Enjoy!!
Old thread here......
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2057962937/mayo-gaa-discussion-part-4#latest
Threadban list
Green Peter - Permanent
Man Vs ManUre until 9/05/23
For anyone thinking of "supporting" Galway from here in on, ye might have been too young or may not remember the trip to Tuam in 1999 and the welcome they had for Mayo supporters from as soon as we crossed the border all the way into Tuam. If that was bad enough then, can you imagine what it would be like in 2025 given all the subsequent chances we've had since??? No thanks! It'd be like England winning the Euros or the World Cup - you'd never hear the end of it!!
If Galway win it and they have a good chance, it is the kick up you know where to up our game. I think questions will be asked and more focus put on what is required going into 25. I think this happened with Galway in 98, Maughan changed Mayo in 96/97 and we did go close in 96 but I do think this was the making of Galway for 98 as they had to up their game to land Connaught. The same happened with the northern teams in the early 90s. This is the only positive thing I can say for users who will find it hard to see Galway win it and look over the fence alot.
Controversial. I said the same couple of years ago when Galway were playing Kerry in the All-Ireland. Didn't go down too well here.
I'm the same. Never thought I'd say it but I'd be happy enough to see Galway win it now. We've had more than enough opportunities so maybe it's up to them to bring Sam over the Shannon. Would be better for Connacht football than it going elsewhere.
God yer a strange bunch. Brickenden literally threw the ball off the goalline in the second half for a clear penalty not given, if even the ball wasn't over the line prior (looked like it was). Yet months later there's still endless chatter about a 50/50 decision that ultimately mattered damn all in the all Ireland race
On a scale of one to a million, how much did HBC08 seeth with Galway dumping out the dubs yesterday? Blew his absolute top I'd say with supreme confidence
Galway are a superior team to Mayo at this point in time, they have forwards who can score and score from distance. They took some savage scores from distance yesterday when we need to run the ball right into the D before we decide to shoot. Galway got a bit of luck as well but they force the play on Dublin. This was a bit like us in 16/17 but they got over the line. We would never have beaten Dublin in CP if that was us yesterday. We just don't have the quality of players and our managment team are average. There are loads of what ifs/bs with Mayo just like your post.
I don't really care about who wins it now since we are gone but fair play to them if they go on and do what we can't do for 70 odd years. I will congratulate them if they do it.
Sorry about that guys :@
Hjj
You're right it was Mortimer. Madden came out and missed the ball.
That memory is so distant that you got it wrong! It was Kenneth Mortimer who gave away the penalty by taking out the Meath corner forward as he tried to put the ball across the line. We still had more than enough chances to win both games though.
We were 6 points up in the replay before john madden gave away the penalty. A distant memory yes but I mentioned it to make the point that we have been blaming refs a long time.
Anyway I hope we eventually win it but if we are to we will need to be good enough to do it.
I’m getting on now but I’m sure that we were 6 up in the drawn game. I don’t think we went up much if at all once the melee ended in the replay. As I say, that’s off a fading memory though so open to correction.
Either way, we’ve left plenty of wins behind us over the years
Over the years we've blamed pat mcenaney, Comac reilly, maurice keegan Dublin Joe and now gough. Its easy to pick out decisions against us when we can't accept we weren't good enough. Even when liam mchale was sent off we went 6 points up. We blew it after that.
All of this just goes to show that there’s not a huge gap between the top teams. Sure you can say we can’t close out games but that’s an old failing and not related to our level. On our day we’re a match for any of the teams in contention and that’s up to management to solve.
Part of what you say is correct. But Gough did lose the run of himself for those 3 or 4 minutes. I was at the match, and you could sense that his adrenaline was running mad whenever the Galway cheer rose from the crowd. He just got carried away. So there is logic to saying that Mayo were robbed in Salthill that day. But you are also correct in saying that Mayo should have closed the game out before that.
Can't agree with much of that. If Mayo were better than Galway we'd have beaten Galway and Dublin. Simple as that.
Goughs decisions in injury time is more or less irrevelent. Match should never have resched injury time. Gough didn't cause Sam to miss an easy chance or Loftus to lose the ball carrying into a tackle when he could have turned back and recycled it. Once it went to injury time I knew Mayo hadn't it in them. Leading in injury time in 3 championship games and not winning is not the form of a team aiming to win the AI.
100%. There's a world of difference between drawing a game and pushing on to win when it comes to all ireland finals. Cillian exemplified this with a clutch score equaliser in 2016 but the a miss in 2017 to go a point ahead at the end. Its almost a fear of winning at this stage.
No so sure Mayo are right up there.
When Galway went 1 point up yesterday they smelt blood , kicked on to create a 2 point cushion to manage the game out.
Mayo on the other hand as we have seen so often over the years, don't know what to do when drawing level or going 1 point up.
They usually end up throwing away multiple matches due to a sheer lack of killer instinct & know-how when managing tight games at the death.
Not really… it was only a 1/4 final. Im pretty sure you have been having a peep in the Galway thread to see how we are getting on
Galway have just put Dublin out of the championship and you're here trawling the Mayo GAA thread.....
Pretty sad.
Three sickening losses for Mayo this year. Failing to close out connacht final v Galway. Galway comprehensively beat Derry. Then Derry knock Mayo out. And then to add insult to injury Galway beat Dublin in croke park, when mayo thought they'd done well by drawing with Dublin in the Hyde.
In Ollie Turners words sweet mother of jesus
In fairness you can't account for the likes of a referee meltdown like Gough had in injury time in Connacht final.You can't blame players or management for that.
Things like taking off Aido,Callinan missed points v Galway and Derry etc you can lay at the door of management/players. It's very fine margins,I think Mayo are a better team than Galway but we went out before the QF and they might win the all ireland.
WE do a lot of analysing and over analysing in Mayo. Tactics, scrutiny of management, refereeing decisions, team selection. The fact is that Galway had a resolve in that second half that we didn't against Dublin. If Galway go all the way it won't mean Mayo are really close as some are saying. We were supposedly close many times in the last decade, in the 90s and the 60s when we could compete with Galway. And there are no curses or hard luck issues. You have to have players with the right mentality and take the chance to win when it arises.
There’s a levelling off at the top now that Dublin have come back to the pack.
Kerry might pick up another handy All Ireland despite not really kicking on with the talents of the great underage teams they produced. Mayo are right there at the level despite being in transition. Our only loss in the championship in reality was the one we threw away against Galway in the Connacht final.
I doubt it would have made any difference. We just seem poor this year.
Dublins loss today is sickening, would make you wonder why we didn’t hold out for the win against them when we had the chance, if a poor Galway team can beat them then it puts more pressure on mcstay.
Felt sorry for KOC on GAAgo, I’d say he was regretting the few pound he got, looked awful uncomfortable after the final whistle. At least Roscommon were sent home.
We spoke here before the game about how strange it was that Hession wasn't playing more often. When McLaughlin went off injured at half-time, Loftus replaced him. Despite him getting a good score from play in extra time, Derry did massive damage down the left wing and Loftus had a couple of bad turnovers (he is so weak in the tackle). How did they not think Hession would be a better replacement wing-back than Loftus?
I wouldn't, but my hunch is that they will.
Its all too comfortable between the lot of them, even at boardroom level.
Taking off O'Shea against Derry was a mistake, he didn't look gassed to anyone. It was like a pre-meditated plan that they had to rigidly stick to (like other moves in other games). What I would call baffling substitutions is putting on Conor Loftus as a half forward (where he should be playing) in the first Roscommon game where he plays so well and kicks two points that he's been talked about as a starter there the next day, only for management to never play him there again for the rest of the season but deploy him instead as a half back where it's been consistently proven that he's not suited to playing there. All while natural half backs like Hession, Plunkett etc. sit on the bench. The mind boggles!
100% agree with your second paragraph though. Dublin would never allow it to happen (as they've shown before) and black cards would not have mattered at that point.
Most of the discussion on subs has been on taking O'Shea off in the Derry game so I presumed that was what you referred to. I mentioned Dublin game as that was one he finished but they still didn't win. Regarding other substitutions well they will always cause a certain amount of disruption. So unless you don't make switches there will always be that.
I agree it seems we will never learn. Just doesn't seem to be part of our make up. Keegan throwing the gps in the 2017 final seemed to be the closest we ever got to that type of gamesmanship. Didn't work on that occasion but it's fine margins sometimes that win or lose it. This year our season hinged on that Kilkenny catch. Dublin would never allow a Mayo player to do that and also get the pass off. A last minute black card would be a cheap price to pay.
Where did I mention anything about O'Shea or the Dublin game? As anyone will tell you who has ever been involved with a team, when you make substitutions (especially a couple very quickly) you disrupt the rhythm and flow of your team and there can be confusion as to who is picking up who or what exactly their role is/they are supposed to be doing. It's one thing getting a pep talk before you go on, it's another thing when you actually get on the pitch - not to mention the players who haven't been privy to that pep talk knowing what's happening.
However, I would agree with you about the players not shutting down Kilkenny. He should have been put into the top row of the stand. We should have learned from what they did to us our kick out in 2017 and just took out anything that moved. We're too nice…….we will never learn (take your pick) but until we change, we'll never get across the finishing line.