Ryan Tubridy - From Virgin to Youtube **Mod: Read OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭tohaltuwi

a number of erroneous beliefs live rent free in his head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Clint_Westwood

This question has probably been asked and discussed a million times, but does anyone think that Mr. Tubridy could make a real career comeback in Ireland? I could see it happening, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

I can't see it happening, he's been exposed as inept, he seems like a nice guy but all the self publicity is making him come accros as desperate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,375 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,632 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

he’ll be back in RTÉ before the decade is out….

His lack of talent is irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,199 ✭✭✭RoTelly

Based on the strange audience for the Book club stick, I would agree.

I wouldn't be surprised if VMTV replace their "What's The Story" Eason programme with bookstubs. If they are happy to broadcast The Group Chat, they'd be happy with Bookstubs.

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,998 ✭✭✭yagan

He'd probably still have too many enemies in RTE, even then.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 9,051 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

Martin King in for him, on Q102. Grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭argentum

listened to him yesterday by mistake as I left my radio on Q102 in the car from the night before

He's a hard listen ,he spend his few minutes as some one said talking about a shop that closed in Monkstown .It was like listening to a hospital radio station , was waiting on the death notices

With regards to the tone towards him about attending Taylor Swift n his own I think that has no place on a thread about the mans radio work

The amount of Z list Irish celebrities at the gig was incredible and none of them had to worry about ticket queues I'd imagine as that's the way it works

I've seen and spoken to Tubs at other more adult gigs that he was at on his own previously and he definitely wasn't the only man there in his 50's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭GSF

He obviously didn’t go to the Taylor Swift gig alone. He brought a photographer with him.

Maybe it was Noel, in a pin stripe suit.. to impress all the plebs and teeny boppers…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭supereurope

Is Tubs some sort of Benjamin Button? When he was in his 20s, he was proudly declaring himself "a young fogey", listening to Dean Martin and wearing cardigans and thinking he was 49. Now he's in his 50s and going to Taylor Swift concerts and thinking he's 21.

he's a square peg trying to fit into whatever hole is flavour of the month and is likely to give him the publicity & adoration he so desperately craves…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭nonetheless

Honestly, this is embarrassing though. This reminds me of something you would see on Absolutely Fabulous 🤣🤣🤣

IMG-20240701-WA0006.jpg

Mike gets Steve to fill in at Virgin Radio UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Everything about Tubs is a performance. Hardly anything is real. He has to construct a persona for himself, which the then goes "all in" on over and over again.

He's the Toyman, he's the book man, he's the "Kind" man, he's the Beatles superfan. He's the freebies man.

don't forget the 'Love' man….

a stadium full of love…. (probably because a few 11yo girls recognised him from a toy show and said hi… so to him the stadium is full of love for him.

I think his Barter Boy has had the greatest impact on his brand.

Its gas too that you have a radio music DJ who's a self confessed Beatles fan (so you would presume 'he likes' music/rock n roll), who lives in the U.K. and one of the biggest & best music festivals in the world happens to be on (and he gets access if he wants, 100% through connections/Virgin), but he chooses to come home to Dublin to see Taylor Swift…

I'm pretty sure that the vast majority of radio DJ's in the U.K. will be spending their shows today/this week discussing all things Glasto, and the bands they saw, people they met and experiences they had, but when Bryan gets back on the air after his holiday, he'll be telling everyone about his trek from 1 Dublin suburb to another on the DART to go and see the biggest popstar on the planet, and that he's now a fully fledged a Swifty, and all about the friendship bracelets he got off some 12yo girls.

Russell Crowe, the guy that has supported him and endorsed his show on Virgin Radio UK was also performing at Glastonbury. I would of thought Ryan would have made a special effort to get to his gig.

yeah but Tay Tay, screaming young girls and friendship bracelets…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭GSF

Russell Crowe is in Ireland this week so be warned!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭tohaltuwi

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 9,051 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

I think Martin King said he would be back on for his usual show on Saturday, so I wonder if they will have Vogue broadcasting on Q102 for the rest of the week.

I have never heard her on anything but it might be interesting to see how/ if she manages the two different audiences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Field east

if he went to Glastonbury And re ‘ promoting himself’ it would be like WHERE IS WALLY multiplied by 10 - so zero mileage for him

Exactly,, why go there and be a nobody when he can to to Landsdowne Road and be 'The Toyman' to 40,000 screaming girls…

I'm sure team NKM were scouring all the social media sites over the weekend, looking for spikes in the use of certain key words like: toyman, tubridy, barter etc….

20240701_135628.JPG

They are trying to recover lost audience. Even if they were to put Madonna on herself, it won't matter jack…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Tork

It's on brand because he has shown little interest in engaging with or adapting to the UK. He also has no profile over there and never will. Taylor Swift had been playing in the UK before coming here, so going to one of her gigs now has a stench of last week's news about it. I don't think there's anything particularly odd or creepy about him going to a Taylor Swift gig in Dublin though he should've lost those bracelets. It was the place to be seen if you were a well known Irish personality and many did go. He was on familiar and safe territory here, with people who'd recognise him and treat him like a celeb.

I didn't know it existed until you mentioned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

RE Tubs attending the gig alone, I think in one of the photos, his partner can be seen sitting beside him. I believe she's a doctor who appeared on his radio show on RTE? His second good looking, highly qualified and intelligent younger woman.... Baffling to me.

Perhaps the little bugger isn't as dainty as his nicknname alludes to! 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭TheBMG

not like this good natured thread full of well adjusted posters