what an INCREDIBLE achievement for this Tipp team. Tipp’s record against Kilkenny - at most/all grades over the past 10 years + has been fairly poor. So with the continuance of this ‘domination’ , Kilkenny would already be 3+ points up before the ball is thrown in
And with the match being played in Kilkenny’s ‘Home of Hurling and before a home crowd, we can add on a another point or two.
A further DISADVANTAGE for Tipp was the TWO RED CARDs issued SO EARLY in the game.
They/the management are an INCREDIB LE bunch to having overcome all of the above obstacles.
One hopes that Tipp GAA will get analysed in GREAT DETAIL how this bunch achieved what it did and I still it into every team that represents Tipperary
Great guts shown by your boys. Being from Cork I started off not being too bothered about the result or referee calls but like many others here the young Tipp lads won me over during the course of the match and I was delighted for them in the end. And to do it in Nowlan Park, a credit to their county. There was a spell I think it might have been in injury time after 60 mins where the hooking and blocking was incredible. That match will be referenced for many a team in the future in how not to give up no matter what.
apparently they are too young to play there
I agree, having the minor final as a standalone fixture outside of Dublin is great for players and supporters alike. When they used to be played as curtain raisers for senior finals croke Park was usually near empty at the start and many of the people trickling in throughout the game only showed a passing interest because they were there for the big one. €90 tickets etc. Whole families were attending in kilkenny today for less than €90 in total and what a game they got. Well done to Tipp and Woody & management team they were well prepared and fully deserved it.
Watched the game as a neutral to night and delightful to watch two teams go at it with such honesty in their play, none of the senior type of negative play, Tipp deserved the win alone for the performance of the 13 men for such a long period of the game and genuine hurling won out, and this will build huge characters for the future of Tipp hurling.
The less hurling in croke Park the better
i genuinely think that is the highest standard i have seen at this age group, if half them players from each team maintain that level going forward they will be on senior panels by 21 or 22 years of age ,
a lot can change between now and then , but by right this game should have been played next saturday or sunday in croke park
Best team definitely won and fair play to all the Tipp players they were immense.
But the behaviour of the management team was pretty poor on the side line.
As a Limerick man, I never thought I'd see the day when I would be shouting for Tipp. But today I was right there in spirit with the fans. That was a better game of hurling than most the senior matches this year. Tipp players, in a horrible situation down to 14 after 8 minutes and 13 after 27, to go on and get the draw while very nearly winning, then hold on for the win in extra time... every team of every sport and every grade should watch this match to see how pure doggedness and belief can win. Stunning stuff.
Granted, they were helped by a KK side that just didn't seem to click at all, but still, what an achievement. Massive congratulations to the Tipp minors, if we're still winning in a few years, these Tipp lads will bring a very strong challenge. The win will do a huge amount of good for Tipp hurling in general I'd say. What a game!
Well said Charlie 👌as another Kilkenny man I'm here to say well done to an excellent minor team especially to number 3 who did an excellent job on Mullen tis a shame to see so many new names on the Kilkenny thread just to sneer etc. They are still kids and deserve respect for the work they put in, best of luck for the future, we'll meet again 🍻
Ah look we have some great chaps there and so do Tipp, I thought yere number five and three were immense but I thought we were very poor on the line tonight and the game was there to be won but Tipp deserved it for their absolute refusal to give up , hit some wonderful scores under pressure and absolutely deserved to win.
Jake mullen will be good yoke in future. Yere centre forward I thought was going to run riot. He went v quiet then.
I’m a proud Kilkenny man but I had to come on here to congratulate the Tipperary minors on their victory in the all Ireland final this evening. The heart they showed when it would have been easier to throw in the towel was just incredible and it was a privilege to be there to see it . Fair play
To beat kilkenny in nowlan makes it all the sweeter. Won't be forgotten for long time in either county. Dare I say the tipp fans outnumbered kilkenny in their home patch. That wont be talked about as its only tipp have poor support apparently. Tipp abu.
Fabulous game, played what was in front of them all the time, absolutely never gave up.
you all must be so proud. one of the best team performances I have ever seen. Delighted Tipp did it.
I Got goosebumps watching that game. What a group of lads to win that game. I thought it was done after the 3rd KK goal but Tipp tore into absolutely everything. A classic GAA final which will be remembered for a long time. Well done to them.
Congrats Tipp. To win with 13 men for so long including extra time and to beat your biggest rivals on their home patch it will go down as one of the best wins at any grade. And go out on top of the All Ireand minor roll of honour with 22 titles. Some game.
fair play lads, that was one of the greatest performances with a numerical disadvantage I ever seen
that was phenomenal. That type of spirit in a performance would bring a tear to the eye. There’s hope for the future yet.
That was a magnificent performance
Outstanding win for Tip.
I actually am delighted that team won given how the game went.
The sheer effort, skill, doggedness and self belief thoroughly deserved to win that game.
A game for the ages.
Pity it wasn't in Croker in front of 80k.
Well done Tipp. What a performance. Some guts to keep going. Brilliant stuff. How bad were the cats couldn't do the basic things and too afraid to take their points towards the end.
What a team!!!! Unbelievable stuff
One of THE GREATEST performances I've seen from any team in the Blue and Gold phenomenal
Unfuck8ngreal
Some team to hang in there!!!! What heart!!
Some game of hurling!
Both correct..
Phenomenal stuff in the circumstances, pity they couldn't get over the line as they're much the better team.
Still down to 13 for the extra time, huge ask.