Oh yeah I mean it makes sense they'd draw attention in an area where everything else is starkly different in contrast, but even in terms of a status symbol I just don't get it. An Abarth Fiat 500 would be more of a status symbol to me than that yoke.
I'd assume that the interior quality would be substantially better than the cheapo 500. Having thought about it, who needs performance when you're stuck in traffic. A small, high quality interior and well insulated car is ideal for the discerning consumer 😋
Or a Brabus Smart Car
Oh no I am actually one of those loons who will sacrifice comfort for a little pep in the step, even if all I get is 5-10 mins of use on a daily basis. Sure look, it's all down to a highly subjective matter of taste. To each their own I suppose.
Perhaps, although I never really like the smart car. It looks even more squished than the iQ10. Although having said that it does have nicer, cleaner lines than the iQ10 and the Aston Martin Cygnet.
Better interior adds weight so the car would be slower than what ever car it's based on. No way someone would pay that much for that car unless they owned a fleet of other cars.
Is that the car that was brought out for emissions reasons?
this is the engine they should have put in the production car
F**kers I was hoping they'd show us the engine bay. I suppose I could Google it for some pictures.
Cygnet was born for a few years to get past emissions regulations. Not needed now. Sat in one before; lovely interior to he fair. About £31k when new I think?
Now that's a status symbol. A majorly overpowered engine in a chassis it has no business being in whatsoever. I like this one. Bit more effort could have been put into blending the wheel arches into the quarte panels though.
Reposting this here as I'd say could be got for the bangernomics limit:
A colleague is selling her 08 Toyota Corolla. In great condition and has nice retrofitted extras like Android Auto & Apple Carplay and a reversing camera:
https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-corolla-2008-hi-spec-reverse-cam-low-km/37327077
In fairness that's a great looking Corolla should sell easily enough.
Looks immaculate. Lovely motor.
Yeah it's in great shape allright, few scratches and touch ups of course but compared to the stuff out there of similair age she's a diamond 😂
it would be one of the more expensive ones on DD
Another corolla bangernomic
https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-corolla-2005-nctd/
But it is one of the cleanest with an nice tech upgrade. It may suit someone aged 65-80 who is looking for something nice, simple and clean, for low milage.
My 2003 Corolla, that someone on this thread found for me 7 years ago, finally kicked the bucket. Unrepairable due to rust and corrosion underneath. Very sad to see it go but owes me absolutely nothing with only minor repairs required after every NCT up to now.
I got the car for 600 quid off a neighbour after moving to a new area at the time. As luck would have it, he was out working on a car as I was coming back from the garage today and he said he will be getting a 2007 Auris either today or tomorrow and will pop over when he has it.
So question is, anything to look out for in a 2007 Auris or are they another reliable car? I trust my neighbour obviously after buying a car off him before but lads here have plenty of knowledge so always worth asking.
Rust and emissions are the only real killers of old Toyotas. Engine and gearbox is good on them.
Not many problems with them but they are not as well built as your old Corolla. Some of the interior trim is cheaper so gets tatty and worn easily. Assuming your Corolla is 1.4 petrol then it's the same engine carried over to the Auris. Watch for water in the boot, as the seals on the rear lights can let water in that finds it's way into the boot so check the boot carpet for dampness and water under the spare wheel.
Just hope it isn't Terra spec as it's very grim, a grand car otherwise.
Grim as in basic interior and not nice to look at?
Neither of which would bother me tbh. I've gone back to college and not working full time. I've just got 1 year left so just need something reliable to tide me over until I start working properly again.
Looks are fine, interior and radio etc are very basic, it should easily see you out of college.
12 year old Leaf for a shade over €2k. Bit of body damage but at least that means people will avoid parking next to you in Tesco!
https://www.donedeal.ie/view/37414087
If you make it that far ...
Good thing most Tesco’s have chargers😂
There’s always one…
😂😂😂🙏
Ended up not taking the Auris. Went for this avensis instead and collected it today for 1k. Saw a Carisma that might interest some. Only 91k miles on it and looks in good nick, asking 1200.
https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2004-carisma-new-nct/37250503
https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-avensis-2005/37153755
Not that it’s overly important in this price range, but it seems that Avensis has been crashed & repaired badly, and is being sold by ‘Jimmy car’, a part time trader who sells cars from the side of the road, which doesn’t inspire much confidence. But as long as the engine and gearbox are working and you have a long NCT thats all that really matters