Following on from
this thread
Please remain civil or posting privileges will be removed
So the original claim you made
FG have zero interest in a united Ireland. They detest the idea and always will.
You admit now is incorrect, so cleared that up
A United Ireland is not a priority for the majority of the population, it is a nice to have
Cross Border project are an excellent way to build towards it
By the way the article you produced, was from RTE and not FF, it didn't say FF wanted to be in government with SF. You and other SF supporters throw that up all the time as some sort of evidence. At no time did FF say they wanted to go into coalition with SF, in fact the main article on the print media had comments from FF saying the opposite and they wouldn't
They have absolutely zero interest. I admit even FG aren't stupid enough to say it out loud so if you want to cling to that as a desperate justification that they are then fair enough.
And when did you conduct this referendum on Irish people's attitudes towards a united Ireland?
So your yardstick of interest is we march the army in and occupy Newry is it and perhaps get Michael o'Leary to ship the residents of Sandy Row off to Rwanda or something ?
Conflating the need for majority consent in the 6 counties before a UI is born with somehow not being interested in a UI is utter and total crapology
You won't be getting a UI without that consent and you wont be getting any party in the Republic part of the island opposing the UI if the consent is given
Ergo,suggesting the disinterest to be FG policy is just misguided rubbish,just like thinking it would be passed in the morning would be delusion
Knowing when is the right time to hold a UI vote in NI is being responsible and untill the time is right to do so,a UI is quintessentially the definition of aspiration
so you make stuff up, then declare it as a party policy with no idea about the party at all based on the “blue shirt” nonsense you posted
Even ignoring comments from the party because you declare you know more about them Can’t see many going along with that apart from a few SF online supporters who lap up all sorts of nonsense
Plenty of polls done on United Ireland, the main one says people want a united ireland without additional taxes. Not possible at the moment, you can find the polls online via google. At least I looked at the polls and didn’t invent some nonsense
Housing, health, immigration are the priorities of the Irish people as well reported, a United Ireland? honeslty the majority couldn't give a sh*t, nice to have but not keeping anyone awake at night
What a bizarre statement. Simon, is that you? It reminds me of the random gibberish he comes out with when trying to deflect. FG have done nothing to push for a United Ireland and have shown they have very little interest in doing tha and they have also made it clear they won't be doing anything to achieve a united Ireland anytime soon either.
FG don't have a party policy on a a united Ireland apart from it being an "aspiration". Although one could say the same about their health and housing policies. An aspiration to have the number of people homeless decrease. There have been plenty of polls on a united Ireland. The most recent had support for a united Ireland at 64%. But in sure that's just aspirational support.
You just provided the leader of the party saying they do
You seem determined to jump around a few topics which you have decided your version and even when you provide the evidence to say your version is wrong, you ignore and continue on
One poll here, plenty others around(see below)
People don't want a United Ireland if they have taxes to pay
Plus as I said it's not a priority, nobody gives a sh*t about a United ireland while we have peace, cross border projects and build relationships.
Some parties will crow about it, then when you ask them a simple question they don't know the answer. Bluffers.
https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/majority-favour-a-united-ireland-but-just-22pc-would-pay-for-it/40375875.html
It's not a lie. It's an opinion you don't agree with. Did you see a quote?
Seriously, smarten up.
Fine Gael have no interest in a UI. It doesn't suit them. They'll give the idea lip service for optics but it's always on the never never.
In case it's not obvious @pureza, that's my OPINION, anyway, not a direct quote from FG HQ 🤣
They also aspire to be a 'law and order party', if they jettison the serial assaulter McGahon.
Well your opinion is so badly informed,it ain't worth jack S from what I can see
Thank you. Much better.
It's a discussion. A place for opinions and views.
It is,but it helps when you back up opinions with facts
I can base my opinion on facts.
It's been 26 years since the Good Friday Agreement. FG have not made any moves towards a UI. They do speak of the shared island and respecting all communities. It reads like a 'leave things as is'.
Here's FG's notes on the north. From the FG website, talking about getting Stormont back up and running. Talking about relations with the UK with Brexit. There's even a photo of the previous party leader.
https://www.finegael.ie/our-policies/northern-ireland-and-the-future-of-our-shared-island/
They've not been bothered to update the FG website on NI in years.
There are many important decisions that have an impact on public services and people’s lives that are waiting to be taken by a new Northern Ireland Executive and Assembly. So the restoration of the devolved institutions needs to happen as soon as possible.
I base my opinion on them showing more thought towards their DUP cousins and commemorating the black and tans, and celebrating Redmond on the 1916 centenary.
I don't think they've any interest in it until it looks like it might win them seats.
They will talk big when leaving or left office:
The former Taoiseach (Irish prime minister) Leo Varadkar has said the next Irish government should push harder for a united Ireland.Speaking at an Ireland’s Future event in Belfast, he said there was a need to step up preparations for a possible end to the border, including setting aside funding to pay for the change.Mr Varadkar said that rather than just being a “political aspiration”, a united Ireland should become a “political objective”.
The former Taoiseach (Irish prime minister) Leo Varadkar has said the next Irish government should push harder for a united Ireland.
Speaking at an Ireland’s Future event in Belfast, he said there was a need to step up preparations for a possible end to the border, including setting aside funding to pay for the change.
Mr Varadkar said that rather than just being a “political aspiration”, a united Ireland should become a “political objective”.
https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cgeep57k8r9o
If only he'd come to that conclusion during his two stints as Taoiseach….
They have no interest in a united Ireland. The leader of the party has said the same. Simon Harris isn't going to do anything while he is leader of FG to move towards a United Ireland. So another poll that says the majority favour a united Ireland. But of course, they don't give a **** about a united Ireland. Lol, comical.
Even Leo knew "political aspiration" was code word for no interest.
A united Ireland is not a priority for the majority of people in Ireland as I posted
In terms of FG, honestly think whatever you want, like the FF discussion earlier you are making up stuff to back up your opinion, off you go with that and see how far it gets you
No need, everyone knows FG have no interest in a united Ireland. Even their former leader did. But if a few members want to pretend the opposite then fair enough, knock yourself out.
Leo also said he expected a UI within his lifetime
Honestly some of the rubbish wrote in these threads suggests to me no lived experience of the troubles,much less any cop on regarding where we are,where we are going or how we get there
Indies will swallow principles to get into power.
FFG + indies is a very likley to make up the majority of the next govt.
Giveaway Budget brought forward 1 week to Oct 1st. Election will be called very soon after.
He's right. But it won't be on the back of FG's work, which is basically doing nothing to try and achieve it.
Are you still predicting SF to be in government ?
Predictions on this thread are a good laugh, at this stage if you went by them, FF/FG/Greens would be kicked out of government FF would no longer exist
SF would be running the government
…handy one for ffg, they probably dont even need to canvas at this stage, 'the best way for change, is to stay the same', maybe that could be their slogan this time!
Ok, so no more predictions then.
Yerrah,this thread like a lot of them exists for one side to poke the other and vice versa,I don't put much Sted in whats said here
Nah they will keep them coming, any of them right? pure luck and based on the number of predictions Im sure one will
I don't vote for SF but I think they will. I think FF will do ok (which is wrong for those crooks) and FG will lose several seats. Their retirees are the big issue. Half the TDs not running. I hope other parties like SD & Labour and Independents do well. The further we can get away from the Civil War power swap the better.
Bertie for President 🤣
More chaos over the summer months too.
And for the record, FF would go into coalition with the devil himself to keep power. Nothing is ruled out for that crowd of sheisters.
In the 26 years since the GFA, not a single politician or political party has made any move towards a United Ireland. Why would they? It isn't on the agenda of voters.
Those parties that have said something on the subject - mainly Sinn Fein - have driven people away from the concept.
Yes, everything, even FG policy, goes back to Sinn Fein, even when not in a Sinn Fein discussion thread.
I supported my view that FG have no interest in a UI. They don't.
Aside from people trying to make every talking point about Sinn Fein and people playing the man, not the ball, some of us are trying to merely discuss FF/FG/Green.
There are numerous talking points: The possibility of an early GE. Spinal surgery delays after broken promises. Serial assaulter McGahon and the silence from FG after weeks of talking about cracking down on such people in the army.