Clare GAA Discussion part 2
Ya. Great engine but surely will take time to get confidence back. We need to strengthen the midfield and have subs ready to take over the load.
Interesting report on Clare FM about Ryan Taylor coming back to full fitness. He's back in full training. https://www.clare.fm/sport/taylor-nearing-return-fitness-banner-eye-wexford-challenge-ireland-hurling-quarter-final/
All depends how he does in the training games, but he would be a welcome addition.
Let's see if he's named in the match day 26.
massive kudos to all involved, the lads died with their boots on, in the end they were just exhausted and being numerically disadvantaged took its toll big time, one thing that was very apparent was the appalling standard of refereeing, nowhere near what should be a basic requirement for a national competition
two outstanding minor semi finals over the weekend and there is a serious calibre of players coming through in these counties
A friend mentioned it to me, probably a false rumour.
Where did you see this?
great game in thurles today , harry doherty looks better with every game , paul rodgers had a fine game up until the second half , the referee was brutal for both teams and almost ruined what was an excellent game , i taught dara Kennedy and young ralphe were top class also . tough day for the two boys in midfield but what they were up against was good , sean og kilkenny and young mcnamara look like real prospects too , but it was some effort without mark o'brien our best player at the start of the year
BOC in my opinion is the next clare manager and the future is very bright
i highly doubt it , i have heard nothing anyway
Football manager gone?
i would take what joe says with a pinch of salt , it was proven that he put up a certain amount of fake news before the tyrone game on his twitter page in relation to the county board not paying for four players on the extended panel to stay overnight in omagh , when in fact the 4 players turned down the offer and traveled up on the day of the match for various reasons
dont be too surprised that this turns out to be false also , joe seems to have a chip on his shoulder in regards the current county board
Yeah I would have maybe Dublin ahead of everyone else, it’s Dublin’s All Ireland to lose. Then you have about 4 or 5 teams trying to get to Dublin, Kerry are next best, then Galway, Armagh, Donegal, Mayo and Tyrone all capable of beating one another in any given day.
Joe O’Muircheartaigh had up on twitter about the lack of support for the footballers from the county board, not paying for physio, which is absolute joke and a disgrace. The hurling snobs in the east of the county wouldn’t give that a care in the world, but Keating is originally a west Clare so you would think that he would support and at least back the team.
Fair play to Joe for calling out bollocks like him and others in the county board. Look it we are a long way off winning Sam Maguire, but at least back the players so give as much effort as their hurling counterparts so also have took bad hammers in the past, e.g. Limerick and Tipperary in 2019 and Kilkenny in the semi final in 2022.
agree totally , but its either get rid of the provincial system altogether or keep it as it is , i think personally it should be like the ladies football in terms of a junior , intermediate and senior championship , the sam mcgiure championship has thrown up some very lopsided games again this year , it was the same a few years ago when the super 8s were in place , at least one team was a lamb to the slaughter every year
the champions league style championship was always going to fail with 16 teams in it , there are only about 3 maybe 4 contenders for the all ireland not 16
Missing 1st choice goalie and best MF probably had an impact.
But very poor performance given there was still a chance to finish 3rd. Not Clare's fault but beating Waterford to get into Sam is ridiculous.
yeah shocking result but the dye was cast last week when donegal lost to cork meaning the only way donegal could top the group and qualify for a 1/4 final spot was to win by around 17 or 18 points today , they made sure of it by winning by 24
the problem is the championship was structured in that we were always going to be playing in the sam mcguire , given the level of transition taking place in both waterford and tipperary
dont forget either that estaslishbed football counties like cavan , monaghan and meath all took serious beatings in this competition
you are right in what you are saying but the gulf in terms of the really top teams in the country and from mid table in division 2 down is really stark , its pretty much the same as the joe mcdonagh teams v liam mccarthy teams
yes I agree, but for this current year and with the players they had available it would have been interesting to see how they'd have fared in the Tailteann
Suppose it’s the way the championship is structured, all Clare had to do was beat a poor Waterford team to reach a Munster final and be in the Sam Maguire. The reality is that the Clare team have lost about 10 or 11 starters from last year not many teams would be able to cope with that.
If you add back in the likes of Cian O’Dea, Pearse Lillis, Eoin Cleary, Jamie Malone, Keelan Sexton and Gavin Cooney into the team you have a much stronger team. You have actually a scoring threat in the forwards with Keelan, Cleary and Cooney in the team and you have versatile players in Malone, Lillis and O’Dea who can switch between the half back line/ half forward line.
Also some of the players mentioned above have work rate and will tackle and harass opposition players, which is something that the current Clare team are badly missing. The forwards/ midfielders lack work rate and don’t tackle as hard as some of these players.
Clare are out of their depth in the Sam Maguire, would be way better off playing in a competition that is somewhat their own standard ie Tailteann cup
Shocking result today to end year for footballers.
Good luck to the minor hurlers tomorrow btw, in the All-Ireland semifinal v Kilkenny
Here’s what Clare need according to RTÉ:
Clare - Win over Donegal combined with Tyrone result against Cork to advance. Should Tyrone lose to Cork, Clare will likely need to overhaul a large score difference to survive, which will depend on margin of Tyrone's loss. To overtake Donegal on score difference would require an 11-point victory.
A win v Donegal will be very difficult. I guess the hope is that the Ulster teams might somehow be running out of steam. They won Ulster and went hard in the league also.
if you look at the win against tipp in thurles and the next win against cork , we basically emptied the bench with young lads in both games and all had a serious impact , shane meehan , patrick crotty , roubin mounsey ect , most of them lads have hardly played 2 championship or league games in the last two years since , aaron Shahnagar got 5 minutes against limerick and 30 seconds against cork , yet he changed the game against kilkenny in the league final
the pressure is obviously getting to the manager , he is not willing to make as many changes as he used by the looks of things , and that's the simple answer to the question
in regards work rate , we had two hurlers that got 8/10 in two newspapers on monday morning because of their scoring but both were spent with 15 minutes to go , and both conceded scores off their men , both were forwards , if there is no change on the line you cant fix things
i am not having a go at lohan but he needs to be less stubborn in future , a lot more then him lose out
best of luck to the footballers in castlebar against donegal , a huge ask but qualification is still very much available , the side named is very much a counter attacking one , expect michael garry and gavin murray to drop back the field and cover the runs of ciaran moore , who is fastly becoming the find of the season in the football championship , the likes of ryan McHugh and caolan mcgonagle , who in ulster and against tyrone put in all star nomination performances
the fact that they didn't against cork will give us hope for sure , manus will relish the challenge of oisin gallan , if he curbs him he deserves a mention at the end of the year with his performances on clifford hurley and cavanagh this championship , big ask for cillian brennan on mcbrearty who is really coming into form after a slow start to the year
jason mcgee is out but i doubt donegal will be taken any chances , they need a win and to put a gloss on it two to avoid a 4th round game next week , it offers the ideal scenario for an ambush
everyone is entitled to their own opinion , i gave mine a few weeks ago about it (middle east) and it was very much the opposite to mr or even mrs shippen 😉 ,
but from a hurling point of view things have got a little out of hand myself included , personally i dont think we should be getting as carried away with the munster group games as we do , in truth its about here on in ,
peggy is right though , for all our wrongs last week , we give very little credit to limerick and how they set up , they constantly withdrew their half forward line to smother the middle 3rd , then break at pace to launch an attack or better still leave our 3 backs 1-1 with their full forward line , it was a system that was very hard to play against , its a football tactic that is working wonders in hurling
for all the flack the full backline gets , i taught they were our best unit last week especially in the second half , again conor leen was excellent reading the game and really complemented the other two
Isreal Supporter..
Thanks folks for the nice comments, but commenting on mod actions isn't acceptable either. If you have a problem with a post, report or ignore it.
Folks,
Attack the post not the poster and trying to dox a poster, even in jest, is a no-no on here.
Finally, if you are going to comment on a players performance, focus on the performance not the individual, these players put in more time & effort than we'll ever know so please post with respect.
That's a shocking post considering the effort these guys put in. The one week comment with respect tells me you might not know what you're talking about.
There's no doubt Quilligan had a poor game , the reason why lohan played Foudy in the opening round of last yr was he had his doubts that Quilligan was the best ye had but that back fired. Goalkeeping is such a specialised position plus on Sunday he was up against one of the greatest to ever play no1 in my opinion
You weren't the only one to notice that. ( A reply to Supernova which won't show up for some reason.)
Well that's the issue.
Due to lack of experimentation we have no Plan B for 3 & 6. That's despite both of them having suffered injuries in recent years.
I think we have many hurlers potentially capable of played at CB, e.g. Dave Mc, D.Ryan, C.Galvin, D.Lohan, Conneelly etc.. But it's a bit unfair to throw them in during an all-Ireland knockout game.
In terms of a full back, I can't really think of anybody.
Who would you put at 3 & 6?