Exactly, don’t mind Ken and the ‘serious soccer snobs’ For plenty of us 2012 was a big trip coming out of embers of the economy crash, we had no real hope of progressing but there was a lot of optimism even at the day of the Spain game despite the Croatia result. The fields of athenry that took off near the end felt spontaneous and free and the begrudgers can get fecked, even to this day. One of the greatest days of my life the Spain match in Gdańsk.
I think that was more a 2016 phenomenon, 2012 still had an ‘age of innocence’ about it
https://www.tiktok.com/%40virginmediasport/video/7122771803503643909
Kevin Doyle said it never happened or he didn’t get invited to the meeting.
I would see Keith Andrews as a bullshitter so I know who I believe.
Yep, I went to it too and they were some of the best days of my life. Obviously it depends at what stage of life you are at too. Early 20s, no worries, away with all your mates, lovely weather, lots of beer, friendly people everywhere, etc. some of the comments would make you think that just because Ireland didn't play well means you shouldn't have enjoyed yourself.
I was in college. Best trip of my life. Went to a bar, bought everyone a pint, cost me a tenner.
2016 was class too, just cost more
People are conflating having a good time on the lash at a major tournament versus what actually happened on the field where we weren’t even slightly competitive.
For the overwhelming majority watching it away from Poland it was depressing, dispiriting stuff and I’m not even one of those who think the singing in defeat was a bad thing. I’d have probably enjoyed the whole tournament more if we just hadn’t been there because it put a bit of a cloud over the rest of the fun.
Ah, yes, 2012, stuck in a holiday cottage in Kerry with two pre-schoolers and no decent takeaway within twenty miles, eating Tesco ready meals, watching Ireland getting tonked again and again. Good times.
that is one data point in traps era. Literally nobody has said euro 2012 was fun, good, or fantastic.
the discussion is the 6 year period. From Croatia onwards with Trap, it was awful.
I look forward to next week's discussion on the Eoin Hand era and people's thoughts on the team of the time.
Wasn't that 2012 Estonia playoff the one where RTE had the commentators in Montrose watching a tube, and it was so foggy they weren't sure whether we had scored or not?
that was bosnia
Oh how we were robbed that night in Brussels…
Ah can we do Saipan first?
Ref was a disgrace!
Mods please delete before people actually start discussing this please 😂
doubt they were on tube. It was incredibly foggy alright. Game probably had a right to be called off
Back to the present day...
Eoin will be happy! Big Wout scores the winner against Poland
Classic shite England tournament performance, hopefully they roll back the years and return to the pre-2018 England we know and love.
He was an honest ref.
Once bought, stayed bought!
If Southgate just listens to Miguel and does the exact opposite of what he suggests at all times football will actually come home next month
Bit grim listening to the post-England game pod when they mention McIlroy leading the golf and they note the listeners will already know the outcome, Eoin i'm sure in jest saying "he's already blown it" 😑
That was vs Bosnia in the Euro 2016 play-off.
Go to around the 7 min mark:
I'd like to think that I'd risk my life to save Ken's earbud too
Rory will never win another major
dunno what game Miguel was watching that he thought Bellingham was on the left. Jude was at 10 right down the centre, Fodan was the one on (or meant to be on) the left.
Estonia is best remembered for John Delaney practically dancing around the place after the draw was made.
He's back on the fags then.
Enjoying the pods so far. And the scheduling too. Can listen over breakfast or before the first match.
Kenny going loopy when he has to do the back-to-back afternoon shift on RTE for the WC/Euros is one of the greatest things in human history
What did he do? I find him very difficult to listen to
Well it started by him two footing Southgate when they were filling time between the two games, continued with his 5-1 prediction for Belgium and then ended with a VAR meltdown afterwards
He’s class