What is the story with them? Are people actually getting away with having them? its taking the piss in my opinion as are the people with no front number plate.
The ones with the plates obscured with muck and dust are crafty enough
ive started to see a lot of people with the "4d" plates with numbers "missing", but differing on front and back plates.
ie.
221 d 12345 would be the plate front might be 221 d 2 45 back might be 2 1 d 123 5
might be crap plates, but, ive seen it a lot more then i thought i would just in the past week.
Is there widespread attempts at evading cameras going on
I've seen that on a car that regularly parks near me, but a few days later it was complete again. Just crap plates with number falling off I assume.
Gardai should be enforcing it. If you're trying to reduce the contrast of your reg, you have something to hide. California for example allow you to pay per year, for Black/Yellow plate. Good contrast, looks good on black cars.
In any case, if you wanted to evade cameras, there is a much easier way to do so than to use a dark plate. I've designed targets to test infrared cameras, and it's far easier to do than you'd think.
What do u mean designed targets
To test the image quality of a camera, you can point it at a paper target with different features printed on it, and check how those features look on screen.
If it's an infrared camera (M50 toll / speed camera) that you're testing, and you use the wrong type of ink, most of the infrared light will pass through it, and it'll be difficult/impossible to see the features (ie: reg plate) from the camera, but you can easily see with your eyes.
Similar to how the black plastic numbering used on 4D reg plate, might just happen 👀 to be the same material that's used on the tip of a TV remote control. (black to your eyes, but transmissive to IR light).
Not really crafty as you can be fined for a dirty number plate.
saw a van that had a bull bar blocking his front plate.
yea, not so much, if you can take a picture with your phone camera, itll show up on the speedin cams,
In the day time, yes. At night, it's very easy to defeat an Infrared camera, as the LEDs only illuminate above a certain wavelength, to prevent blinding drivers.
To those replying that a camera can read them you seem to think that this makes it ok, it doesn't, besides it being illegal its crucial that a number plate can be read by the naked eye for a multitude of reasons.
Besides the illegality of it, they also fail the taste test, these number plates along with the gel plate and German ones just look distasteful and tacky.
This.
A plate of a car that can't be read easily in low light shouldn't be allowed on the road. Those tinted ones look nearly completely black in some lighting conditions or viewed from certain angles.
They are dark alright but why do people care so much. Focus on your own problems
I have seen a new 24 reg BMW in Kildare…
an old guy driving it… the EU flag part of the plate was black.
Someone like that is trying be cool, but is that a legal plate?
No.
If someone hit you or your car on the road and drove off, you might want to know who did it, no?
That is literally the only argument anyone on here can ever come up with when it comes to illegal plates. Its a hypothetical scenario which is so unlikely to ever happen.
First of all you need to get crashed into, then they need to drive off, and they need to have illegal plates, and you need to have been able to read them if they hadn’t been illegal. I mean come on, what are the chances. Just get on with life and stop worrying about dark reg plates
There are crashes, big and small, every day of the week on the roads.
There's hit and runs, sometimes fatal, maybe once a fortnight. So nah its not important at all to guards when they look for people's dash cam footage after an accident where people were seriously injured or got killed. Nah man they only do it for a laugh.
Grow the fk up, will you?
I've always wondered about those 4D plates. How are they moving through time?
77 turned into TT on an Audi
007 on an Aston Martin by including non regulation spacing
Also car would be a year younger, I don't know if years were split then.
I think they only started splitting years in 2013.
Probably. You can do absolutely whatever the **** you want on irish roads and the consequences are minimal.
Lol generation gap
A young lad passed me out one day up north in what was the most dangerous over take I have ever seen, his plates were almost black, so I couldnt read them and report him, I have dash cam and so would have had evidence of the crazy overtake. That lad will either kill himself or someone else without a doubt.
tinted plate cars are often driven by very bad drivers in my experience.
The NCT test should include a photo of the car - front and back.
This would be evidence if the car was ever cloned, but also if the plates were not legal during or after the NCT.
It should be a fail in the NCT for illegal plates.
Possibly opening a can of worms if NCT start getting involved in photography
it is a fail for the NCT, they change them for the NCT test.
I don't think you've quite thought that through bud.
A cloned car will not have stickers in the windscreen in the same place, or other minor identifiable details. This is important for toll charges on the M50, plus identifying stolen cars and the like.