcan have a mark beside virtually all names.
It's seems that counters do not just have to look for a first preference but the second as well. I was always under the assumption that 2nd preference votes were sampled but on this firm it was posted that only third and subsequent preferences are sampled.
Where this really causes an issue is where there is a surplus on the first count as its a calculation not a sample taken from the votes.
I'm saying the coverage they are showing is superior to what they showed for our elections. Better and more balanced analysis and live coverage of count results. You disagree, grand.
Loser
The counting for second preferences in cases of a first count exclusion is done after the first count. Because its comparatively rarely needed.
According to some posters here the votes are separated into different bungles from the start into 2nd preferences bungles from the start they are not counted from the start just separated
They aren't.
Just saw this on the Northern Ireland subreddit
No exit poll? (self.northernireland)We've never had them. Dates from a time when it was bad for one's health to stand outside polling stations asking folk how they voted.
No exit poll? (self.northernireland)
We've never had them. Dates from a time when it was bad for one's health to stand outside polling stations asking folk how they voted.
BBC NI has some tallies from Lagan Valley on now.
I wonder if they have tallies in NI due to having cross border parties used to the idea.
Also maybe because they don't do exit polls (apparently seen as unsafe!) so there is some point to the tally.
Oh, I just hope Reform get less than ten.
I have a question, if Reform has 4 shareholders, is it not a company, not a party? Would it still be held to the same level of scrutiny as a registered political party?
So “Labour”- what now?
Tories have been pathetic over the last 10 years - but Labour?
Looks like the lefties are taking over for a while - Republic of Ireland watch and learn - do you actually want this bollox?
Sorry what that makes no sense
They do them in the North anyway. Mike Nesbitt was saying as much that Robin Swann has the team in the count centre doing it.
Getting sea sick watching Sky News coverage.
BBC coverage pretty poor. No need for Clive Myrie who seems out of his depth. Kay Burley not fit for this type of programme.
It's a two party system, you have to vote for one of us...
I thought younger also
Labour have cleaned up with Keir the next PM