Was the game plan not to work the ball from the back until a runner came through the middle to shoot for there own score or leave the ball inside to the corners
If that wasn’t on it was worked back again where one of the wing backs or midfielders shot for a long range score that’s how they have been playing all year
If the heat was on hit Mullen or macdermott in the half forward line from the puckout
I think the problem Saturday was when the kk players went on runs like in other matches they hadn’t and support to pop the ball off and ended up taking to much out of the ball especially when the backs were coming forward
The plan to isolate McDermott on his man worked as he hit 1-3 in the first half
It’s easy to blame management when in reality tipp didn’t allow kk to play the game they wanted to play
In the Clare game changes were made on the line and Kilkenny went on to really make hay against just after halftime
Kilkenny also missed a lot of very easy chance s
II wonder did Bergin even go in to talk to the team at HT, FT or at the break in ET?
Maybe he was watching the Galway Dublin game on his phone?
How a minor team could be sent out with such little direction or shape is mind boggling.
And this is his third term? Very very poor.
Well Done Tipp. They were incredible and far superior on all fronts.
Ultimately, while the GAA get many things wrong, the overall goal at this age is to allow teams get enough high level competition to allow them develop at the highest level possible.
All teams got round robins, and last night's two were the last two standing. Ultimately hurling was the winner. Lots of excellent players on both sides exposed to excellent standards of hurling and pressure and being the headline act etc.
Rory Mcllroy's nerve failed him in the pressure cooker atmosphere in the US Open, last night neither team did. KK didn't manage to utilise their extra man as they should have, but their players never took a step backwards. Last night should be celebrated just like the U20 a few weeks ago. Excellent teams putting absolutely every sinew on the line, and in the process bringing tremendous attention to the beauty of our games. Really and truly, what more could we ask for?
it’s not the individual performance that’s the problem though, they were sent out with clear no game plan, not clear what they work on in training. Management may as well have stayed at home
The stone throwers are out in force to day. Threw that away last night.
Makes it all the sweeter seeing posts from bitter Kilkenny fans like this. You would swear cody was an angel on the sideline, always trying to intimidate, remember poor marty 😁, calling refs decisions "criminal". Have you seen shefflin on the sideline ever? Up and down like a jack hammer in refs ear constantly. Tipp got 2 harsh reds and other questionable decisions against them, wtf do you expect the tipp management to just sit down and take it, ill take our management over yere stooges on the line anyway. Not aimed at some of the genuine posters here either, wasnt much goading from tipp fans on here or on tipp thread but when i read shite like that post, hard not to respond.
There is angel brian, 2 minutes to find them.
I think that’s a great point a lot of these kk players are underage again next year and although they didn’t win have gained a lot of experience which is great for there development
If they managed to get to the final again next year I think they would handle the occasion much better and put in a better performance
Baffles me…. One poster says something stupid about rival county, cue several rival counties posters coming back with several whataboutery posts and the whole thread descends into childish jibes at each other spoiling the thread for everyone else.
cathal Barrett
Ha, was just thinking the same. Going to be like the the Hoganstand forum 15 years ago in here.
That’s the thread f**ked for at least a week 🙄🙄🙄
Tommy Walsh assaulted Brian Gavin, Shefflin is the greatest whinger to refs ever to play the game, Larkin the biggest diver in the game. See what I did there.
Poor weekend overall for Kilkenny GAA Minors,Footballers and senior camoige all beaten hopefully Seniors can do it next weekend.
Liam Sheedy used to be at the same crap, pushing Cody in the chest and this big tough man image on the sideline and then acting like a dog with rabies buck leaping with every tackle, hook or free.
Shane McGrath used to celebrate a free like he won an All Ireland, big buck leap and fist pump.
Woodlock learned from the best.
I can’t stand Tipp in any shape or form.
Lots of very talented Kilkenny players on that team. Lots of them underage again next year. I thought more than a few of them understood the game and might have been frustrated with some things… They won't be the first team or the last to get frustrated by a set of backs and get lulled into long range shooting. It happens.
They won a Leinster final and a savage semi against an excellent Clare team. Showed real character and skills. I'd say the same of Clare. It can't all boil down to one performance. They all got all the games you can get at this age level and that's development.
The under17 grade is much maligned. I was impressed all year with it tbh.
That was the amazing piece. I was listening to the first half on KCLR (I'm a Tipp man but Tipp fm commentary was brutal, KCLR was miles better) within five minutes of the second red the commentator's were saying that KK needed to move one of the extra men forward as KK weren't getting any great advantage having so many extra players in the half backline. Overall KK scored 1-5 in the first half and 1-4 in the second, that was the losing of the game. KK seemed to not have support runners coming off the shoulder, when an inside forward came out and won a ball, it was a solos effort for a score or p[lay back out the field, there was never a support runner running past.
The management had 3 chances to sort out what was happening and they couldn’t do it.
Kilkenny kept hitting 50/50 balls into the forwards or shots from all angles with 2 extra men.
That game was woefully managed on and off the field. On the field the age of the players excuses them but off the field, to be unable to influence things in any positive way in a game like that is not good enough at that level. Came out at HT 2 mins before Tipp, they get the first point, and with 2 extra men we go short to the corner back who launches the ball over the middle where we have the numbers to try get it to the full forward line who are all marked. If the message at HT with two spare men isn't to play with huge width and to draw a man and pop if off then what are we even doing.
There was 10 mins in the first half where they kind of figured it out before the 2nd red and Eoin Brennan set up McDermott for 1-1 and got his own point but other than that it was fairly shambolic. They played in a constant state of panic, carrying the ball down the middle way too fast and just running into trouble.
The bodies caved in way before Tipps did considering they had 13 as well which was very strange.
I think Phelan at full back deserves a mention as I thought he did his job.
Massive credit to those Tipp young lads though. Thought the No 3 was outstanding and they showed incredible guts. Out hurled, out fought, out thought. Well done to them.
This one has to be on the management , 2 xtra players for that long and not to win is shocking.
Cody and his team NEVER carried on like that management team today, it was embarrassing
His last 4 words , yes . The rest of the post was begrudging, he's obviously forgotten some of Cody's arm waving
Too many celebratory drinks perhaps 🍺
Silly comment, everyone on here have acknowledged Tipp deserved to win.
The post you quoted said Tipp were incredible.
Why don't you blame the ref , twas always the usual KK excuse
1st one wasnt even a yellow seeing it back more baffling stuff from referees tipp got 5 frees in a row after the second red aswell which makes my blood boil its not the refs job to even things up and give a team everything for the next few minutes after he’s send off one of there players
1st red was a joke, 2nd was deserved.
As a Kilkenny man I tipp (no pun intended) my hat to that minor team, we should of had it sown up after half time instead ye scored 3 points with no reply and we drove rediculous wides. The heart and passion from the tipp players was outstanding and at times it looked like we were the ones with 13 on the pitch.
the tipp 15-17 year olds had no such problem though. The disappointing thing for me is that nearly all the same issues at senior were on display here today. Clear difference in the level of coaching they have received up to this point
As a Tipp man lads hopefully ye won't begrudge us the win tonight as Tipp victories in Nowlan Park are as rare as hen's teeth.
What a match though, heart, passion, work rate was phenomenal from both teams. Certainly a game for the ages.
Tough one to take for the players so I wouldn't be too hard on them, I believe alot of yere lads are young enough again next year so no doubt they'll be there or thereabouts again next year.
100%