Following on from
this thread
Please remain civil or posting privileges will be removed
I have agreed with you on that, but I have pointed out they are not alone.
Not a single politician or political party in Ireland has made a serious move or shown a serious interest in a united Ireland.
Yeah but the claim was made about Fine Gael and Fine Gael are in government and it's a FF/FG/Green thread and FG's previous leader was just saying it should be worked towards, now he's no longer leader of course. I expect Harris will be saying same after his time. Good to keep a few pro UI quotes on standby when it looks convenient for FG to get behind it.
The current government have committed to quite a bit of cross-border funding, moreso than I ever remember hearing about in the past.
I don't think they are actively pursuing a UI, but then they have no power to anyway. I think FG are fairly ambivalent about it, but that's pretty much reflective of the population at large.
Yes, FF/FG have done a lot on recognising different communities and culture and the like. You'd almost think the had been too heavily behind nationalist and catholic communities and were trying to balance things.
UI is not as big an issue as housing, health, cost of living. Neither was the rights of same sex couples, which the public rightly got behind in droves. We can walk and chew gum.
But we can't do anything about a UI. It is not our choice to make. They are investing in some cross border work, I'm not really sure they could practically be doing any more.
They are obviously not ideologically committed to it at all costs, but neither are the Irish people. They're not going to get in the way of it either.
Yes, you made a claim about FG, I was just pointing out the absurdity of your claim.
If I criticised FG for not having a plan to build an Irish space station to send an Irish manned rocket to Mars, others would also point out the absurdity of that criticism.
At a time when there is zero interest among the Irish public for a united Ireland anytime soon, why should a political party have any interest in it or any plan for it?
Absurdity? By supporting my claim, while including other parties.
Your view on the Irish peoples interest on it, is not relevant. I supported my claim that FG have no interest.
I think the state should have been planning for a UI since the 1920's, but we know when it comes about, if FF/FG are in power, we won't be prepared in the slightest.
So what if FG have no interest, nobody has any real interest in a united Ireland, save for a few weirdos on social media - just look at some of the accounts on X.
Explain to me why the state should have been planning for a UI since the 1920s, since nobody has any real interest in it.
The reality is you couldn't be more wrong. The majority of Irish people polled want a referendum within the next 5 years.
In the Republic, however, there is a majority of more than four to one in favour of unity, according to a simultaneous and identical poll. Majorities in both jurisdictions believe that referendums on the unity question should be held, with voters in the Republic more likely to favour a vote in the next five years, while a majority of voters in the North want a Border poll in the next 10 years.
And that includes me, because I am fed up with the question being asked by social media cranks, so let's get the vote out of the way, the idea soundly defeated and put away for another 100 years.
It is still not a priority though. Also our opinion is relatively meaningless, it is up to the people in NI and them alone really. A majority may want a border poll, but a majority also intends to reject it.
Both previous FG party leaders claim to have an interest.
It's something that will happen at some point. A committee made up of civil servants, planners, finance people to meet even once a year so we have some basic blueprint on how we might tackle a form it may take would be basic common sense.
Look, I've absolutely no interest in going around in circles. You don't see the point in prepping, I do.
FG have no interest was the claim. It's been supported. Talking big about it after leaving office is just insulting.
Agreed, if you asked people in Dublin would they prefer if the government prepared for a united Ireland or for more Luas lines, 99% would say more Luas lines.
Does any politician have a REAL interest in a united Ireland? They are all the political equivalent of the lads in the pub singing rebel songs.
Prepping for something that isn't going to happen is stupid, meaningless and a waste of money. If you think that's what the government should do, then fine.
Yes. A crystal ball is a handy thing to have.
FF/FG Green are incapable of planning for wild out of the blue things like population growth, (never mind inviting in immigrants with nowhere to put them), so I suppose no UI plan suits them.
The previous Taoiseach believes it will happen in his lifetime. The fact that he wants the government to do more than aspire, after leaving office, is complete horse ****.
Or a train to the airport or a children's hospital, or scoliosis surgery, or a home.
Pretending anyone said it should be a top priority is pretty weak.
100 years? Haha, unfortunately for you there'll be a united Ireland much sooner than that.
He said there is zero interest in Ireland for a united Ireland. Clearly that isn't the case at all. It depends on you define a priority. Is the metro considered a priority? Probably not given it won't be available for 5+ years and how long it has taken to even get to this stage. For others, it is a priority. I don't a blanket "it's not a priority" can be declared for something like a united Ireland.
Based on what do you think a United ireland will happen before 100 years?
Do you have a clear roadmap/timeline on how and when it will be achieved?
With a population who don't think it is a priority why do you think it would happen quicker?
who said they had zero interest? is this you making up comments again?
Even Leo said it they would think it would happen within their life time. Why do you think he's wrong? Another United Ireland poll has the majority of under 45s in the North supporting a United Ireland. I don't have a clear timeline because a huge amount of that work depends on who's in Government. I'd consider 2050 a realistic goal.
Fair enough. I think there is a passive interest in it, but I don't think many people care about it as a primary affair. I also don't think there actually is a huge amount of prep you can do beyond what is being done because it would be too one-sided. I diverge from blanch in that I would vote for reunification tomorrow if asked, but I just don't think FG have given it much thought whatsoever. If the case is they don't care about it then I think that's fair enough, but there were implications (and statements) that they are Against it which I don't think is fair.
I didn't say he was wrong, I asked you for your timeline
When I provided a poll earlier you scoffed at it, now you are pointing to polls.
So give me your timelines?
The polls said the majority would vote for it, they also said the majority would not if it would require additional taxes
Everyone knows it would cost a huge amount in taxes
Plus a huge amount of unemployment in Northern Ireland becuase it is dependent on public service jobs, the ones which are for the UK would be taken back into the UK. Plus the ones for Northern Ireland we would see a lot of cross over so unemployment and reskilling would have to happe both sides of border.
Evm when you ask simple question like
WHat will the flag be for United Ireland?
What will national anthem be?
The people claiming to want a United Ireland have no idea,
Majority in Ireland. It would be rejected in NI which is more relevant.
yes, but also rejected in Ireland when we have to pay for it
So rejected both sides of border
I don't want a United Ireland in my lifetime and I will vote No in any referendum on it. They need at least another 2 generations to get over themselves.
I didn't scoff at it. But the idea that it will guarantee a raise in taxes isn't a forgone conclusion. That's where the planning for a united Ireland is essential and having parties who are interested in a united Ireland is essential.
I gave you a timeline.
While ye are debating over an United Ireland and what parties or not support it?
There was votes in the Dáil over UN and EU military initiative last night? Strange nobody mentioned it?
https://www.irishtimes.com/politics/oireachtas/2024/07/03/what-planet-are-you-on-tanaiste-in-angry-outburst-at-left-wing-tds-over-neutrality-and-middle-east/
Debate with outburst « Twitter
« Twitter
https://www.rte.ie/news/politics/2024/0703/1458062-ireland-pesco-eu/
I can understand our need for support in the EU for defence of our shores, because we don't have the money/resources to do it ourselves.
Could only find the UN Defence Forces vote Link 1 and Link 2. Has anyone a link to EU Vote? Or was it the same vote?
In the news today!
Do we believe that it will run the full term?
So you have no timeline yet question someone elses
You also said FG had no interest in a United Ireland and then used Leo as a spokesperson for a United Ireland happening
It's not really working out for you is it?
In terms of the statement about no raise in taxes, well that's another clanger. It will cost Rep of Ireland billions for a United ireland, plus all of the unemployment. I suppose the magic money tree is out been shaken again 😂
Some real ridiculous stuff posted on this thread but it gets worse by the day
Someone said something negative about Fine Gael, and the rest is as expected.
I feel a lot of decisions the state makes is based on senior politicians endearing themselves to Brussels. Some have more high blown global illuminati theories, but I'd put my money on simple greed.
There is no question that FF/FG are moving us closer to being foot soldiers for some form of EU army, whatever the name used. When you take into account the lack of interest FF/FG have had in the army (and Garda for that matter) it's just not believable that recent moves aren't being led by interests other than Irish domestic or international security.
I've raised serial assaulter Senator McGahon's resent assault and FG's lack of action or comment, after spending the last few weeks going after similar types in the Army.
There is no way they'll go full term. Chambers is out right lying IMO. They want a give away goodies budget first.
If you are incapable of reading, that's not my fault.
How exactly does Leo saying he thinks there will be a united Ireland mean FG want a united Ireland? Come on, surely you're smarter than that. I think Donald Trump will he the next president of America, it certainly doesn't mean I want him to be.
It does get worse by the day, amazing that some people are incapable of differentiating between a prediction and a desire for something.
Where are you getting the figure of billions from?